March 18 Joshua 1, 2; Psalm 37; 1 Corinthians 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Book of the Law |Thomas Cellilli (guest post)

S~  Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.  Joshua 1:8 (NIV)

O~ The Law is important. We as Christians cannot jettison the Law, saying we live in a post-covenantal world. God tells Joshua to constantly recite and meditate on the Law because that degree of closeness with something produces outward change. You start to act how you talk and think. And these are God’s words, not ours. 1 Corinthians 4 talks about adding to the Law what we want to say. God has provided it all.

A~  It becomes very easy for me to glaze over the Old Testament readings in this plan. It’s older language. It’s a bunch of sacrificial laws and practices, and Jesus came to fulfill it all. But the Lord promises success and prosperity to the one that meditates on the Law. Scripture memory is a powerful thing. During this time, the majority of the teaching was passed on through oral tradition. People knew the Scripture so well they could tell it as a story to others, and that story reflected the way they lived their lives, and vice versa. The Law is important. I want to meditate on it and never let it leave my lips.

P~ Father, Help me to meditate on Your Word. Let me not settle for the passages I find easy, but continue to push me in my knowledge of You.

My Yuck-His Purpose! | Joni Tyner

S~ So the two men set out and came to the house of a prostitute named Rahab and stayed there that night. Joshua 2:1  (NLT)

O~ Joshua sends two spies into Jericho and God leads them to Rahab, a prostitute whose house was built into the city wall.  My Bible notes say that God directed the spies to Rahab’s house because he knew her heart was open to Him and she would be willing to help the Israelites win victory over Jericho.

A~ Why did God led the spies to Rahab, a woman with a sinful past?  I’m not sure, but maybe God likes taking broken people that are willing to be molded for His purposes?  And, even more shocking… I’m pondering that God specifically chose Rahab as part of His perfect plan to save the world.  She was the great, great, great,  (not sure how many greats!) grandmother of Jesus. See Matthew 1:5.

WOW. Would have thought?

 I’m going to let that settle with me today.  God seeks out people that the world dismisses as unworthy and insignificant and molds their lives into a beautiful story that has intentional purpose.   I certainly won’t have a legacy as important as Rahab, but, God can use my past mistakes and heartaches to further His Kingdom and purpose in this world.

I’m encouraged by that!

P~ Dear Lord, thank you for the story of Rahab.  I can’t wait to meet her one day in Heaven!!!  I’m pretty sure her heart overflows with gratitude that You chose her and her life was forever changed.  You found her and chose her beforeshe cleaned up her act.  I look forward to seeing how my old yuck might be turned into something beautiful.  You change everything.

Teeth!! | Nikki Metzger

S~ Commit everything you do to the Lord.  Trust Him, and He will help you. Psalm 37:5 (NLT)

O/A~ Every time something that makes my day go sideways, I start to panic.  Today it was talking with the orthodontist about one of my child’s teeth.  Apparently, the brushing of teeth (or lack of) is causing major damage to the mouth.  My child’s mouth looks worse than the ‘bad’ picture on the handout that was made to scare people into brushing their teeth!  OH MY!

On the way back to school I spewed all of my fears about poor teeth health onto my child.  I did this for the WHOLE RIDE!  Can you imagine a lecture about brushing your teeth for 25 minutes?!  As I’m reflecting about all of this, I wonder if God cares about my kid’s teeth.  I think He does because I care about it.

I need to focus on helping my child learn how to brush their teeth, even though I thought I already did this.  So I’m trusting this promise and going to commit this to the Lord.  It seems silly that I have to lean on God to take care of my child’s teeth, but who else better to do this?  God made my child’s teeth and knows my child even better than I do.  God knows what needs to happen for my child to take ownership of their body.  Their body, where the Holy Spirit lives.

P~ Lord, thank You for caring about everything in my life, including my kid’s teeth!  I’m sorry for freaking out on him in the car ride after!  Thank You for this promise in Your Word!  God I commit this to You, I trust You and I know You will help me.

Planting and Watering | Kelley Deases

S~ I [Paul] planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God made it grow.  I Corinthians 3:6 (NIV)

O~  I am not a gardener. I have managed to keep a scarce few houseplants alive for a few years, mostly due to their minimal need of special care or attention. I don’t keep an outside garden nor really even do a lot to maintain our yard and landscaping. Not much of an outdoorsy girl and, to me, hands in the dirt equals a ruined manicure. However, I have always appreciated the analogy of planting seeds to represent sharing the Gospel, watering as discipling another in their faith walk, and God as the Master Gardener who causes truth to take root and growth to occur.

A~ This is an exciting time in our family. My husband began this year with a renewed fervor to share with, encourage, and intentionally pray for his coworkers and the inmates at the correctional facility where he works. And he is only gaining momentum with each passing week as he witnesses receptive hearts and answers to prayer. My son is home from college this week on spring break and even as he meets with friends in this area, he has had opportunity to speak upon his faith to several people God has placed in his path. Not to mention the stories he has told us about God’s work at his college campus in Chicago and on his recent mission trip to India. Personally, my heart has very much been about the ever-expanding group of ladies I invite into my home on a weekly basis, where we share our lives as we open God’s Word. May we never tire of sharing and of hearing what God is accomplishing as we seek to be His ambassadors in our respective spheres.

P~ Father, Thank You for the privilege of being able to play a part in what is really Your work. We can plant, we can water, but only You can create and grow things. I am humbled to be part of the process.

God Who Makes Things Grow | Vicki Burns

S~ So neither he who plants nor he who waters is anything but only God, who makes things grow. The man who plants and the man who waters have one purpose, and each will be rewarded according to his own labor. For we are God’s fellow workers; you are God’s field, God’s building1 Corinthians 3:7-9 (NIV, emphasis mine)

O~ Paul had just told the Corinthians that he and Apollos were “only servants,” in the previous verse. Each of us have our part to play and we all “have one purpose.” What is that one purpose? To be “God’s fellow workers;” AND “God’s field;” AND “God’s building.” We are both the workers (with God) and the object of God’s work. Yet, for all of that it is all nothing because it is God who makes things grow. That is not to say our labor is ineffective. No! He, in fact promises a reward according to our labor. And God is using it all to make us and mature us and to work His will in the earth as salt and light. We learn and grow as we give ourselves to be a servant, a co-laborer with God. Something mysterious works in us, His field and His building. We begin to get the vision and heart of the Master Builder! (Sorry you moms of Lego movie fans. 🙂 ) God’s desire for us is to be united “with one purpose.” If we were to all just take pride in being servants of the Most High no matter what our particular call is, to plant or to water, His glory builds something fruitful and useful with us for His kingdom and glory.

The older I get, the more I feel that there is a work going on around us. It is God’s work. I can choose to pitch in or not. It is, however, the times I abandon myself as a servant-fellow worker with God that I experience the most joy, confidence and growth. There is no room for pride and arrogance because, after all, “neither he who plants nor he who waters is anything, but only God who makes things grow.” And what a thrill it is to be a part of something eternal that the God of the universe is building!

A~ I must aim to do all things fervently as unto God. I must remember for all that, I serve a God who makes things grow! He is my source, my means and my goal! Oh what a dynamic phenomenon is the mysterious working of the Lord! This is the stuff we were made for. There is nothing more thrilling, more fulfilling!

P~ My dear Lord, there is no one like You in heaven or on earth! That You would even think of us is beyond gracious! Yet You delight in us and choose us as coworkers in Your glorious work! Thank You for Your love that works in us both to will and to work Your good pleasure! Phil 2:13 (paraphrased from ESV)  Work always in me, I pray. Help me choose You. Thank You for Your mercy when I do not. In Jesus name, Amen

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 18, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

