April 25 1 Samuel 30,31; 1 Chronicles 10; Matthew 12

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Find Strength | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ David was now in serious trouble because his men were very bitter about their wives and children, and they began to talk of stoning him.  But David found strength in the Lord his God.  1 Samuel 30:6 (NLT)

O & A~  Mom really blew it this time.  She had decided to add a little sight seeing to the day with one of her sons, miscalculating the time needed to load everything in the car for the wedding reception set-up of her other son.  Running a half hour late while her son (groom to be) and everyone else were waiting for her since she had the tablecloths that needed to go down first.  Her son was upset and mom was in trouble, but mom found strength in the Lord her God….well, I wish I could say I did.  But I didn’t, I instead took on the blame and felt the guilt.  My son did apologize soon after, assuring me it will be fine and would work out (which it did).  But I still felt like a failure.  In times of deep distress and blame and just, “what do I do” moments, I need to realize that God is there and I need to turn to him and find strength in him!

P~  Father thank you for this.  As I read the verse I heard it being said in slow and strong emphasis: But David….FOUND STRENGTH…in…THE LORD…his GOD. I really need to turn my thoughts to you and not be overcome by the emotions or feelings of failure. Thank you.

No Growth In Too Much Comfort | Michelle Myers

S~ But David found strength in the LORD his God. 1 Samuel 30:6 (NIV)

O~ David was sent back to Ziklag, because the Philistine commanders did not trust him and were angry with him.  He did nothing for them to feel this way about him.  But they chose to error on the side of caution and send him back.  Once David and his men arrive back at Ziklag, they find that it had been destroyed.  Their wives and children were taken captive.  The Bible said, “David and his men wept aloud until they had no strength left to weep.” (1 Samuel 30:4 )  Then David became distressed because the men talked of stoning him, because “each one was bitter in spirit because of his sons and daughters.” (1 Samuel 30:6)

David does some inquiring. He is told to go after what has been taken, that he will be successful in his battle.  Eventually, “David recovered everything the Amalekites had taken, including his two wives.  Nothing was missing: young or old, boy or girl, plunder or anything else they had taken. David brought everything back.” (1 Samuel 30:18-19)

A~ You put this scripture on my heart yesterday, but I wasn’t exactly sure why.  But today, as I was driving home from dropping my kids off at school, You showed me.  As I  sometimes would rather You just zap me with extra strength or not give me some strength draining situations, You instead give me what I need to get through those situations.

Today, I woke up at the hands of my oldest daughter tapping me, asking me if I was “ready”. Um…You woke me up.  I am still in bed.  Does it look like I am ready to take You to school?  It had been a rough allergy night.  My head was still throbbing.  My eyes itching.  The pain in one of my left sinuses made my eye sore.  Plus, the muscle on the left side of my neck was extremely tight.  All of this had a negative impact on my quality of sleep.

But, I got up and drove my kids to school in the rain.  The rain was coming down pretty hard, and I thought, “It is definitely not going to be a gym day”.  The entire drive, You kept at me; and I kept coming up with excuse after excuse.  Then, You reminded me of ALL the people I have known over the past few years, who died way too young.  They didn’t “GET” to go to the gym. They didn’t “GET” the luxury of complaining about non-terminal sinus junk, allergies, etc.  They were all taken, while suffering from some major medical situation that in some form, prior to their deaths, altered and hindered their daily lives.  Me, I allow things that don’t have to hinder my daily life, to hinder it.

I am broken.  We live in a broken world.  You reminded me, that the chances of me having a “top 10 day”  where I feel great, the moon and the stars align perfectly, there are no obstacles or bumps in the road, is slim.  It happens, every great once in awhile; but if I wait for it to happen before I did anything, nothing would get done.  You also showed me how “comfortable” I have gotten since I quite working.  When I HAD to be at work, I pushed through sinus infections, sleepless nights, ear infections, etc.  If I wasn’t healthy enough to be around people, I still would go in early in the morning or on a Sunday to do lesson plans for a sub.  You showed me that I have become a wimp, and maybe my kids aren’t the only ones who have issues with having a Kardashian mentality!

All of this, that came from You, gave me the strength I needed to get to the gym and get done, what I needed to get done.  Ultimately, it is totally about seeing the big picture and having a different perspective.  That is how You work, not by making things easier.

David’s having to go back to Ziklag seemed like an unfair, bad thing at first.  Yet, had he not gone back when he did, he would not have known it had been ruined and that people had been taken captive.  This gave him and his men an opportunity to get them back, before it was too late, all was lost, etc.  For me, it is easy to get bogged down in what appears to be yucky, inconvenient, and unfair details; and not look at the big picture of the good ending You are trying to bring about. Like heart disease, a stroke, a heart attack would be much more yucky and inconvenient than allergies or a stiff neck!

P~ Thank you God for YOUR wisdom and strength.  It was my dad, who actually got me to see the benefit in the perspective of “get too” vs.”have too” many years ago.  It took me awhile to embrace what he was saying, but eventually I did and it helped.  Please keep prodding at me when I start to forget and get into Kardashian mode.  I know for me, that is not who I want to me, nor is where I am going to grow and maximize the potential that You gave me.

Love in Action | Joni Tyner

S~ It’s your heart, not the dictionary, that gives meaning to your words. A good person produces good deeds ad words season after season. Matthew 12:35  The Message Bible

O~ Jesus is talking. He is , once again, pointing to the condition of our heart.

A~ I enjoy occasionally reading from The Message.  It isn’t really intended to be our Bible source, but it is useful tool to occasionally see a Bible verse in a different light.   Matthew 12:35 is reminding me to do a heart check and to make sure the things I say have  consistent actions.  —season after season.    I really want to do more than sit in a ladies Bible study and discuss  things of God.    “Oh, did you hear how terrible this thing was?”  “Those poor little kids with no one to care for them.”   “it’s awful that those people don’t even have clean water to drink”.  On and on.  I want to live out this verse!!!   I want my life to be a verb—love in action.

P~ Dear Jesus,  help me to be a believer that does more than just talk about helping others.  I really want to be a servant that does something that is within the ability of what I have.  Please show me what this looks like in real life!!! Maybe it’s giving someone money or perhaps it showing up for a volunteer position no one wants to do.   I pray that You keep my heart sensitive and willing to Your work—season after season.  Honestly, I can’t think of a better vocation than to be a life learner and servant to You until I take my very last breath.   Thank You Jesus!!!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 25, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

