April 1 Judges 11,12; Psalms 50; 2 Corinthians 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

God Uses Trouble | Kelley Deases

S~ [C]all upon me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you and you will honor me. Psalm 50:15 (NIV)

O~  The word “trouble” was in my verse from yesterday as well. That time it appeared in the Book of Judges. As much as we may struggle at times to reconcile “the God of the Old Testament” with “the God of the New Testament”; the flowery poetry of the Psalms and Song of Solomon with the historical accounts and census-taking in Leviticus and Numbers; the parables of Jesus in the Gospels with the grand imagery of Revelation, certain themes are highly consistent throughout the whole of Scripture. And throughout the whole of the human experience. One of those consistent, persistent themes is: God can use trouble, however it came to be, to draw people to Himself.

A~ I am thinking specifically of several of my husband’s coworkers. Recently, there seems to be a rash of health crises, relationship crises, financial crises, and job crises. All the while, John takes every opportunity he can get to share his faith in Jesus. It is remarkable how the more severe his friends’ trials get, the closer they lean in to listen to this talk of God.

P~ Father, None of us like to experience hardship in life. (That’s why we call it hardship!) But I have lived long enough to see, time and again, how You skillfully use it as a tool to bring non-believers into the fold and believers ever closer to Your heart.

All Comfort | Vicki Burns

S~ Praise be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. 2 Corinthians 1:3-4 (NIV)

O~ These verses address the two relationships God has, both with His Son, our Savior, Jesus Christ and with us, His adopted children. He is “the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort. This is His Name, His identity. If anyone wants compassion it is found in the Father with that name. There is no comfort outside of Him and He is the One who comforts us in all our troubles. Why? So we can immolate Him by comforting others the same way He comforts us. I like this version of the Bible here because it puts that verse in the present tense. We are in the midst of being comforted by God and are able, therefore to do likewise. He is our Source, our Provision and the Gift we share with others.

A~ God is the God of all comfort. Nothing can truly comfort me but God Himself. That’s where my deepest longings are satisfied. If I want to share that, I have to go to the Source for it.

P~ My Father of compassion, let me see when I try to take comfort from anywhere but You. You want all of me and when I come to You, only then do I have anything to share. Only then. Thank You for the simplicity of it all. I need comfort and compassion and You have all I need. Help me see how to share and grant me a willing heart to pour it out as liberally to others as You do for me. In Jesus Name, Amen.

Relying on You | Kim Chipman

S~ We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired of life itself. Indeed, we felt we had received the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead. 2 Corinthians 1:8b-9 (NIV)

O~ Paul is speaking of God’s great comfort during suffering, then tells the Corinthian church about his suffering in Asia. I’m not sure I’ve ever despaired of life itself, but I absolutely have had seasons of great pressure – far beyond my ability to endure. I absolutely had to rely on God and came to know Him in an intimate way that I know I never could have apart from the difficulties.

A~ I am (strangely) thankful for these times of suffering. Right now I’m feeling like I’m in deep water emotionally. I’m struggling in parenting. I’m feeling overwhelmed and unfulfilled in a few relationships and I’d really like that to change, but I can’t change the dynamic between 2 people single handedly, I can only change me, and I’m not doing that very well.

So, to remember You are a God of comfort in suffering (yay!) and You have brought me through very difficult times before. You are trustworthy. You are enough. You taught me how to rely of You so I need to return to that place. Not living in my feelings but in my dependence, in my weakness, for when I am weak I am strong.

P~ Thank You for this today. I don’t need to panic when I’m unable to do everything on my own. I’m not supposed to rely on myself but on You. You are more than able – You raise the dead! Surely You can handle my stuff. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on April 1, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

