March 29 Judges 6, 7; Psalm 52; 1 Corinthians 14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Consequences…| Kim Chipman

S~ The Israelites did evil in the eyes of the Lord, and for seven years he gave them into the hands of the Midianites. Judges 6:1 (NIV)

O~ 7 years!?

A~ Often I am impatient. I sin, but expect the instant I return to obedience the consequences of my choices will end. Here, the Israelites sinned and had 7 years of consequences. Seven. Years.

P~ Help me to understand just how much you hate sin. It has consequences that often last much longer than the initial infraction. Help me to have Your heart toward sin. I love You!

Live How You See Me | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ The angel of the Lord appeared to him and said, “Mighty hero, the Lord is with you!”  Judges 6:12 (NLT)

O~ The Israelites were hiding and living in caves in the land that God gave them. Here the angel of the Lord finds Gideon hiding in a winepress, threshing wheat.  And the angel of the Lord says these words to him- “Mighty hero, the Lord is with you!”

He surely didn’t feel like a hero, he surely didn’t see how God could be with him—I mean, look at him, he had to hide so the Midianites wouldn’t come and take the grain!

A~  God doesn’t look at our circumstances and let that be what defines us.  He calls us beloved and here, “mighty hero”.  This reminds me of how important it is to not be passive when I feel God is telling me to do or say something.

P~  Father, you are so loving and kind and you speak words to encourage us, to build us up.  Help me to do the right things and help me to build others up with your truth and not be afraid to stand out.  Help me live up to how you see me.

What He Sees | Tara Wiley

S~ …Gideon was threshing wheat in the wine vat in order to hide it from the Midianites. Then the Angel of the Lord appeared to him and said, “The Lord is with you, Mighty Warrior.” Judges 6:11b-12 HCSB

O~ There was fearful, weak Gideon, hiding from the enemy in a hole in the ground. That’s not exactly the picture of a warrior. Yet, when Jesus* speaks to Gideon, He says what He sees, what He knows to be true of Gideon, well before Gideon shows any external indicator of that truth. Long before Gideon believes it himself, Jesus acknowledges who He has made Gideon to become: a mighty warrior who will lead Israel in victorious battle.

Much like Moses, Gideon hesitates and stammers, asks for signs, worries and frets about what others will think and do. Jesus doesn’t call the confident. The qualified. The bold. He calls the committed. The next chapters unfold the true nature of Gideon’s full devotion to God. He was willing to do absolutely ridiculous things for Him, things that made no human sense. He was fully surrendered, and that made him a mighty warrior for God.

This unfolding reminds me of Peter in the gospels. Jesus names him The Rock on which He will build His church. This rock was prone to temperamental outbursts and arrogance. This rock would deny even knowing Christ, complete with colorful language. But just as a potter looks at a lump of smooth wet clay and envisions a beautiful work of art, Jesus looked at Peter and Gideon and knew their hearts. He knew the depth of their eventual surrender and commitment would unfold into bold transformations by His Spirit to do impossible things for His kingdom.

A~ When I am tempted to look at my own life and see only the rough edges, discouraged by my failure, I need to remember how Christ sees me and be empowered by that view. When I get frustrated by my daughter’s need for growth in so.many.areas, I need to remember her love for Jesus. I need to remember the power of that devotion to transform her – and me.

P~ Lord, thank You for using flawed people to accomplish Your purposes. Thank You for using me. Help me not to get discouraged. Fill me with vision for what You can accomplish in Kate and me. Remind me of our strength in You. Help us, these two daughters of Yours, to yield to Your purposes and plans. Help me to live in bold assurance of Your perspective, and let me parent in that same perspective.

* When the phrase “Angel of the Lord” appears in the Old Testament, commentators often interpret it as being a pre-human appearance of Jesus; the theological term is Christophany.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 29, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

