March 25 Joshua 21, 22; Psalm 47; 1 Corinthians 10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Rest Armed | Kim Chipman

S~ But be very careful to keep the commandment and the law that Moses the servant of the Lord gave you: to love the Lord your God, to walk in obedience to him, to keep his commands, to hold fast to him and to serve him with all your heart and with all your soul. Joshua 22:5 (NIV)

O~ The Israelites took possession of the Promised Land and settled there. v44 “The Lord gave them rest on every side” Rest is so sweet. But I can’t let my guard down, as Joshua reminds. Be very careful to keep the commands to love the Lord, obey Him, hold fast to Him, and serve Him with all I’ve got. The spiritual battle is real. 1 Peter 5:8 Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.

A~ This warning/reminder is for me! Rest is lovely, refreshing, essential and necessary. But I have to be careful not to fall into lazy and complacent. My enemy (the devil – not any person or circumstance – THE DEVIL IS MY ENEMY) wants to destroy my life. He’s the king of liars. A manipulator. Prowling around just waiting for me to enjoy “rest on every side” without my armor on. No matter how safe I might feel I need my armor – truth, righteousness, peace, salvation, and my mighty sword of Your Word and prayer in the Spirit.

P~ Thank You for this reminder today to WARRIOR UP! I love that You give rest, I need rest. But I also need to remember who the enemy is and keep my armor on – stay in the Word and prayer. I love You!

Set Your Heart | Vicki Burns (guest post)

S~ Now these things occurred as examples to keep us from setting our hearts on evil things as they did. I Corinthians 10:6 (NIV)

O~ I find people generally don’t like to read the Old Testament. Yet here, Paul highlights the wisdom of it – for – our – example! He’s kind of saying, “Look! Do you see what the wandering Israelites did and suffered x y z for? Don’t do it that way!” He’s telling us to “not set our hearts on evil things as they did.” But it’s a battle. We love to set our hearts on evil things. It’s just too easy to give in to my “flesh” and it certainly is the message we’re bombarded by in our culture! I’m first! I lead my own destiny! I’m independent! That’s why it is so hard to read the Bible. To hear how utterly dependent we are on the sovereign Ruler of the Heavens, Maker of the Earth smacks us right down into place and why? To remind us that we serve a jealous God who will not tolerate our serving (worshiping) our own way. He alone holds the keys to life and death and He alone has the words of life. You will not find them anywhere else. Anywhere. Even if you were that smart and took the time to dwell on it you would never hit on the truth God so graciously gifts us with in His Word.

A~ So what’s the warning? “To keep us from setting our hearts on evil things as they did” and incur God’s wrath. The daily reading of the Word connects my heart back to the gravity of my every decision to either serve my flesh or His Spirit. I quickly make the connection that the more I choose my flesh, the easier it gets to tune out the Spirit, but also, gratefully, the more I yield to the Spirit to serve the Lord, the easier that gets too! I gain strength in the thing I practice most.

P~ Father God, I thank You for warning me by Your Word, that my decisions have consequences. Help my soul feel the weight of them because the way I live is the way I lead. We all bring others with us on our journey and their eyes watch closely. Walk with me today. Open my heart to yield to You today to set my heart on serving You and not myself. I love You and thank You for Your love through Christ. Amen.

ALL for His Glory | Kelley Deases

S~ So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. 1 Corinthians 10:31 (NIV)

O~ What is Paul saying here? His admonishment to us is to live as he did — as Christ did before him — sold out for God’s purposes.

A~ Eating. What does “for the glory of God” look like? Probably not consuming junk food when He has provided all manner of tastes, colors, and textures in natural, real food. It probably does not mean I should turn to food out of boredom or sadness, or stuff myself until I am past full. I imagine God-glorifying looks more like sharing a meal with family or friends, with a heart grateful for the sustenance and the company.

Drinking. My Christian friends span the gamut of viewpoints on the appropriateness of consuming alcohol. Again, if I consider first and foremost whether I am glorifying God, I can better discern if I can have a glass of wine over dinner with believing friends or should steer clear with a friend or family member who struggles with overindulging. And, most certainly, it would not glorify my God to get drunk, drive a car, or break the law.

In all I do.  What if that was my mantra in everything: Is this for God’s glory? And when in doubt, don’t!

P~ Father, Thank You for these simple, but profoundly challenging words. Help me examine my own actions from Your holy and eternal perspective to see if they are ultimately worthwhile or worthless.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 25, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Spot on Kelley!

Leave a Reply

