March 26 Joshua 23, 24; Psalm 44; 1 Corinthians 11

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: HERE

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

You Fight For Me | Kim Chipman

S~ You yourselves have seen everything the Lord your God has done to all these nations for your sake; it was the Lord your God who fought for you. Joshua 23:3 (NIV)

O~ Joshua – now an old man – is speaking to the leaders of Israel.

A~ Sometimes it can be easy to fall into a place of putting people on a pedestal, especially leaders. I love that Joshua made it clear that it was You fighting for them. I need to remember that ultimately YOU are my leader, my provider, my authority, my accountability. My Audience of One.

P~ My heart’s desire is to please You, Lord. Help me to put this above all else. Thank You for all that You are. Help me to remember. I love You!

I Don’t Trust My Bow | Vicki Burns (guest post)

S~ I do not trust in my bow, my sword does not bring me victory. Psalm 44:6 (NIV)

O~ How amazing it must have been for the Israelite children to hear eyewitness accounts of the many, many experiences encountered in their journey to the promised land! I imagine those stories to be told in suspenseful, animated ways so as to spark a flame of faith such that praise and adoration of their Hero-God went up unhindered. If not upon the first hearing of them, then maybe as it was repeated over and over that the growing passion would burst forth into praise. Imagine a lifetime of hearing these stories. (Not unlike reading the Word daily. J) Faith and praise are the result of telling God’s stories properly. See verse 8! “In God we make our boast all day long, and we will praise your name forever.”

A~ I do not often tell my stories. Not nearly as often as I should. And when I do I can only hope I tell them in such a way as to make God the hero of them all. Sure, the Lord has me play a part but it’s usually quite an unflattering one of desperation and need. He’s the One with the plan and that frequently arrives at the 11th hour! He couldn’t care less about my time schedule for anything and He sometimes appears to be quite late. Just saying. My stories are of all the cards being stacked against me, yet He swoops in and wins the day! When I’d totally locked myself into trouble and despair, He breaks in and steals me right out of the mouth of the devourer! And so it is that I can honestly say with the Psalmist, “I do not trust in my bow, [and for sure] my sword does not bring me victory!” [brackets mine.] I can without a doubt say, I would not be here were it not for my Rescuer Warrior Deliverer! He had to fight to bring me here! And He still fights for me. He fights for you too. Think back. How has God won you victories? Do you share these stories? Do you tell them in such a way that the hearers recognize God as the hero?

P~ Great and wonderful Father, teach me my stories—eyewitness accounts of Your great and undeniable feats worked into my life. Help me never fall for the lie that my bow and my sword can get any type of victory for me. All You have accomplished in me has been in spite of me…my thinking I was doing good yet, I was throwing obstacles in Your path. Or in spite of my sinful rebellion, You deliver me still. Thank You that in spite of my long and deep failures, Your love is indeed from everlasting to everlasting. I want to make my boast in You all day long and praise Your name forever! Amen.

I Don’t Trust My Bow | Joni Tyner

S~“Both Mary Magdalene and the other Mary were sitting across from the tomb and watching.”- Matthew 27:61 NLT

“Mary Magdalene and Mary, the mother of Joseph saw where Jesus’ body was laid.” Mark 15:47

“As his body was taken away, the women from Galilee followed and saw the tomb where his body was placed.”  Luke 23:55 NLT

“And so, because it was the day of preparation for the Jewish Passover and since the tomb was close at hand, they laid Jesus there.  John 19:42 NLT

O~The reality of Friday has set in.  Jesus was crucified.  He was their hope, their friend, their leader.  They had followed Him and built their life around Him…now he is dead and his followers, specifically Mary Magdalene and the other Mary, are mourning and watching from a distance—and nothing is happening.  Jesus is dead in the tomb.

A~ Our life group recently watched a video about the Saturday before Easter by John Ortberg.  He pointed out the hopelessness and despair that Jesus’s followers had on that Saturday.  They were still grieving the crucifixion and their reality was that Jesus was dead, He hadn’t survived the torture and death.  They were hopeless and lost and so very, very sad.  On that day, all their hopes and dreams came to an end.

Of course we know the “rest of the story.”  Jesus was going to rise from the dead the very next day!!!! –but remember they didn’t know that.  He then drew a correlation of how we can get caught in the hopelessness of what has happened and the waiting for our prayers to be answered.  We think our circumstances can’t be overcome, that life is hopeless—but it’s not—we know the end of the story!!!! We can KNOW through reading the Bible that God is faithful to see our pain, to walk with us through the hopelessness of our “Saturdays”.  We KNOW that in the end, God wins!!!  We are victorious!!!

P~ Jesus, As I approach Easter weekend, I don’t want to miss the importance of Your faithfulness.  Help me to embrace Your Word—Your promises and know, that Sunday is coming and You will be Victorious over all sin, pain and death.

He Has Risen!!   He Has Risen, indeed!

Here is a youtube video link John Ortberg gave about the Saturday after the crucifixion.

Here is a youtube video link John Ortberg gave about the Saturday after the crucifixion.

Harmony | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But a woman dishonors her husband if she prays or prophesies without a covering on her head.
And man should not wear anything on his head when worshiping, for man is God’s glory made in God’s own image, but woman is the glory of man.
For the first man didn’t come from woman, but the first woman came from man.
And man was not made for woman’s benefit, but woman was made for man.
So a woman should wear a covering on her head as a sign of authority because the angel are watching. 1 Corinthians 11:5,7-10 (NLT)

O~ The notes in my bible: “This section focuses primarily on proper attitudes and conduct in worship, not on the marriage relationship or on the role of women in the church. While Paul’s instructions may be cultural (woman covering their heads in worship), the principles behind them are timeless: respect for spouse, reverence and appropriateness in worship, and focus of all life on God. If you are doing something that might easily offend members and divide the church, then change your ways to promote church unity. Paul told the women who were not wearing head coverings to wear them, not because it was a scriptural command, but because it kept the congregation from dividing over a petty issue that served only to take people’s minds off Christ.

A~ What I Learned from these verses for myself is that I too have issues with my attitude. I was already on the defense as I was writing these verses out. The thoughts in my mind were yelling, ‘that’s not right, that’s not fair, that’s not equal. But here it is not about that…it’s not even about that. When it says the first woman came from man—that is true—Eve came from Adam! When it says man wasn’t made for woman but woman for man it goes back to when God created Eve, he said in Genesis 2:18 it is not good for the man to be alone; I will make him a helper suitable FOR him. (Can you here my attitude here?) But I realize this is where I can bring and leave my attitude issue…at your feet.

P~ Dear Jesus, it doesn’t sound equal and that makes it unfair, that is the lie I have been believing about this. But you made us differently from each other but not any less than, we have different roles and one isn’t better than the other, they are both needed and they are both important. This is about harmony, your plan. We couldn’t both be the head. I want your best for me. Help me to settle this in my heart. I love you.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 26, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

