April 10 1 Samuel 8-10; 2 Corinthians 10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Flesh Woman | Joni Tyner

S~ At that time the Spirit of the LORD will come powerfully upon you, and you will prophesy with them.  You will be changed into a different person. 1 Samuel 10:6 (NLT)

O~ Saul had seasons where he obeyed God and was successful in his personal life.  He also had many failures because he allowed pride and impulsiveness to dictate his choices.  This verse is showing that God was definitely with him and, for a period of time, Saul was following God. ( notes from by NLT study Bible.)

A~ This past year I’ve been in a ladies life group that has studied two books written by Joanna Weaver–“Having a Mary’s Heart in a Martha World. “ and “Having a Mary Spirit”.   In “Having a Mary Spirit”, Joanna talks about “flesh woman” and uses an imagery of this huge monster looking character that lives in all of us.  (insert flesh man if you are a guyFlesh woman want things her way!!! She has to be right—and let everyone know it. She has many other characteristics including love of praise, jealousy, fear, exaggeration of details, and the basic love of self. Flesh woman likes to pursue any activity that puts her agenda above God.

As Christ followers, we all have this monster living within us.  The Bible tells us we are all guilty of sin. (Romans 3:23) But…we have a choice about what controls us. We can either be controlled by the flesh, or we can make the choice to submit to the ways of God.  (this is sometimes called a spirit-filled life)  As we see in 1 Samuel, Saul had all the characteristics needed to be successful but ultimately he submitted to the desires of his own heart .(the flesh man)

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for leading me to this life group last August.  Once again, I am humbled how much I can learn when I remove my attitude of thinking I know it all. The more I study the Bible, the more I realize how little I know and how much I need You!!!  I ask for Your Spirit to live in me each day. I need Your help to beat up that Flesh Woman real good and smash her into an ineffective little speck in my life.

Step Up | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  So they asked the Lord, “Where is he?” and the Lord replied, “He is hiding among the baggage.”   1 Samuel 10:22 (NLT)

O~  Why was Saul hiding? Was he taking this lightly? Maybe trying to joke about it?

The notes from my bible: “When the Israelites assembled to choose a king, Saul already knew he was the one (10:1).  Instead of coming forward, however, he hid among the baggage.  Often we hide from important responsibilities because we are afraid of failure, afraid of what others will think, or perhaps unsure about how to proceed. Prepare now to step up to your future responsibilities. Count on God’s provision rather than your feelings of adequacy.

A~  What I learn from this is that what I do in life really doesn’t have anything to do with me being adequate or inadequate to handle something.  You are there and You help me.  I should not hide from or fear tough stuff that comes my way, but instead I can face them with Your help.

P~ Dear Father as we prepare to face these new challenges, prepare the way before us.  Prepare us and help us to step up in Your strength.  Help me to make prayer a priority.

Waging war | Nikki Metzger

S~ The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world.  On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds.  We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.  2 Corinthians 10:4, 5 (NIV)

O~ I have forgotten that my Savior wages war so differently than the world.  And the weapons He has given me is different than the the world’s too.

A~ I’ve not been as deeply connected to the true vine, and I can tell by my relationships.  I’m engaging in a verbal battle and using reasoning and logic.  The Lord’s battle plan is so much different! And my main weapon is the Word!

P~ Father, I am sorry about my words, thoughts, and actions towards that person!  I tried to defend myself in my own power, it just didn’t work.  You have given me truth, peace, salvation, and righteousness to protect me and that’s all I need!  And You are always fighting for me!  I love You!  Thank You!!

Expand the Vision! | Vicki Burns (guest post)

S~…Our hope is that, as your faith continues to grow, our area of activity among you will greatly expand, so that we can preach the gospel in the regions beyond you….  2 Corinthians 10:15-16 (NIV)

O~ Make no mistake about it. Paul was waging war (vs. 3). He had a mission burning in his soul to get the good news out to the far reaches of the world. He needed the Corinthians’ faith to grow because he was not just throwing out the seeds of the gospel at this point but tending the field in hopes of an ever growing harvest! He planned to spend more time with them as his labor among them proved fruitful. They needed to grow so Paul could continue his mission! They would then be a reliable source of encouragement and resources to gain the territory beyond them.

A~ I wonder how my own walk with God would improve if I realized that my growth, or lack of it might effect the Kingdom of God in my little neck of the woods. Maybe the pressure of realizing I can help or hinder the work of the Spirit to the degree I am willing to follow Him, could motivate me to help to save the dying world around me. Maybe then I would take my spiritual walk more seriously.

P~ Lord, help me get this. I ask for more faith and that it would grow past me to the world around me. Alert my spirit to the urgent need for growth in this age of rapidly growing darkness. Make me a force for good. Teach me how to wage war, “to demolish strongholds…arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God. [taking] captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.” (10:4-5) Remind me of the raging war around me and lead me into doing my part that You have created for me to do. May Your name be ever glorified in all!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 10, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

