April 22 1 Samuel 25,26; Psalm 63; Matthew 9

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Follow God, Not my Feelings | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ “No!”  David said, “Don’t kill him.  For who can remain innocent after attacking the Lord’s anointed one?” 1 Samuel 26:9 (NLT)

O~  Notes from my bible:

“Why did David refuse to kill Saul? God had placed Saul in power and had not yet removed him.  David did not want to run ahead of God’s timing.  We are in similar situations when we have leaders in church or government who are unfaithful or incompetent.  It may be easy for us to criticize or move against a leader oblivious to God’s hidden purpose and timing.  Determining not to do wrong, David left Saul’s destiny in God’s hands.  While we should not ignore sin or sit back and allow evil leaders to carry on their wickedness, neither should we take actions that are against God’s laws.  We should work for righteousness while trusting God.”

A~ What I learn from this is 1) be alert of God and what he would want 2) trust him to bring justice

P~ Father, in those tough tight situations, I pray I can be still in the midst of it all and do what’s right and trust you with the outcome.

Competition in church | Nikki Metzger

S~ But some of the teachers of religious law said to themselves, “That’s blasphemy!  Does He think He’s God?” Matthew 9:3 (NLT)

O~ Jesus just told a paralyzed man that his sins were forgiven, and the religious teachers were mad!  As the conversation continued, the paralyzed man was healed and started walking!  I think the religious teachers were even more mad and probably jealous; that Someone was stepping in and taking their authority.

A~ Competition in sports is good.  Competition in the business world is good.  Competition against each other towards a goal is good if it improves or challenges both groups of people.  But competition surrounding faith is NEVER good, like what these teachers of religious law were doing.

The Lord tells us each person has a gift from the Holy Spirit, specific to grow and build up the church.  So when I see someone rocking’ the gift the Spirit gave them, I need to thank God they are letting the Spirit work in them.  Wishing I had their gift or ability does NOT build the church up!

And sometimes I only see their gift, I don’t see their struggles and challenges and heartaches, those things that have brought that gifted person to their knees, surrendering everything to Christ.  So maybe my heart take away today is that religious people get jealous and competitive over giftings.  And Jesus doesn’t want our hearts and lives lived out like religious people – He wants us to work our gifting He has given us to grow and edify His bride.

P~ Lord, I’m so sorry for ALL those times I wished I communicated as clear as X, wish I prayed as good as Y, or had the ministry of Z.  I was competing in my head in for Your Kingdom, and I had it all wrong!  Father, please remove that piece in my heart that falls back to acting like a religious rule follower and give me eyes to see Your Kingdom and people how You do!  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

I. Am. Sick. | Kim Chipman

S~ On hearing this, Jesus said, “It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’ For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.” Matthew 9:12-13 (NIV)

O~ I’m listening to this song right now and it is very much the condition of my heart…I also see it in this verse…

I need You…To soften my heart and break me apart…I need You…I may be weak but Your Spirit’s strong in me, my flesh may fail, but my God, You never will…I’m broken inside, I give You my life…all I am, I surrender

A~ Feeling needy is not a feeling I enjoy nor embrace. The thing is, that with You I need to be in a heart posture of being needy, of being “sick”, recognizing my weakness and my need for saving. This is what You came for. My heart – is it humble? Can I embrace being weak and needy so Your Spirit can be strong in me? I need You!

P~ Thank You for this reminder today. This verse and the perfectly timed song. Your power is made perfect in weakness. Help me embrace that I am not healthy, but sick…not righteous, but a sinner. Help me to remember my need for You and rely on Your power. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 22, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. just listened to your song! LOVE it, what a great way to start out my morning. I also enjoyed Nikki’s post this morning. It was a good reminder.

Leave a Reply

