April 12 1 Samuel 13; 1 Chronicles 2,3; 2 Corinthians 12

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Lessons from Saul’s shoes | Nikki Metzger

S~ So I felt compelled to offer the burnt offering myself before you came. 1 Samuel 13:12b (NLT)

O~ Saul and his men are waiting to do battle against the Philistines.  But they are waiting for Samuel to offer sacrifices first.  They waited a week, Samuel didn’t show and Saul was watching most of his army flee.  And he heard the men’s fears about fighting.  Saul had had enough – he decided not to wait for Samuel and completed the sacrifice himself.  This was a big deal because Saul wasn’t a priest and this was against God’s commands.

A ~ I can easily put myself into Saul’s shoes.  Looking around at life:  seeing chaos and disarray, and feeling helpless to do anything.  But Saul had instructions: wait for Samuel so he could offer sacrifices.  Samuel didn’t show up on time, so Saul took matters into his own hands.  It was this single decision that the Lord removed the kingdom from Saul’s family.

I can think of some major decisions I made when not following God’s path for my life.  Those have turned out to be major stumbling blocks in my life.  Jesus has been so good though.  He turned beauty from ashes in those situations.

Back to Saul.  I know his story.  I know about this failed test.  I don’t want to choose like Saul did – I want to learn from his mistakes.

P~ Father, thank You!! For Jesus!!  Without Him, I’d be dead long ago!

Humble… | Kim Chipman

S~  But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 2 Corinthians 12:9 (NIV)

O~ Pride vs humility…weak vs strong. I’m actually weak when I’m prideful. I feel week in the moment I choose humility sometimes, but that’s a lie.

A~ I need this reminder every minute of every day. Left to myself I want to boast about what I’m awesome at – for my glory – not Yours. It makes me feel good for a little bit, but soon enough I regret it. I know it’s because Your power cannot rest on me – or flow through me – when I’m being self boastful. I need and want Your perfect power – I need to humble myself. This is what I want, but often in the moment I self protect or something – afraid of being vulnerable maybe? What am I so afraid of or uncomfortable with? Not being in control? Being hurt? Feeling embarrassed?

P~ Help me see. Help me choose well in the moment when my emotions tell me otherwise. Help me to choose to feed and follow Your Spirit and not my flesh. Then Your power will rest on me – and Your peace will flood my heart. Humble me. I must become less while You become greater. I love You!

Deal with Sin | Vicki Burns (guest post)

S~ I am afraid that when I come again my God will humble me before you, and I will be grieved over many who have sinned earlier and have not repented of the impurity, sexual sin and debauchery in which they have indulged. 2 Corinthians 12:21 (NIV)

O~ The pastor-heart of Paul was pleading with his dear children to repent. Even as good parents bear the grief of a misdirected child, so Paul suffers affliction in his soul for his dear ones. Paul shows us what our heavenly Father suffers in His heart over His own unrepentant children. We grieve Him deeply because He loves us deeply.

A~ I am touched by both yesterday’s SOAP on I Samuel 12:24 and today’s verse, II Cor. 12:21. In the first, Samuel appears before the people of Israel challenging them to bring charges of mistreatment accusations like one would in a court hearing. And today’s Scripture where Paul grieves openly the unrepented, earlier sin of some of the people.

It is true for many who come to a certain stage of life that there is an increased dwelling on end of life preparations. Gruesome, I know, but the Bible actually encourages this…to ponder our end so we will live more wisely. I look back and wonder how I might fare if I were to make a similar challenge as Samuel of my comrades both past and present. One thing’s for sure, I could not be so bold or confident! As for unrepented sin, I pray I have addressed all offenses, yet lingering doubt has the potential to haunt me if I let it.

P~ My Lord, please reveal to me any unaddressed sin in my life, past and present. Grant me, by Your amazing Grace, a repentant heart to meet out restitution and sincere apology wherever Your Holy Spirit convicts. I place my heart and soul in Your loving hands.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 12, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

