March 31 Judges 9, 10; Psalm 49; 1 Corinthians 16

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Sin’s long reach | Nikki Metzger

S~ In this way, God punished Abimelech for the evil he had done against his father by murdering his seventy brothers.  ~ Judges 9:56 (NLT)

O~ Abimelech, Gideon’s son from a slave, murdered all but one of Gideon’s sons and made himself king.  It was a mess and chaos in Judges 9 with all the fighting.

A~ So I wonder if all this fighting can be pinpointed back to Gideon’s making an ephod that became a trap for his family?  If Gideon would have chosen God over the ephod and led his family towards God instead, would all of that murder and mess happened between the brother?

Can this happen to my family, not literally, but torn apart by something I’ve done that’s become a trap for them?

P~ Father, thank You for Your Word!!   Jesus is healer, redeemer, restorer!  I don’t want my family to end up like Gideon’s because I’ve accidentally made something a trap for them.  Lord, lead me in Your paths of righteousness and set my heart towards You so I don’t do this.  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Who You Gonna Call? | Kelley Deases

S~ Go and cry out to the gods you have chosen. Let them save you when you are in trouble! Judges 10:14 (NIV)

O~ God is saying to his prone-to-wander people, as they cry out in desperation, “You have given your time and energy to other pursuits. Now that you find yourselves in dire straights, see if they can help you!” But the Israelites persisted in their pleas, ridding themselves of their man-made idols and  foreign gods, and turned back to the one true God. The Lord, in turn, “could bear their misery no longer” and saved them once again.

A~ Trouble is the great equalizer. Regardless of our tax bracket, level of education, geographical location or family background, when we come to the end of ourselves, none of that matters. To whom will we cry out? Our stuff, our friends, our family, our job, our 401(k) — none of these can save us!

My husband and I could not have come from more different backgrounds in a lot of respects. His was impoverished, chaotic, unstable, abusive, and plagued with addiction. By contrast, mine was charmed — supportive, loving, church-going family which offered every opportunity I could desire. Ironic, really, how both paths could lead to essentially the same spot — desperate and alone — as a result of each of us following ourselves as our own “god.” While he cried out from a jail cell awaiting trial, I cried out from a lonely house after my first husband had turned and walked out, both of us found ourselves utterly bereft and in need of saving. And in God’s mercy, He “could bear our misery no longer” and reached down into our respective lives. It would be another 7 years until our paths intersected, but, by that time, we were both walking hand in hand with our Savior.

P~ Jesus, a simple “Thank-you” is hardly adequate for how You met me in my misery and carried me out into new life and hope. Or how You met John in his ordeal. Or how You met the Israelite people time and time again. We confess we are selfish and prone to wander, but Your love and tender mercies never fail.

Live like Jesus | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Be on guard. Stand true to what you believe. Be courageous. Be strong. And everything you do must be done with love.  1 Corinthians 16:13,14  (NLT)

O & A~  These verses inspire me and remind me what’s important.  I want to put these up on my wall!

P~ Dear Jesus, thank you for your example. Please help me to live this way

LOVE | Kim Chipman

S~ Do everything in love. 1 Corinthians 16:14 (NIV)

O~ Every. Thing. In. Love. Everything. Not most things, some things, you know…unless the other person is really poopy to me. Everything.

A~ I have one child that is pushing my buttons lately. This one is disrespectful and manipulative and it can get my emotions going from zero to 60 in about 1.2 seconds. I wish I could say I respond well. I don’t. Just about every single day I lose my cool. I lecture. I even yell. I know this isn’t helping our relationship, and it probably isn’t helping this child’s attitude either. Whether the attitude changes or whether it doesn’t Your call on my life is to…

Do everything in love.

Every.

Single.

Thing.

P~ Help! I can’t do this on my own. I know it’s so important! I need You! I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 31, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

