March 14 Deuteronomy 25-27; Galatians 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Fallen Away From Grace | Michelle Myers

S~ Again I declare to every man who lets himself be circumcised that he is obligated to obey the whole law.  You who are trying to be justified by law have been alienated from Christ; you have fallen away from grace. Galatians 5:3-4 (NIV)

O~ If I pick out, chose to follow, preach to others, etc. about “the law”, I am obligated to obey the entire thing.  I can’t pick and choose what pieces I want to follow, are easy for me to follow, etc., and then judge others for what parts they are not following.  In doing this to myself or others, I am separated from Christ, and not accepting the grace that was given freely to me as a gift, when He died on the cross.  Galatians 5:6 says, “For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision or uncircumcision (the law) has any value.  The only thing that counts is faith expressing itself through love.”

A~ There is no way that I can follow the entire law.  When I try, I fail.  When I am fed up, tired, not feeling well, etc.; and care a little less than normal, I really fail.  I know this about myself.  I don’t want to be held accountable under the law, because I know on my own, I am weak.  This is no surprise to You.  If it were, You wouldn’t have sent Jesus to die for me on the cross.

There is something about holding ourselves and others to a “checklist law standard”.  Our flesh loves credit and accomplishment.  The problem is, the credit and accomplishment isn’t ours.  It is Yours.  Plus, for whatever good check I give myself and judge someone else for not getting, there are several other areas where I fail, but the other person does not. Also, credit and accomplishment at following “the law” isn’t what You value.  You value how we treat and love everyone, regardless of how well they are following the law.  Their sin is between You and them.  My sin is between You and me.  How I love others, in their sin or how they are loving me in mine, is way more important to You.  I am finding that this is something a lot of Christians, including me, struggle with understanding or recognizing.

The week that we are moving, my father-in-law is coming to visit.  The timing isn’t great, but we also have some margin in when we can start moving into our new place and have to be out of our old place.  My father-in-law has made some serious mistakes in his life.  Many of which, he still doesn’t get or understand the impact of.  He can be very self centered. Yet, he has some very good qualities.  Many of these, I have not acknowledged over the years.  He is the only grandparent my kids have in their lives at this time.  He makes an effort to see them.  He is good about not judging people and staying out of “their business” when it comes to their sins.  He helped my husband financially when I left him, and never expected anything in return.  My job, just like with any other relationship I have, is to stay connected to You, so that I am aware of the boundaries You have told me to have, and to love him, in spite of his human flaws.

P~ Thank you God for changing my heart and showing me a different perspective.  Thank you for showing me how self-centered, unloving, and sinful I have been in regards to Tony. Please show me and help me to love him well and not judge him.  Please show me the boundaries that I need to have, and help me not become defensive or offended when I feel criticized for not being able to meet his demands.

Serve Humbly in Love | Kim Chipman

S~ You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the flesh[a]; rather, serve one another humbly in love. Galatians 5:13 (NIV)

O~ This chapter begins with “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free”. I am free. I am not a slave. I have choices. Things happen in my life that I cannot control, but I do have the freedom to choose how I respond.

A~ SO, do I choose to indulge the flesh or serve humbly in love? I really believe that if I trust You completely – if I believe Your Word is true…really believe it – then I WILL behave differently. I will choose differently. I will be free to serve humbly in love – even difficult people, people who don’t deserve it. Without freedom to choose there can’t be genuine love. Love is a choice. You see me, You want my heart. I’m reminded in the Sermon on the Mount (Matthew 6) that You reward service done in private, not to be seen or make me look good or be noticed. Often serving people humbly in love is private and unseen. And often undeserved and unfair and REALLY HARD. But You promise to reward it!

P~ Lord, I believe, but help my unbelief! I want to trust You deeply and serve You humbly in love – for Your glory. I love You!

You Bring Forth Good Fruit | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But when the Holy Spirit controls our lives, he will produce this kind of fruit in us: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.  Here there is no conflict with the law.  Galatians 5:22-23 (NLT)

O~ But when the Holy Spirit controls…he will produce…

The fruits of the Spirit are formed in me as I allow his control in my life or as I yield to him.

A~ I need to yield to you Jesus, follow you and trust you. Those fruits would not be possible without me staying connected to the vine.

P~ Father, help me make good choices, give me wisdom.  Thank you for being patient with me, and thank you for not leaving me in my sin.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 14, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

