March 10 Deuteronomy 13-15; Galatians 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Lined up With You | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Serve only the Lord your God and fear him alone obey his commands, listen to his voice and cling to him.  Deuteronomy 13:4 (NLT)

Let God’s curse fall on anyone, including myself, who preaches any other message than the one we told you about. Even if an angel comes from heaven and preaches any other message. Let him forever be curse.  Galatians 1:8  (NLT)

O~ A verse from the old testament and one from the new, yet the message is still the same…God is calling me to follow him, his way his plan, to live in his mercy, his gift, and in the freedom to choose him.

A~ I want my life my thoughts, my actions, what I say, to line up with God’s truth.

P~ Father, you keep me steady.  Thank you for your word, your truth.  Keep me lined up with your truth only and bring me back when I stray.  I love you.

I Need to Stone Myself! | Michelle Myers

S~ You must purge the evil from among you.  Deuteronomy 13:6 (NIV)

O~ God takes evil very seriously, and He wants us to also.  In fact, He wants us to take it so seriously that He tells us to not pity our own family and friends, when they try and entice us toward worshiping other Gods.  He says, “do not yield to him or listen to him.  Show him no pity. Do not spare him or shield him.  You must certainly put him to death.  Your hand must be the first in putting him to death, and then the hands of all people.  Stone him to death, because he tried to turn you away from the LORD your God, who brought you out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery.” Deuteronomy 13:6

A~ I have a handful of family members, many of whom are Christians, that have tried to entice me.   At times I was ignorant in what was going on.  Other times, I was not so ignorant and had to make some some decisions in regards to what to do.  I didn’t always get it right, but I got better.  Over time, the decisions weren’t so hard, and I knew that following You was the way to go.  Not everyone, Christian or not, is going to understand this.  I have gotten better at accepting that, and focusing on Your understanding of the situation and what You are telling me to do.

However, there are many times that I should stone myself.  No other human being entices me in certain areas, I allow myself to be deceived and enticed by the unseen evil forces.   A good example of this, is with ice cream or any sweet frozen treat.  I have battled alcohol, struggle with nicotine, are married to a sex addict, have family members doing meth; so a few too many fudge bars doesn’t seem that bad.  I can easily allow myself to be deceived into thinking, I will control my portions.  These say, “no sugar added”, so they aren’t that bad for me.  Yesterday, I found myself OUT.OF. CONTROL. with them.  They might as well have been a beer, meth, etc. I need to treat them as such.  Legal in the world, doesn’t necessarily mean it is good for ME. Usually it is just the opposite.  What the world says is good, is usually not.  It is not often that the world and You align.

Ice Cream/frozen treats have become my God, and I am so sorry for that. It also needs to go beyond “sorry” and start taking the changes I am trying to make with my health seriously.  It is hard, because we are in a very busy season.  However, I have found, what appears to be one small compromise, turns into another….and another…..and another.  Before I know it, BAM! I am completely off track, completely deceived, completely out of control, and separated from You.

P~ Thank you God for Jesus.  Without Him, I would have to stone myself.  I am tired.  I am busy. I am overwhelmed.  Please help me stay strong.  Please help me be aware of the evil, so I can purge it. Please help me recognize and stand in truth, so I am not deceived and compromising.

The Great Rescue | Robin Laney

S~ Grace to you and peace [inner calm and spiritual well-being] from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ, who gave Himself [as a sacrifice to atone] for our sins [to save and sanctify us] so that He might rescue us from this present evil age, in accordance with the will and purpose and plan of our God and Father— Galatians 1:3-4 (AMP)

O~ A greeting by Paul to the Galatians that outlines the Master’s Plan.

A~ Oh, this certainly is an evil age. There is so much pain and suffering and injustice in this world and my heart often longs for Jesus to return quickly. Those desires are often interrupted by the Spirit reminding me there is so much work yet to be done. When I just want to escape and I think enough is enough, I am reminded that there are so many people in this world who still don’t know Jesus. There is no time to get stuck in the muck!

Jesus’ rescue of those of us who believe is not a physical one but a spiritual release from the slavery of sin and the heaviness of this world. In the midst of chaos, we have peace. When things seem impossible, it is well with our souls because we have real hope. He has freed us from being mired in the muck and the mess of the world and has equipped with the Spirit so that we can get a 10,000 feet high view instead. We aren’t saved for our sakes but for His. He has plans and purposes for us for the good of the world. His will is that we use our freedom in Him to the fullest so that every person would come to know how glorious our God is, believe on Him, and be saved from death.

In the song, Oceans, one of the lyrics is, “and keep my eyes above the waves.” If only my eyes are above the waves, I can still focus on Him even though I feel like I might drown. And I have hope. His grace abounds in deepest waters. The hard things of this world might feel like huge waves overtaking us at times but it is his overcoming of our trials that become our greatest testimonies. No time for distractions, eyes on the prize, set on the mission that all would hear the name of Jesus!

P~ Lord, thank you! Thank you for Your great rescue. Thank You for Your amazing plans and purposes. By Your Spirit, keep me focused on the mission and let me not be distracted by the messes of this world. Instead, let me see those messes with an eternal perspective, show me Your hand within them, and speak through me to share Your great and marvelous works!

Twisting God’s Truth | Joni Tyner

S~ I am shocked that you are turning away so soon from God, who called you to himself through the loving mercy of Christ. You are following a different way that pretends to be the Good News but is not the Good News at all. You are being fooled by those who deliberately twist the truth concerning Christ. Galatians 1 :6-7 (NLT)

O~ Paul is writing to the Galatian church.  He was concerned that the Galatians were “adding” to salvation by faith alone.  They felt the Gentile believers needed to adhere to Jewish laws, specifically circumcision.  They were twisting Christ’s words with their own man made rules.

A~ I think it is so easy to fall into this trap and get “caught up” in the culture  and rules of a specific church or denomination.  The Bible is extremely clear that we DO NOTHING for our salvation. We DO NOTHING to maintain it.   If you think about it, it is insulting to in effect say, “Thanks Jesus for dying on the cross, it was pretty impressive, but I’m not sure it really was enough.  I thought I’d help You out by doing _________ .  “  –Seriously, who would say that to Jesus?   Yet… don’t we do that so often with our actions and our mindset that we have to do _______ to earn God’s love?

P~ Dear Lord, I’m forever grateful that you chose me to be one of your adopted children.  I know I did NOTHING to deserve Your favor. Please keep fueling my hunger to read your Word so that I don’t get side tracked by other people’s opinions and miss the true message of the Gospel.  I pray I would accurately understand and portray Your Word as I speak with others and write on the blog.  I desire to be found faithful to You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 10, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thank you. Years ago, I heard Joyce Meyer talk about flying above and it has always stuck with me. It helps me refocus when I get sideways. 🙂 A friend of mine posted this the other day, “As we do the work of Jesus we always need to be aware that we are interfering with another agenda… we are entering a war.” I love that reminder that we live in this world that is immersed in a spiritual battle for souls.

  2. So encouraged by your post, Robin. It is easy to get discouraged by the yuck and evil of this world. Yet, we are called to His purpose and we are His soldiers!!!! It gives it a different perspective when we think about we are called to bring others to Him, that there is purpose in the struggle, the pain.

Leave a Reply

