April 2 Judges 13-16; 2 Corinthians 2

 

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Speak into Each Other’s Lives | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But his wife said, “If the Lord were going to kill us, he wouldn’t have accepted our burnt offering and grain offering.  He wouldn’t have appeared to us and told us this wonderful thing and done these miracles. “  Judges 13:23 (NLT)

O~ This statement seems a little obvious, but Manoah didn’t see it, and his wife pointed it out to him.

A~ I’m thankful for people in my life that point things out to me that I don’t see and I need to do the same for others and not remain silent.

P~ Dear Jesus, thank you for good friends and relationships.  Thank you for speaking truth into my life through others. Help me to listen closely to you and have the courage to do the same for others.  I love how you love us.

Presumption Kills | Vicki Burns

S~ Now the rulers of the Philistines assembled to offer a great sacrifice to Dagon their God and to celebrate, saying, “Our God has delivered Samson, our enemy, into our hands. Judges 16:23 (NIV)

O~ Indeed, it probably looked as though Samson was defeated. He’d already spent some amount of time doing the work of women and slaves at the grindstone. And yes, his eyes were gouged out. It must have looked pretty bleak for this once powerhouse of a man who had humiliated the Philistines by riddles, burning their fields and slaying a thousand with the jawbone of a donkey. He uprooted the city gates and walked them, posts and all, up a hill and planted them there for all to see…gates leading nowhere. In fact everything that Samson did seemed to taunt and mock these oppressors of God’s people, Israel. Often times though, if we’re talking about a man of God, the times they are at their lowest, well, these are the times they tend to cry out to God and if you’ve read anything in Judges, you know what’s coming next. Deliverance! These poor Philistines had no clue what was coming for them that fateful day. They were about to be introduced to their real enemy, God Almighty!

A~ Well, there certainly is wisdom in the phrase, “Fools rush in where angels fear to tread.” Alexander Pope. It is also true that when we are most prone to cast reason to the wind because we think we got this, emotions are high but that’s when we are most vulnerable to attack. I Samuel 15:23b says that, “presumption is as iniquity and idolatry.” Iniquity means gross injustice or wickedness, Merriam Webster; and we all know that idolatry is making an idol out of something or someone. In this case we are acting grossly unjust in owning glory that belongs to someone else, namely, God and yep! We make an idol of ourselves!

P~ Forgive me, Father, for my presumptuous ways. I always seem to take my sin so lightly when it cost You everything dear to You. When it comes to me, You were all in! You didn’t even withhold Your dearest Treasure, my precious Savior! You broke Your heart in two for lousy, unfaithful, complaining me. You indeed ARE my only hope of righteousness! Squeeze Yourself some glory out of this mess I pray. Amen.

We’re On To You, Satan | Kim Chipman

S~ in order that Satan might not outwit us. For we are not unaware of his schemes. 2 Corinthians 2:11 (NIV)

O~ Paul is instructing the church to forgive. My study Bible indicates that Paul was specifically addressing someone in the church that was being disciplined, but repented. The purpose of discipline is restoration once there is repentance. Sneaky satan can cause division in the church family – or any relationship – so it’s important to remember satan’s purpose and God’s purpose and be alert.

A~ Sometimes relationships are difficult. I need this reminder today. Satan comes to steal, kill and destroy. He wants me to feel justified in being hurt, building walls, and holding on to unforgiveness. I am not unaware of his schemes. I’m on to him.

Your ways – Your path – is to love well, regardless of the outcome. To forgive lavishly in order to restore relationships. No matter how long that takes. To love in a crazy, over the top, undeserved, agape, straight from Jesus love so many will know You.

P~ Help me to love and forgive this way! Help me to remember all You have forgiven me and loved me through and schmear that all over my people. So many will come to know You and stinky satan won’t win one single battle. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 2, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

