April 16 1 Samuel 18; 1 Chronicles 6; Psalm 11; Matthew 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Shepherd-King Wins! | Vicki Burns (guest post)

S~ As soon as David returned from killing the Philistine, Abner took him and brought him before Saul, with David still holding the Philistine’s head. I Samuel 17:57 (NIV)

After David had finished talking with Saul, Jonathan became one in spirit with David, and he loved him as himself. From that day Saul kept David with him and did not let him return to his father’s house. And Jonathan made a covenant with David because he loved him as himself. Jonathan took off the robe he was wearing and gave it to David, along with his tunic, and even his sword, his bow and his belt. I Samuel 18:1-4 (NIV)

Study Bible Note: Jonathan and Saul had been distinguished from the rest of the people by their possession of swords and spears. Here, Jonathan’s transference of his robe and weaponry to David not only signified his self-giving loyalty but also implied that even at this early stage, he recognized David as God’s choice for the next king.

O~ I get that this is not necessarily a pleasant visual for most people… “David still holding the Philistine’s head.” It does, however, serve two very important purposes. 1. A measly shepherd boy killed the taunting braggart everyone was terrified of and, 2. The taunting braggart was, indeed, dead! After a horrendous 40 days and nights of this blustery Philistine’s taunting and humiliation before all the armies of Israel, there stood this kid holding that Philistine’s head! What an unlikely champion-deliverer! I imagine King Saul was both relieved AND astonished.

So, Jonathan, the expected heir to the throne …became one spirit with David, and he loved him as himself.” He surrendered in love to God’s chosen deliverer. Jonathan made a covenant with David and eagerly gave all he could as sign of his devotion to David. All the signs of authority; his robe, tunic, sword, bow and belt were a lavish tribute to bestow on this shepherd/warrior, “because he loved him as himself.”

A~ I want to keep the visual as a reminder that my Champion is Jesus Christ, who stands holding the head of my evil tormentor, proof that He has already won the war! What relief! How exhilarating! I want a heart like Jonathan’s. He saw and surrendered….because of love. Christ is my humble Shepherd who loves and tenderly cares for me AND is my Champion-King in one! As He serves us He slays our enemy for us. He is both humble and royal. His humility allows me to embrace His royalty…all…in…love.

P~ You have won for me the victory! I see You before my face holding the head of my tormentor. Your love beckons me to be relieved and to receive the love and the victory that are mine now through You!

Hope | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  But something happened when the victorious Israelite army was returning home after David had killed Goliath.  Women came out from all the towns along the way to celebrate and to cheer for King Saul, and they sang and danced for joy with tambourines and cymbals.  This was their song:

“Saul has killed his thousands,

and David his ten thousands!”  1 Samuel 18:6,7 (NLT)

O~ “But something happened…” The worst thing for Saul is happening right before his eyes. He sees himself being replaced and there’s nothing he can do about it! But is there? Turn to God, Saul, turn to God!

A~ I remember this feeling all too well…feelings of jealousy, feelings that everyone else was better than me that all I did was keep messing everything up, and especially the feeling that there’s nothing I can do about it but just go on and “let” life happen.  But that isn’t the end of my story, because Jesus stepped in.  He shed light into my darkness, love into my heart and offered me forgiveness for my sin.  It has taken me a long time to receive his love because I believed for too long that all that was for others but not for me.  I’m so thankful it was for me too!

P~ Thank you God for Jesus! I love you too.

Rebuilding Foundations | Michelle Myers

S~ When the foundations are being destroyed, what can the righteous do (or what is the Righteous One doing)?  The LORD is in his holy temple; the LORD is on his heavenly throne.  He observes the sons of men; his eyes examine them. Psalms 11:3-4 (NIV)

O/A~ We have had a rough few days as a family.  My oldest daughter has had quite the attitude with me.  She got two referrals at school in less than a week.  Our recent move to a bigger, nicer apartment has both my girls deceived into believing they are the Kardashians, and they have a chauffeur, butler, and maid (ME).

Still recovering from tiredness and stress of the move, and then dealing with all of this junk with my kids finally took a toll on my husband and I the other day.  Did I mention he is still doing taxes part time, and the week we moved, my father-in-law, who isn’t the most organized came to visit.  IT HAS JUST BEEN A LOT!

After totally losing it with each other, my husband and I decided we need to look at the foundation of our marriage and family.  What are on going issues?  What important aspects have we lost focus on?  What parts do we need to rebuild, and really put time, effort, and finances into that.

First, I didn’t realize how frustrated he was about the finances, the cost of moving, and our ungrateful children getting some of the things they have been getting, because I am a SUCKER. Second, we have not been sitting down to eat or doing many other activities as a family.  Third, our lack of family meal and activity time, has also meant lack of family time in The Word.  Our communication and time as a couple, has dwindled.  When we are together, we don’t spend time going over some household items, such as the budget.

With Your guidance, we were able examine these issues and what we need to do.  In fact, we are making a commitment to focus on family, faith and service over the next year.  Hopefully, this will also help both my Kardashian wannabes start rebuilding some of the foundations that seem to have been destroyed in their lives. I am praying that this helps them get their junk together, as their time with us will be ending in a few years.  It will go way faster than they realize. Whether they leave with excitement into the next chapter of their lives or they are shocked one day when 2 Men and a Truck are moving them into a tent, they gotta go somewhere and do something with the potential that You gave them. Besides, I already promised the cats their rooms.  🙂

P~ Thank you God for Your wisdom.  This parenting thing is HARD.  My oldest struggles with such negative thinking, poor self esteem, and lies about herself that the enemy speaks through her peers.  Sometimes I feel helpless in helping her, but I know I am not.  I have You, and You can help her, take care of her, and fulfill all of her needs way better than I can.  Please help her find You and truth in regards to who she is in You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 16, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

