March 20 Joshua 7, 8; Psalm 69; 1 Corinthians 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

What’s the Problem? | Vicki Burns (guest post)

S~ The Lord said to Joshua, “Stand up! What are you doing down on your face? Israel has sinned: they have violated my covenant, which I have commanded them to keep. They have taken some of the devoted things; they have stolen, they have lied, they have put them with their own possessions. That is why the Israelites cannot stand against their enemies; they turn their backs and run because they have been made liable to destruction. I will not be with you any more unless you destroy whatever among you is devoted to destruction.” Joshua 7:10 – 12 (NIV)

O~ God is holy. Lev. 11:44 He cannot attend unrepented sin. Sin is a devotion to destruction. It makes us “liable to destruction.” This is why we cannot expect God’s favor while we entertain sin in defiance of His covenant. We are speaking, of course, of the sin God shows us. And He will show us our sin if we ask…if we care what offends Him. We must ask Him to help us care if we find ourselves here. He is happy to oblige. Either way, sin must be purged! It must not be tolerated!

A~ This would be a good time to ask myself, “What am I tolerating that is an offense to God, my Savior who gave up what was most precious to Him…for me?” I need to take sin as seriously as God does if I want His favor. God hates sin because it robs us of good. It is, in fact, destruction, not unlike heroin to an addict, alcohol to an alcoholic. Maybe this would be a good time to fast and pray, to seek His face, to deal with my sin head on. Then I can expect to enjoy the favor of the Lord; for Him to provide, to route my enemies and protect my children. No. I will never be sinless in this life. But I can increasingly enjoy victory as I practice daily repentance and openness for the work of the conviction of the Holy Spirit. He is a Gift
sent for this purpose…to lead us into all truth. John 16:13

P~ Father, You discipline those You love. Hebrews 12:7 Discipline me…so I may abide in Your love which is heaven on earth! It is the way You draw me close. Thank You for Your unfailing love, patient and pursuing love. Your kindness draws me to repentance. Romans 2:4 You are good and You only do glorious things! In Christ Jesus I pray, Amen!

Consecrate Yourselves | Kim Chipman

S~  “Go, consecrate the people. Tell them, ‘Consecrate yourselves in preparation for tomorrow; for this is what the Lord, the God of Israel, says: There are devoted things among you, Israel. You cannot stand against your enemies until you remove them. Joshua 7:13 (NIV)

O~ The Israelites went to battle in AI and even though there weren’t many people there they lost the battle. Joshua prayed and the Lord revealed that the Israelites had sinned. They needed to make themselves holy again. They could not stand against their enemies until the sin was removed.

A~ So, what sin needs to be removed in my life in order for me to be victorious in battling evil?

P~ Lord, show me! I love You and I want Your promised land and freedom!

Boundaries | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Israel has sinned and broken my covenant!  They have stolen the things that I commanded to be set apart for me. That is why the Israelites are running from their enemies in defeat. For now Israel has been set apart for destruction.  I will not remain with you any longer unless you destroy the things among you that were set apart for destruction.  Joshua 7:11a, 12 (NLT)

O~ God clearly shows boundaries here.

A~ I’m going to a class at my church on “Boundaries”.  This verse helps me to see the importance of being clear with the boundary and the follow through.  There’s so much to unpack in setting boundaries: recognizing values, being respectful and loving, knowing when a boundary is needed, what to let in, what to keep out….

P~ Father, help! I feel a little in over my head with all this, but I want to learn and I need help in doing this at a pace I can keep up with. Thank you.

Who Am I REALLY Associating With? | Michelle Myers

S~ But now I am writing you that you must not associate with anyone who calls himself a brother but is sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or a slanderer, a drunkard or a swindler.  With such a man do not even eat.  1 Corinthians 5:11 (NIV)

O~ There is a process of accountability that is supposed to take place in the church, when fellow Believers get off track.  When a Believer’s heart is not changed during this process, we are to  turn away from them.  Followers of Christ are supposed to hold themselves to a higher standard, and when we get it wrong in our humanness, but don’t see it or deal with it; the church is supposed to be the “whistle blower” and holding us accountable.

A~ In one of my groups, we were on the topic of forgiveness.  All of us, at some time in our lives, were victimized by someone.  Many times, by people that were supposed to love and protect us. All of us are currently and continuously, seeking and following You.  That doesn’t mean we get it right all of the time, but there is a genuine desire to do Your will.

Another commonality that a majority of us have, are parents who “attend” church or claim to be Christians.  In public and to others, they are great people, awesome leaders, helpful and loving. However, story after story told of totally different people behind closed doors and within their family units.  At home, they were angry, irresponsible, not wanting to acknowledge and deal with sin. Often, the lack of acknowledgement and not wanting to deal with it by these victimized women, puts them into the confusion of not being the victim, but the perpetrator.  I have been there.  This is not You, but the enemy.  Instead of fostering an environment for healing, it cultivates an environment of shame and guilt.  This isn’t You, but the enemy.

It is hard to know from our surface level relationships, who are really the unrepentant, sexually immoral, greedy, idol loving, slanderous, drunk, swindlers among us.  Therefore, it makes it difficult for those outside of a situation,  to know who truly are the “wicked we should expel” (1 Corinthians 5:11) and who we shouldn’t even be eating with.  Putting on a social mask, is way more important than truly tapping into the healing, love, and grace provided by You.  It becomes way more important than being obedient to You.  This keeps a lot of people sick.  This isn’t You, but the enemy.

P~ Thank you God for helping me have a character that wants to deal with issues, instead of being deceived into thinking that denying them or ignoring them is a much better route to take. This is deceitful.  This enables the enemy to do more damage, as well as intensify the damage already done.  Please help those that are deceived, by bringing to light the things that need to be dealt with and give people in the church, the wisdom and strength to deal with them.  Please continue to help us all heal, and serve You, regardless of the understanding and support we get from other friends and family in our lives.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 20, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you, Michelle, for your wise words. I, for way too long was trapped in the “angry, irresponsible” hiding in the church thing. I longed for a church that had it’s own act together enough to recognize and confront me in my sin as I felt helpless to see or deal with it myself. Self-deception is a terrible thing. This is why I now go about confessing everything I can get my hands on so as to NOT allow others to think more highly than they should and for them to mercifully pray for my weaknesses. My walk depends on an honest and bold community who is not afraid to confront, in love, the sin that is holding me back. Prayer goes a long way to give us a heart for each other and the love required to get the hard stuff done! We’re all in this together.

Leave a Reply

