April 4 Judges 19-21; 2 Corinthians 4

 

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Light of Christ Revealed | Vicki Burns (guest post)

S~ For we do not preach ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, and ourselves as your servants for Jesus sake. 2 Corinthians 4:5 (NIV)

O~ I am a slave to what I believe and to what I have turned my life over to serve, namely, the Gospel of Christ. Serving the Gospel makes me a servant of all for, “Jesus sake.”

A~ This is the way to reveal Christ…in the daily and moment by moment pouring myself out in His service because He is the treasure hidden in me that needs to be revealed. Jesus breaks out when I surrender to His service. He wins (my heart again) bursting out in all His glory!

P~ Lord God, You have made Your light shine in my heart to give me knowledge of Your glory in the face of Christ. (v. 6b). Release this light to break out of my heart into humble, joyful service to You today. I want to serve from my heart in joyful humility so Your glory may be clearly seen by all…today. I thank You that You want me to enjoy the glory of Your presence as I serve You. Bless the labor of my hands I pray…not for me but for Your glory!

Troubles and Glory | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Our present troubles are quite small and wont last very long.  Yet they produce for us an immeasurably great glory that will last forever!  2 Corinthians 4:17 (NLT)

O~ There are benefits to problems and the only way these benefits are produced is by going through the problems…

Some of the notes for verse 17: Problems: 1) remind us of Christ’s suffering for us. 2) keep us from price. 3) cause us to look beyond this brief life. 4) give us opportunities to share our faith with others. 5) they give God the opportunity to demonstrate his power.

A~  I can be thankful for troubles because of what they produce.

P~  Father, thank you that all the troubles we face is not for nothing.

Preparing My Heart | Kim Chipman

S~ These little troubles are getting us ready for an eternal glory that will make all our troubles seem like nothing. 2 Corinthians 4:17 (CEV)

O~ As I was mulling over which verse to journal on today I opened facebook. I wouldn’t recommend this method of focused quiet time with the Lord, but I got distracted, okay? I was pondering the end of 2 Cor 4 and the very first thing in my facebook feed was this:

2cor4-17

“I am the Gardener of your heart, planting seeds of peace. But the world also tosses in seeds. These seeds grow into weeds of pride, worry, and selfishness. If these weeds aren’t ripped out quickly, they will choke out all your peace… So thank Me for troubles, as well as joys. Because I use them both to make your heart My garden of Peace.” -Jesus Calling for Kids by Sarah Young

A~ I’ve kind of been in a funk lately, but I’m pulling out of it. My absolute favorite thing in all the world is Your peace. When I lose it my heart goes into red alert status. Bells, whistles, and sirens go off. I hate it. Through my lack of peace funk You reminded me how important it is to do the things I know are right and healthy for me – especially when I’m not feeling it. Get rest. Eat clean. Exercise. Daily time with You. Prayer. Be vulnerable and honest with my tribe. These things keep me healthy.

Those seeds of pride, worry, and selfishness most certainly choke out my peace. Pride tells me I’ve got this…I don’t need to follow the path You show me exactly…did God really say?… Yes. Yes You really did say. And even when my emotions are a mess I’m going to choose You. My funk, my little troubles, are preparation for eternal glory! Wahoo!

P~ THANK YOU for breaking through my distraction today to show me exactly what my heart needed to hear. Help me pull the weeks of pride and selfishness today so Your peace grows strong. I love Your peace! I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 4, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

