March 23 Joshua 15-17; 1 Corinthians 8

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Love Builds Up | Kim Chipman

S~ But knowledge puffs up while love builds up. 1 Corinthians 8:1b

O~ My study Bible says: “Love is more important than knowledge. Knowledge can make us look good and feel important, but we can all too easily develop an arrogant, know-it-all attitude. Many people with strong opinions are unwilling to listen and learn from God and others. We can obtain God’s knowledge only by loving Him (see James 3:17-18). And we can know and be known by God only when we model Him by showing love (1 John 4:7-8).”

A~ Our sermon on Sunday was about who we are inviting into a life changing relationship with God. Our pastor talked about the importance of engaging in relationship with people who are far from God in order to introduce them to Jesus. About not hanging out in our holy huddle but investing in relationships outside of our “church” friends. That’s what Jesus did, what He modeled for us.

Essentially, choosing love

Instead of being right, or judgmental

Building up, in humility and love. Making it more about God than ourselves. More about the kingdom than our comfort.

P~ Lord, help me to remember this even in my closest relationships! Love builds up! Help me to choose love in my life so others will see You. Humble me. I love You!

Serve Others First | Vicki Burns (guest post)

S~ Now about food sacrificed to idols: We know that we all possess knowledge. Knowledge puffs up, but love builds up. The man who thinks he knows something does not yet know as he ought to know. But the man who loves God is known by God. 1 Corinthians 8:1-2 (NIV)

O~ Paul, basically is saying, “There is no body dumb here. We know we all have intelligence.” Webster says of “knowledge,” “apprehending truth or fact through reasoning: cognition.” Whenever we work things out in our brain (reasoning) we tend to get “puffed up.” Like all idolaters, we worship the work of our own hands (brains). Whenever we are thus, full of ourselves, we are also NOT tender-hearted to those around us. That’s the work of love. It takes into account the spiritual maturity of others.

A~ We would never treat a baby the same way we would an adult. And so we should always be and stay sensitive to those around us, especially when we are in a state of being full of ourselves in the truth we’ve acquired via our own devices. Rather, as teachers, we should observe where the “student/fellow sojourner” is spiritually and consider ways to bring them to the next step without overly offending them. The Lord has tenderly led us along in our humble state also. Yes, we are our brother’s keeper and warned not to be “a stumbling block to the weak.” v9. And in verse 12, “When you sin against your brothers in this way and wound their conscience, you sin against Christ.”

If we want to “know” as we “ought to know,” then we will focus our attention, not on our own knowledge, rather on loving God. This love does not originate with us so we’re not prone to get all “puffed up” over it. Also, although our brain is involved, it originates in our heart and soul as the Lord of the Universe pursues us! He is the source! Nothing to brag about here! In this place, we turn over the reigns of our life to God for His heart. Then we experience something incredible!…what it feels like to be known! Nobody will ever know us like God our Father and Maker. This is the knowledge we long for that unplugs all our doubts and insecurities. This knowledge brings great joy and abundant life. It will also guide our social interactions so others feel safe…safe to be where they are…safe to grow with their conscience in tact. So then they too may warm up to loving God and discover this dynamic “knowledge” of what it is to be known by God!

P~ My gracious Lord, You are abundant in mercy and lovingkindness. Have mercy on me. I have sinned against Christ in allowing my feeble knowledge to puff me up and wound the tender conscience of others. Awaken my heart to those around me and refrain my lips from offense. Grant me the heart of a teacher-mother to lure those around me straight into the love of God my Savior. Forgive my arrogance and insensitivity toward others. In Christ I pray, Amen!

What I eat | Nikki Metzger

S~ It’s true that we can’t win God’s approval by what we eat.  We don’t lose anything if we don’t eat it, and we don’t gain anything if we do. 1 Corinthians 8:8 (NLT)

O/A~ What am I doing by eating gluten free?  Am I trying to win God’s approval?  Am I trying to impress someone?  What’s my heart and motivation behind all this?  No food will win God’s approval.  So why does gluten free matter to me now? Gluten free has helped me.  I have lost a teeny tiny bit of weight, but I think I see something that I never knew.  Some foods are like triggers for me.  If I felt an emotion, I would eat a trigger food instead of going to God to sort out that feeling.  Then the trigger food would start an intense craving where I would walk around my kitchen like a lion hunting prey. Once that trigger food was ate, I was out of control ’till the next morning.

P~ Father, this getting healthy lifestyle change that You have called me to….thank You!!  Thank You for something that allows me to choose and honor You, three or four times a day.  Lord, help my heart always pick You over my flesh.  I love You!  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 23, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

