April 9 1 Samuel 6,7; Psalm 72; 2 Corinthians 9

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Be a Worship Starter! | Vicki Burns (guest post)

S~ Because of the service (financial support) by which you have proved yourselves, others will praise God for the obedience that accompanies your confession of the gospel of Christ, and for your generosity in sharing with them and with everyone else. II Corinthians 9:13 (NIV)

O~ We can prove ourselves (our confession of Christ is true) by giving generously.

Obedience (giving) and confession inspire people to praise God.

Matthew 5:16 says, “that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” (NIV) Lavish giving is glorious because it flies in the face of the self-centered drive of the flesh to serve and protect itself…only. It is “preferring another above yourself. There are many non-believing, generous givers in the world and they usually get noticed and praised for it. However, when confessing believers give generously, sometimes “even beyond what they are able,” (8:3) the combination (faith + generosity)ignites praise to God!  The gift given in the name of Christ points to the eternal gift Christ gave and continues to give through His servants. Then, God is glorified. Why? Because God’s hand is in it all. Ephesians 2:10 says, “For we are God’s handiwork,created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” So, God created us. He also created good works “that we should walk in them.” (ESV) We are supposed to make this a way of life rather than an occasional hoopla!

Outlandish generosity always points to the giver and the ultimate giver for all believers is Christ, Himself! God created that good work and like all good dads, He wanted us to know the joy of giving because that’s who God is…the giver of all good gifts! We are most like Christ when we give lavishly and God gets the glory!

A~ I’m selfish. I can be quite taken up in my own preservation in fretting over all the ways I can secure my own comfort, provision and even entertainment. I not only like this food, but I like it this way. I believe God is calling me to a deeper sense of generosity. A generosity that may ask me to put aside my preferences for another’s. Go to their movie instead of the one I’d like to see. Get up when I don’t want to and go to bed when I’d rather not. These are mere inconveniences. Generosity goes over the top. There’s joy in it. There’s a sense of boundlessness in it because we are serving our Lord in it and we ultimately trust Him for our own provision. Also, we delight to be allowed to play a part in overwhelming generosity to another. We are to do all things mightily as unto God! So, living generously would mean I not only do hard work and give deeply but I do it with joy as Christ, Himself, would.  Gratefully, it is the characteristic of a real growing love relationship with Christ that causes these things to become part of our nature. His joy really is our strength!

P~ I am so grateful that You had a purpose in making me, Lord. You carefully planned things for me to do and You provide me with stuff to give away…because You work hard and give gifts! You’re amazing! And You know all to well my propensity to want to live in my own world and resist Your good plan. Change my nature, Father. Make me a joyful giver in every area of my life so people will praise and worship You. This is worship. It is a bowing down and a lifting up. Help me bow down to lift You up.

Why? For YOUR Glory! | Kim Chipman

S~ Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously… Now he who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will also supply and increase your store of seed and will enlarge the harvest of your righteousness. 2 Corinthians 9:6, 10 (NIV)

O~ Sometimes I just get tired. Tired of going, doing, serving, pouring out. As a Mom and a wife the outflow seems endless. This reminds me of a couple things…

  1. My selfish self can be encouraged to remember that in Your plan and in Your ways giving of myself to others WILL be rewarded. Often it’s frustrating when the reward isn’t soon – my peole don’t always appreciate all my efforts, or even recognize/acknowledge them! The promise:  it will be rewarded.
  2. My study Bible says: “The God who is the ultimate source of the physical food that sustains all human life is the same God who supplies the spiritual nourishment that enables believers to flourish and serve.” You will supply ALL my needs. You will enable me to serve. Then You will reward me for doing it. It really isn’t about me at all, just about what I choose to focus on.

A~ Today this refills my tank. If I’m getting all tired out it’s because I’m doing things in my own strength for my own glory. Today I will rely on Your strength and do things for Your glory. When I’m left feeling tired, unappreciated, and taken for granted clearly my focus is on ME. Whey You are my audience of One I can pour out all I am and all I have to You freely. Regardless of how anyone responds. You promise to supply my seed AND increase the harvest. It’s really ALL about YOU and my focus!

P~ Lord, help me to serve You well. Thank You for these promises. Help the focus of my heart to be abundant service to You and for You alone so You will be glorified through my life (not me). I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 9, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

