April 6 Ruth 3,4; Psalms 64,65; 2 Corinthians 6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

A Renewed Life | Michelle Myers

S~ He will renew your life and sustain you in your old age.  Ruth 4:15 (NIV)

O~ The women are talking to Naomi, whose daughter-in-law (Ruth) married Boaz, who was a relative of Naomi.  Ruth just had a baby, and now their family bloodline can continue on.  In the beginning of this chapter, Naomi loses her husband, two sons, and has to leave her home.  She is pretty hopeless, and calls herself “bitter”.  She tells her daughter-in-laws to leave her, and go take care of themselves.  Ruth refuses to leave her.

A~ The whole “bloodline and kinsman” thing I can’t relate to.  But, I can definitely relate to the sense of loss and hopelessness that Naomi had.  It is hard to understand, when going through it, what is happening.  It can easily seem like the end of everything.  I remember feeling like everything I did in my adult years was a waste.  The time and effort I put into my family, my job, my home and for it to be ALL gone, seemed like it had all been pointless.

There wasn’t just the loss of the worldly things, there was also emotional and spiritual damage. That seemed to be a lot harder to repair. There were times that I really questioned whether You could do it.  Yet, little by little obstacles that seemed to trip me up before, no longer consumed my mind or days.  I was able to keep moving forward, and not get sucked into a state of confusion and frustration.

I no longer miss my job, but am  finding a new purpose in my volunteering and writing.  We just moved into a new apt., and I love it more than I did our town home. We drove past it the other day, and saw that they were putting siding up on every unit.  I was so thankful we dodged that financial bullet.  I can think of plenty of other things that I would have rather spent my money on.  Planet Fitness is literally right around the corner (You took that excuse away from me).  My relationship with my husband and kids are better than they ever have been.  Our home is peaceful and full of joy and laughter.

P~ Thank you God, for renewing my life, my marriage, and my family.  More importantly, all of what You took me through, increased my faith, gave me a new purpose in serving You, and brought me closer to You.

From Dread to Praise! | Vicki Burns

S~ Hear my voice, O God, in my complaint; preserve my life from dread of the enemy. Psalms 64:1 (ESV)

O~ When David’s enemy attacked, I love that his defense strategy was to go to God in prayer…desperate prayer. He is in anguish of soul over his enemy’s tenacity; their evil, secret schemes and traps; and their skillfully crafted threats and pompous boasting. The “throng of evil doers” both in number and nature were successful in intimidating David. He doesn’t hold back from his God all that concerns him. He has learned that what he brings to God is taken care of by God, Who has a fuller, more accurate picture than we can present. That doesn’t mean David gets what he wants, but it does mean he gets what is best. Either way he knows to bring his burden to the Lord. In this place of security and acceptance something changed. Drastically! Maybe God impressed on his heart a different vision, a completely reversed scenario—a prophesy? God takes up arms against David’s adversary. In verse 8, “They are brought to ruin, with their own tongues turned against them…!” This Psalm ends in both victory and praise!

A~ I confess that it is my tendency to let dread paralyze me. I take it upon myself to search out the matter knowing full well I could never discover all the evil plans my enemy schemes in secret. God must be my first line of defense from trouble. He has the compassion, the perspective and the plan.

P~ Thank You, God, that You are our ever present help in time of need…just what we need when we need it! Teach me to innumerate my concerns to You first and to sit in that place long enough to let You show me Your perspective so I may have Your heart and vision for the work ahead. Thank You that The battle is the Lord’s! and this will end in decisive victory! Help me remember that we win! May I praise You in song, word and deed always and only for Your glory, Amen!

It’s Bad Out There! | Kelley Deases

S~ All mankind will fear; they will proclaim the works of God and ponder what he has done. Let the righteous rejoice in the Lord and take refuge in him; let all the upright in heart praise him. Psalm 64:9-10 (NIV)

O~ David observes all manner of wickedness in the world and seeks refuge from all of it in a holy God.

A~ I can certainly relate! Sometimes I get the feeling that every time I step out my door, I am inundated with lewd images, foul languages, evidence of broken relationships and twisted morals, and absolutely no respect for God or His laws. In fact, I don’t even need to leave the house for all that, as my T.V., computer and the phone in my hand can usher the filth right on in. One of the jobs I do from home is proofreading transcripts for court reporters; sometimes the level of depravity I read about in these court cases/people’s lives will actually haunt me in nightmares. I want to run to my Father in heaven and have Him hold me in His goodness and love, and shield me from the bad “out there.” But if I am being honest, I must face the reality that evil lurks not only out in the world and apart from me, but within my own heart and mind. Without His righteous covering and His cleansing salvation, I am no better off.

P~ Father, It is so inviting to run into the safety and purity of the refuge You provide, not just from a fallen world but from my own sinful inclinations. I stand in awe of Your holiness and marvel how You would draw close to the mess I am.

Not In Vain | Kim Chipman

S~ As God’s co-workers we urge you not to receive God’s grace in vain. 2 Corinthians 6:1 (NIV)

O~ (God’s) grace – favor; goodwill; mercy; clemency; pardon

in vain – without effect or avail; to no purpose; in an improper or irreverent manner

A~ It is SO easy to receive God’s amazing favor/mercy/pardon without purpose or irreverently. I think the purpose of working it out well is to have that grace flow through me to others so they will know You – not just to hoard it to myself. When I know how deeply I’ve been forgiven and the lavish grace You pour out on me it is natural to extend grace to others.

P~ Thank You for this reminder today! I am the undeserving recipient of mercy and grace. Help me to remember that as I deal with others. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 6, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

