April 18 1 Samuel 20,21; Psalm 34; Matthew 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Pursue it! | Kim Chipman

S~ Turn from evil and do good; seek peace and pursue it. Psalm 34:14 (NIV)

O~ Lately my feelings have been a bit of a mess. This is another reminder – a morsel of truth – for what to do regardless of my feelings. These are active, intentional choices…turn, do, seek and pursue.

A~ So today…choose to do good (even when I don’t feel like it)…seek and pursue peace – which is fruit of Your Spirit – so, seek and pursue YOU. Take each thought captive!  Think about what I’m thinking about! Pursue it especially when I don’t feel like it or I’ll never get Your peace back. I have to fight for it!

P~ I love Your Word – Your truth – and most of all I love Your peace. I don’t have it right now, but I’m ready to actively pursue it! I love You!

Many Troubles | Kelley Deases

S~ A righteous man may have many troubles, but the Lord delivers him from them all. Psalm 34:19 (NIV)

O/A~ This verse immediately follows one which I have long held as pivotal in my journey of faith. (“The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” Ps. 34:18) But today this verse rings especially true. As I sit here on Saturday morning following a Bible study group I attend on Thursday and one I host on Friday, I am acutely aware that behind each set of eyes around those circles of women, there is stuff happening in their lives. Marriage stuff. Parenting stuff. Physical and emotional struggle. Isolation. Fear. Exhaustion. Self doubt. Jesus was spot on when he warned, “In this world you will have trouble.” (John 16:33) But the conclusion we invariably come to time and again is THANKFULLY WE HAVE JESUS. I could not imagine facing any of these things without His Word for guidance, His Spirit for comfort and peace, His promises of rescue and restoration. We are not abandoned nor alone. When we cry out to Him, He does not sit idly by. He either works out the trouble for us, or works in us to face it, all for our good and His glory.

P~ Jesus, What a blessing it is that I do not walk alone, though I may face many troubles. I have these amazingly beautiful and broken women to walk alongside me as I walk alongside You.

Rumors | Nikki Metzger

S~ Rumors are dainty morsels that sink deep into one’s heart. Proverbs 18:8 (NLT)

O~ I don’t think I’ve really understood this verse ’till this moment.  Rumors/gossip/angry talk/venting go down easily, like a dainty morsel.  But it sinks deep into one’s heart.  Today my stomach is aching because I’m so upset.  The thing is: rumors or gossip are way more than just words.

A~ I confess I was part of a ‘venting’ conversation that took a turn toward gossip.  I didn’t stop it, I didn’t walk away.  (God, I am so sorry!)  And now that I’ve heard those stories, I’m sad.  Those things have gotten into my heart.  I will probably see those people differently now.

P~ God, thank You for Your word!  You never cease to amaze me.  Your word is true!  Even if I never experience or understand what it says.  Thank You for this hard lesson on gossip!  God, please don’t let this be wasted on me.  I don’t  want to be a part of it, I want nothing to do with it. Zip my mouth shut too, if I’m about ready to spread it.  Or better yet, can you just make my brain to never even think about it?  Please, just let me see people, Your creation, how You see them, in Your image! As for the specific incident, God, please pour Your grace, mercy, love, truth all over those people.  Bless them abundantly and make their paths straight.  Thank You God!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 18, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

