April 3 Judges 17,18; Psalms 89; 2 Corinthians 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

My King | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ In those days Israel had no king, so the people did whatever seemed right in their own eyes.  Judges 17:6 (NLT)

O~ The people did have a king—God. God was always the one that kings would get advice from (those that listened to God). God being there never changed, they just stopped looking to him.

A~ I don’t want to stop looking to God, I don’t want my emotions to be what leads.

P~ Dear Jesus, thank you for life in you. Thank you for Holy Spirit that lives in me and helps me.  I’m struggling with my emotions lately, help me process through your eyes and help me keep going. Thank you.

We Need Relationship! | Kim Chipman

S~  Then they took what Micah had made, and his priest, and went on to Laish, against a people at peace and secure. They attacked them with the sword and burned down their city. There was no one to rescue them because they lived a long way from Sidon and had no relationship with anyone else. Judges 18:27-28a (NIV)

O~ There is no king over Israel and everyone was doing whatever they wanted. The Danites attacked Laish and burned it to the ground. There’s a bunch of this part of Judges that I don’t really understand. What stands out to me, though, is that the people were at peace and secure…but they were isolated. They were a long way from Sidon and had no relationship with anyone else. So when they were attacked they were defeated.

A~ The same is true for me. I can’t be safe and secure but isolated and expect that I will be able to stay strong and not be defeated. When the enemy attacks – and he DOES attack! – I need my tribe as reinforcement. I need them to rescue me! There was no one to rescue the people of Laish because they were too far away and didn’t have other relationships. The same is true for me. I need relationships. You designed us this way. It protects me from defeat!

P~ I’ve been in a funk lately. Thank You for the reminder that my tribe is for my good! I need them! I love You!

We Must Learn to Praise God | Vicki Burns (guest post)

S~ Blessed are those who have learned to acclaim you, who walk in the light of your presence, O LORD. Psalms 89:15 (NIV)

O~ My favorite definition of “blessed” is, “enjoying the bliss of heaven!”

“Learn: to gain knowledge or understanding or skill by study, instruction, or experience.”

“Acclaim: to shout praise or applause.”

These definitions are from Webster. So, if we want to enjoy the bliss of heaven we just might want to be about learning how to acclaim God!

A~ It may sound weird to tell you that I miss praise. I’ve experienced it, learned it and can share that it is very powerful to be in a room full of acclamation, or shouted praises with applause to God. I get it. As long as it’s at a football game we’re fine with such expressions of excitement, but in church, for God?!!! Ooooo! Scary! Well, God happens to love it! He inhabits the praises of His people! Psalms 22:3, (ASV). So we will experience the bliss of heaven when we give ourselves to shouting praises and clapping before the Lord of heaven AND we will experience what it is like to walk in the light of His face (presence). I like “face” because it is more intimate. It is also translated thus in several versions of the Bible. So I guess the question is, “How much of God do we want?” I find if I only want a little, it is MUCH harder to stay on the straight and narrow. Whereas if I go all in, pouring it all out in worship to God, my soul is strengthened, my heart enlightened and my life touched by the joy that comes from being blessed by God…basking in the warm light of His face as I walk through this life.

P~ Father, my heart longs for You! To see You in Your glory as experienced by Your Holy Spirit inhabiting the praises of Your adoring people. Fill my heart with joy once more at the sound of joyful shouting and adoration of a humble people before our glorious King worthy of all praise! The joy of the Lord is our strength. Nehemiah 8:10 (NIV). May Your name be continuously and gloriously praised! In Christ, Amen!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 3, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

