March 12 Deuteronomy 19-21; Galatians 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Remembering as Motivation | Tara Wiley

S~ Always remember that you were slaves in Egypt and that the Lord your God redeemed you from your slavery. That is why I have given you this command…Remember that you were slaves in the land of Egypt. That is why I am giving you this command. Deuteronomy 24:18, 22 NLT

O~ Remember where you came from. Throughout the book of Deuteronomy, Moses continually reminds the people to never forget their past, but instead to continually remember both their deep need and God’s amazing provision. These two themes were to shape their everyday lives, even to the point, in this passage, of making provision for those in need. Even the way the Israelites gathered their grain and grapes was to be shaped by these experiences. The pain of their past was redeemed by the graciousness of their future acts of kindness towards those in need. It was a reflection of God’s provision, and an act of worship.

A~ Are my everyday decisions shaped by my experiences of God’s redemption in my life? Do I treat others the way He treats me? Am I gracious and generous in the way I use the abundant resources He has given me – time, health, talent, money, possessions, property, knowledge…? I want to be. I can see that He is working this in me when I look back over time, but I am so easily swayed back into thinking selfishly and choosing me first, disregarding those in need around me, even those under my own roof. I get irritated by inconveniences that are so incredibly petty. I hoard my time and protect my comfort. I turn the other way from things that might make me uncomfortable. I need to remember – remember what God has rescued me from, and the abundant way in which He provides for me. I need to let that shape every part of my day!

P~ Lord, I confess, there are seasons where these motivating factors truly are at the forefront of my mind, and then there are seasons where I let selfishness reign. Help me make the most of the time You have given me. Help me live generously and graciously because that is how You have acted towards me. Let my everyday decisions be continual acts of worship, reflecting Your character.

Oh, so foolish! | Kelley Deases

S~ Did you receive the Spirit by observing the law, or by believing what you heard? Are you so foolish? Galatians 3:2b-3a (NIV)

O~ The Apostle Paul may have been a lot of things, but tactful and politically correct were definitely not among them. He never missed a chance to call out a heresy and boldly proclaim truth, regardless of who may take offense. Kind of like Jesus that way!

A~ These words hit me right between the eyes as I came across them this morning, making me reflect on my own faith journey — from “goodie-two-shoes” church girl to earnest seeker and believer. I think back to my teenage years and I would have (mistakenly) thought of myself as a super-Christian: attending every youth group function, trip or camp; not smoking or drinking as most of my fellow cheerleaders from school were doing; not having sex; making top grades; and following my parents’ strict rules and curfew. But those were all outward appearances; where was my heart? Truth be told, most of my rule-following tendencies had more to do with my first-born-child desire to please my parents than any true obedience to God. I was as boy crazy as the next girl, switching “dance partners” in rapid succession. And those church activities? More a social club, really, as I look back on it, because I was not bearing much fruit outside those walls. I didn’t really grasp how I was a sinner in need of a Savior, nor was I concerned with anyone else’s salvation.

In college, I became unlikely friends with a fellow waitress at my part-time job. She was, shall we say, “fully embracing the college experience” — living with her boyfriend and partying on the weekends. I was still doing my good church-girl routine, but we had an affinity for one another and became fast friends for years and years. At some point after college, she came to faith in Jesus Christ. Thereafter, she pointedly asked me one day, “In all that time, why didn’t you ever share Jesus with me?” Ouch! Well, Paul’s words touch on it: Following the law was not the key to my receiving what God had for me (much less to be able to give it away!). Rather, taking in what I had heard, letting it permeate and transform my heart and mind and actions, that is the mark of a true believer, one whose heart breaks for any who are lost, and most especially a dear friend. (I know there is grace. And I also know, now, that I was not able to give what I did not truly possess.)

P~ Father, I am a work in progress, then and now. Thank You for these points of conviction which come through Your Word and speak into my life. Help me to always heed them, and truly grow into who You would have me be.

Holy Spirit | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ I ask you again, does God give you the Holy Spirit and work miracles among you because you obey the law of Moses?  Of course not!  It is because you believe the message you heard about Christ.  Galatians 3:5 (NLT)

O & A~ The Holy Spirit was given to me when I believed, and has been the one to remind me that it’s not about me, what I can or cannot do. Jesus died for me because I couldn’t, wasn’t able to make myself right.  I just kept sinning. Jesus set me free, and gave me the Holy Spirit, to remind me of your truth, to guide me, encourage, comfort, and counsel me.

P~ Thank you for Holy Spirit!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 12, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for sharing your story Kelley, that really hits home to lots of people.

Leave a Reply

