April 23 1 Samuel 27; Psalm 141; 1 Chronicles 9; Matthew 10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Temptation | Kim Chipman

S~ Do not let my heart be drawn to what is evil so that I take part in wicked deeds along with those who are evildoers; do not let me eat their delicacies. Psalm 141:4 (NIV)

O~ 1 Corinthians 10:13 No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.

A~ Temptation is everywhere. Help me to not even be drawn to it! I know You promise a way out – always. Help me to remember my long-term goal – what I am aiming at – so my feelings in the moment don’t get me off track. Often temptation is towards temporary pleasure which does not lead me to Your best. I want Your best.

P~ This is my prayer today, Lord! Do not let my heart be drawn to what is evil. Grant me discernment and a passion for purity and holiness. For Your glory. I love You!

Shrewd Can Be As Important As Innocent | Michelle Myers

S~ I am sending you out like sheep among wolves.  Therefore be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves. Matthew 10:16 (NIV)

O~ One of the definitions of shrewd, that I didn’t even know was a definition of the word is, ” having or showing sharp powers of judgment; astute.”  Synonyms include the words, “smart, intelligent, clever, perceptive, and wise”.  The one antonym that is listed is, “stupid”.

A~ In one of my groups, we have recently discussed both forgiveness and brokenness.  I understand the importance of forgiveness.  I understand that we are all broken.  However, Your intent wasn’t for us to blindly forgive other people in their brokenness, without being shrewd.  Not all people…..not all church going people…..are aware or even want to deal with their own brokenness.  This can make them dangerous and destructive.

There is evil in this world.  There are evil people in this world.  They are broken.  I am broken.  The difference is, that I truly and authentically want to be innocent in Your eyes and can feel Your conviction when I am not.

My experience has been that the the church preaches a great deal about love,forgiveness, and accepted brokenness. However, I have yet to hear a sermon about boundaries and shrewdness, when it comes to the evil in this world and the people who perpetually perpetrate that evil.  They all don’t present themselves or look like wolves, but they are.

P~ Thank you God for your wisdom.  Many of the lessons You have given to me, I had to learn the hard way.  It wasn’t fun.  It wasn’t easy.  It was impactful.  Please help people understand that You call them to be aware of the wolves and wise in understanding the evil that drives their behavior, motives, etc.  They can be forgiving, understanding, and innocent as a dove; and have boundaries.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 23, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

