March 11 Deuteronomy 16-18; Psalm 38; Galatians 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Recognizing the Blessings in the Circus | Michelle Myers

S~ Do not pervert justice or show partiality.  Do not accept a bribe, for a bribe blinds the eyes of the wise and twists the words of the righteous. Deuteronomy 16:19 (NIV)

O/A~ I feel pretty confident in saying that most politicians, when you get right down to the truth of the matter or the facts, pervert justice, show partiality, and accept bribes.  Our government is broken. Not nearly as broken as some other governments, but it is broken.  I know it is no one person’s fault.  I know that no one person has all the answers or solutions, they may claim to have.  I know it will never be perfect.  I really, really, really dislike election time; and like Christmas, it seems to be starting earlier and earlier.

Like with Christmas, it isn’t starting earlier and earlier to bring more glory to You or extend the celebration of the birth of our Savior, Jesus Christ.  It is to sell more junk and make more money. Campaigning, extended media coverage, schmoozing with people has very little to do with You, even by the politicians and their associates, who claim to be Christians.  I don’t care if you are far left or far right.  It is all self serving.

Anymore, I try pretty hard to stay away from politics.  However, when I see something from either side that claims to be something misrepresented, I try and find the source to find the validity of it. However, I forwarded something the other day on FB, that was posted by someone who I trusted. Mainly to make a bigger social issue brought into the light.  Someone called me on the validity of the quote, and I was wrong.  I accepted responsibility, apologized, and pointed out that though the quote was misrepresented, I feel that the issue it represented was not.

What I got from You, is THIS isn’t the junk that You want me to waste my time on.  You reminded me, that besides not being able to use our health savings plan money for non-prescriptions anymore, there has been little that any President has done, that I have noticed directly impacting my life.  My own stupid decisions have had more of an impact on my life.  The stupid decisions of my family members have had more of an impact on my life.  My insurance company had more of an impact on my life, when they couldn’t reach a settlement with the company my doctor works for, and I had to find a new doctor.

Here is what You want me to focus on,… I am blessed to live in a country where I and anyone else can post their opinions on a social media site or in a public forum.  I am blessed enough to have a computer, electricity, or even enough education (especially as a woman) to do so.  I am blessed that I can research and access the truth.  I am blessed that I have a health savings plan, health insurance, access to modern medicine, and a doctor at all, and not just ONE.

I am blessed that there are men and women, who in the prime of their lives, will fight and die for me to have and be able to do all of these things.  I am no more deserving of them than anyone else.  That is why I choose to vote on election day. It honors those who have sacrificed, I mean REALLY sacrificed, so I can have the privileges that I do have.  It is glorifies You and the blessings that You have given to me.   It really has nothing to do with the candidates.

P~ Thank you God for the blessings You have given to me and every other American, through the service and sacrifices of others.  I don’t take that lightly.  I have no idea who I am going to vote for.  It all just seems like a circus right now.  I often joke, that I am going to write in my cat’s name.  Please just show me what You want me to do.  Show me some truth and guide me in making a decision that best aligns with You.  I am only accountable for my part.

If God Was a Poll Worker | Robin Laney

S~ When you come to the land that the Lord your God is giving you, and you possess it and dwell in it and then say, ‘I will set a king over me, like all the nations that are around me,’ you may indeed set a king over you whom the Lord your God will choose. Deuteronomy 17:14-15a (ESV)

O~ God, here, is giving instructions to the Israelites on how to choose a king. He didn’t want the people to choose a king but they insisted. In verses 14-20, He gives some guidelines to his people so that they can make a wise choice. Here are his ideas of a wise choice:

  • Choose a brother, not a foreigner, so as not to be led to compromise in faith matters.
  • Choose one who will be careful in relationships with other countries.
  • Choose one who does not give into his own passions, lest his heart be drawn astray.
  • Choose one whose heart is not set on accumulating great wealth for his own good so that his people are not oppressed in his pursuit of it. If it is to be acquired, it should be for the good of the people.
  • Choose one who is familiar with God’s law and who meditates on it daily so that he does not end up considering himself better than others or above the law and turn from it.

In 1 Samuel 8:10-22, Samuel repeats the words of the Lord in predicting what will happen to the people if they go against God’s wisdom. The people still chose according to their own desires and God let them have their way.

A~ I found this so timely as we are in this crazy election cycle. Granted, we are not choosing a king but the wisdom God gives for choosing a leader, is timeless. I know it’s crazy to even think that we, as a country, would actually seek God’s wisdom in choosing a leader but it’s so important for each of us, as individuals, to do so. I wonder what the election outcome would be if all of God’s people actually sought Him in their choices and voted based on the Spirit’s leading. What if we put our fears and personal desires for comfort aside and actually honored God with our vote? What if we voted as if our ballot would be handed directly to God for review? Would we choose differently?

P~ Lord, this world is crazy! I praise you for Your faithfulness and Your Wisdom and am so thankful for the knowledge of Your Sovereignty over this whole mess.

Regular reading | Nikki Metzger

S~ This regular reading will prevent him from becoming proud and acting as if he is above his fellow citizens.  It will also prevent him from turning away from these commands in the smallest way. Deuteronomy 17:20 (NLT)

O~ Moses gives guidelines for a king, should the Israelites decide they want one in the future.  The king isn’t supposed to go to Egypt for horses, take many wives, or collect a lot of money for himself.  He is also supposed to write down his copy of the scripture and read it daily, as long as he lives.

A~ I forgot something yesterday.  I forgot that love doesn’t demand its own way, keeps no record of being wronged, and love never gives up.  I turned from God’s definition of love in the smallest way, and I started acting like I was ‘above’ someone.

I’ve been reading regularly, but have taken my eyes off an important relationship that I need God’s constant wisdom about.  I NEED regular reading of God’s word to keep this relationship in alignment with God’s truth and not the world’s.  It’s just how it is.  And yesterday, my eyes had been out of the Word long enough (in regards to this relationship) and a heated discussion (argument) ensued and my feelings went all crazy.

P~ God, I’m sorry!!  Help me to read daily to prevent me from becoming prideful and acting above anyone!  I don’t want to turn from You in the smallest way because it eventually sets me WAY off course!  I pray this in Jesus’ Name! Amen!

Off Days | Kelley Deases

S~ All my longings lie open before you, O Lord; my sighing is not hidden from you. Psalm 38:9 (NIV)

O~ David is crying out from a place of physical and emotional anguish. He seeks the Lord’s presence and help. But here, in the midst of his litany of hardships, he acknowledges that he knows God knows his every longing, his every sigh. What a comfort to know I am seen and fully known by God.

A~ I have been away from the Word for a couple days, foolishly letting menial tasks crowd out my time to sit at His feet. I have felt the palpable discontent and restlessness rise up in me. I am impatient with my people and dissatisfied in my work. Because I did not get my marching orders. Because I failed to get His perspective on my life and my relationships. Because I did not offer up the small sacrifice of my time to Him after all He has sacrificed for me.

But today I sit and He gently reminds me He is familiar with my longings, my every sigh, whether I acknowledge Him in every moment or not. There is a conviction in that, yes, but more than that, a sweet invitation to return. Return to the One Who sees me, knows me, and waits for me to once again realize my need.

P~ Father, Before experiencing the sour taste of days spent “too busy” to spend with You, help me want to seek Your presence and Your wisdom, not out of sheer act of will, but as a greatly anticipated reunion with my best friend and loving counselor.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 11, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

