March 28 Judges 4, 5; Psalm 39, 41; 1 Corinthians 13

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Love is Everything | Lindsey Lulla (guest post)

S~ If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing. 1 Corinthians 13:1-3 (ESV)

O~ In the previous chapter, Paul was urging the Corinthian church to be unified and to be the body. In this chapter, he continues on to explain the why and the what of love. Why is it important? What does it look like? I need to show my bias here and express how much I love Paul. He is the ultimate teacher. He always gets to the real issues, doesn’t he? No, he says, you can not be both full of faith and lacking in love and be like your Father. No, he goes on, you may not know all the mysteries and be lacking in love and still be like Jesus. Actually, he says, you sound like that really irritating musical instrument that we all can’t stand. That is you without love. Nails on a chalkboard. A headache. Our righteousness hinges on love. Our sanctification hinges on love. We may grow in to great scholars. We may be fantastic communicators and explain things well. We may be able to have a faith that expresses a genuine understanding of God’s power and sovereignty. All those things are wonderful things and should be embraced as good gifts, but they are not the indication of a life transformed by Love Himself. The marker, the cornerstone of our life transformed, is Love.

A~ I think it’s crucial to recognize that I measure myself on a merit system that is too often not in line with love. What are my reasons for doing anything? Playing with my kids, for instance. Do I play with them so I can feel good about myself? Do I play with my kids so I can tell other people that I played with my kids so they will think well of me as a parent? Do I play with my kids out of guilt? Do I play with my kids so they will like me? In the quiet, I can look at my children and remember that I play with them because I love but too often I let my heart get taken away from the pure place where God wants it, and it gets tinged with pride, guilt, resentment, annoyance. Sadly, I think I can look at most areas of my life and see the same patterns emerge. I need to let Love come first.

P~ Father, THANK YOU FOR YOUR LOVE. It’s the sweetest and most beautiful gift. Thank you for not withholding your love from me, ever.  Father, help me remember Love. Help me be transformed by Your love to love those you put in my path. Help me to be spurred on to act from a pure place of love. Amen.

LOVE | Nikki Metzger

S~ It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. 1 Corinthians 13:5 (NLT)

O~ The LOVE definition chapter!  Paul calls love a way of life that is best of all.

A~ I read, reread, and try to remember God’s definition of love, but I still forget or act like I forget.  My husband made a frozen pizza after all of us went to bed one night this week and I was MAD!  Frozen pizza is saved for those nights when a lot is going on and we need a fast dinner, it’s NOT for a late night snack after dinner! Well, I feel asleep super irritated and let him know about me being wronged the next morning since I do a majority of the grocery shopping.  It was just ugly: my heart and my words, and it looked NOTHING like love!  Who knew I could get so upset about pizza!!!

Bless my husband, he forgave me and all is well now.

P~ Father, I want this way of life that is best of all!  To be patient, kind, to never give up, never lose faith, hopeful, enduring, to not be rude or jealous or proud or boastful and to rejoice when truth wins out.  I’m sorry when I didn’t speak or act in love this past week, a couple of times pop into mind.  Thank You for this kind of love towards me!  I LOVE YOU!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 28, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Lindsey, thank you for your thoughtful post and reminder to “let love come first!” Beautiful!
    Niki, “I want this way of life that is best of all!” I love it!
    Y’all rock!

Leave a Reply

