March 15 Deuteronomy 28, 29; Galatians 6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Choose Life! | Kim Chipman

S~ If you fully obey the Lord your God and carefully follow all his commands I give you today, the Lord your God will set you high above all the nations on earth. All these blessings will come on you and accompany you if you obey the Lord your God: Deuteronomy 28:1-2 (NIV)

However, if you do not obey the Lord your God and do not carefully follow all his commands and decrees I am giving you today, all these curses will come on you and overtake you: Deuteronomy 28:15 (NIV)

O~  This day I call the heavens and the earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live Deuteronomy 30:19 (NIV)

A~ This has been the option since the beginning…fully obey and experience Your blessings…or not, it’s my choice. Yesterday I was reminded that without freedom to choose there can’t be genuine love…love is a choice. This is the same principle here. You give me the choice to show You I love You by obeying You. There are consequences for not obeying, in fact you *want* me to obey! You set life and death before me and allow me to choose.

P~ Lord, help me to choose well! I love You so much but I’m pretty selfish and prideful. Help me to discern the best choice.

Do My Part | Kelley Deases

S~ … for each one should carry his own load. Galatians 6:5 (NIV)

O~  God has given each of us a territory, a sphere of influence, people with whom we regularly see, interface with, do life alongside. And while there will be times God might direct our steps to reach beyond that territory — maybe on a short- or long-term mission trip — this inner circle is really our primary mission field and most fertile soil in which to plant.

A~  My niece, Kaitlyn, has joined the senior class of her Christian school on a mission trip to Jamaica, where they will spend several days serving the poorest population. Some of the seniors at my youngest son’s school just returned from Haiti, while some traveled just across town to help clean and maintain a campground. My college-age son went to India two months ago and is looking ahead to the possibility of a trip to Haiti this summer. I love to hear the stories of impact and life change from those who go and those whom they encounter.

But our call from Christ, and reiterated by Paul, is to be light and salt right where we are. For me, that is on my street, at the grocery store, out in my local community. People need to know about Jesus’ love and saving grace, and I have that message to share.  I heard a sermon just yesterday about this very idea of carrying our own share of the load, and, specifically, not defaulting to, “Someone else will do it.” The pastor talked about what chaos would certainly ensue if police officers, firefighters, teachers, or surgeons were to just throw up their hands and say “Let someone else do it” when they are called upon to step in and perform their duty. He reminded us of the very real need lost people have to be rescued, yet we (I) so often abdicate that role, missing out on precious opportunities to speak life.

P~ Father, Show me today what or who is my burden. Help me fully walk in my role as citizen of heaven, temporarily residing on earth for the purpose of recruitment. I also pray for my sweet niece as she steps out and into another country. Help her feel Your Spirit move in and through her in a powerful way this week. And help her momma have peace until her daughter’s safe return.

Do Not be Deceived | Vicki  Burns (guest post)

S~ Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. The one who sows to please his sinful nature, from that nature will reap destruction; the one who sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life. Galatians 6:7-8 (NIV)

O~ I see this as one of the most severe scriptures in the Bible. It speaks of deception, the robbing of one’s soul to a lie. Thinking they are safe they instead are given over to the worst kind of destruction. That is a horror at it’s very worst!

But then we are told how to fail, i.e. to sow to please your sinful nature and reap destruction. Also, how to succeed by sowing to please the Spirit and to reap eternal life.

Deuteronomy 30:19 says in the ESV, “…I have set before you life and death…choose life.”

A~ I must see to it that I choose moment by moment to sow to please the Spirit and not my sinful nature. I will use the hourly ping of my phone to ask this question, “Am I pleasing my sinful nature now or the Spirit of the Living God who bought me with the blood of His dear Son?” I will obey the Spirit by God’s grace alone. Sin is deception.

P~ Thank You Lord for not hiding from us the way to please You.

For, “The secret things belong to the Lord our God, but the things revealed belong to us and to our children forever, that we may follow all the words of this law.” Deut. 29:29, NIV

I know the way to go. Please keep me on track in pleasing the Spirit. For Your name and to Your glory, Amen.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 15, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I enjoyed your post today, Vicki. Very insightful and helps me to think what am I feeding. Is it my flesh or his spirit?

    • Thank you for your encouragement! I find it motivating to remember that the one to whom I yield my members is the one I serve. Indeed it is a constant (hourly) challenge. Thankfully, if we stay in the race, there is grace a plenty to see us to victory!

Leave a Reply

