March 8 Deuteronomy 7-9; Mark 15

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Blessings of Obedience | Tara Wiley

S~ Therefore, be careful to obey every command I am giving you today, so you may have strength to go in and take over the land you are about to enter. If you obey, you will enjoy a long life in the land the Lord swore to give to your ancestors and to you, their descendants – a land flowing with milk and honey! Deut. 11:8-9

O~ Living in obedience offers significant benefits. The first one listed in these verses: strength for victorious battle. The second: the blessing of a long life.

A~ While the battles that the Israelites would face were physical, I have real battles to face too, in the spiritual realm. Just as obedience brought strength and eventual peace to the Israelites, my obedience to God will strengthen me for the spiritual battles, and will lead to spiritual peace.

P~ Lord, obedience is not without reward! The sacrifices You call me to bring me to a place of victory, peace, and deep spiritual reward – which often translates into physical reward too (for example, when I take care of my body and observe Sabbath rest, I experience physical health and vitality. When I’m a good steward of my resources, I have an abundance. When I am diligent to pray for my loved ones, You give wisdom, which leads to healthy relationships. And the list goes on!). Thank You for guiding me into a way of life that reaps reward. Forgive me for the times I so stubbornly refuse to obey You, even when I know that however difficult it may seem at the outset, the rewards will far outweigh the cost. Whether I experience that reward now or in heaven, it will come. Thank You for that promise.

Be careful!! | Nikki Metzger

S~ But be careful.  Don’t let your heart be deceived so that you turn away from the Lord and serve and worship other gods. Deuteronomy 11:16 (NLT)

O~ Moses is addressing the people before enter the Promised Land.

A~ Today I’m reading later in the day instead of the morning, I just didn’t get up this morning.  Driving home from work, I could feel my tension building.  So much to do, a disrespectful child keeps calling, I know I’m coming home to a messy house, I have commitments for the next 36 hours, and I need to add a coffee with a hurting friend.  Ahhhhhh!  I’m angry when I pull into my driveway.  My kids are playing basketball outside, together, yet I feel the need to roll down my window and say a sarcastic remark about them not moving out of my way fast enough.  I mean, really, did they have to take that last shot when my car was 10 feet from the hoop?

I NEED God’s Word, His truth to uncover why I’m being a crazy person.  His Word says to be careful.  Don’t let my heart be deceived so I turn away from the Lord and worship other gods.

The god I honestly want to serve in this moment is: Netflix and holding the couch down, which is basically the god of my comfort.  Me, me, me.  What I want and when I want it.

All my commitments coming up in the next 36 hours revolve around relationship and loving some people.  Do I honestly have any love to give them?  In this moment, no, but maybe today would have gone differently if I had sought God first instead of 972nd?  I think I let my heart get deceived all day long and ultimately the deception took my heart to a me,me,me attitude.

P~ Father, I need to head to a commitment 🙂 Thank You for Your Word!!  Thank You for truth and never giving up on me!  Please fill me with a supernatural love and patience for others in the next 36 hours – I messed up, but I don’t want them to suffer! And thank You that my kids were playing TOGETHER and getting along when I got home!  I didn’t miss that miracle 🙂  You are a my good, good Father!

Quit Being Defensive | Kim Chipman

S~ So again Pilate asked him, “Aren’t you going to answer? See how many things they are accusing you of.” But Jesus still made no reply, and Pilate was amazed. Mark 15:4-5 (NIV)

O~ My study Bible says, “If Jesus made no defense, according to Roman law Pilate would have to pronounce against Him.”

A~ This part of the story always fascinates me, perhaps because I am so quick to become defensive. I can hardly imagine not defending myself as people falsely accuse ma and mock me. Jesus had such confidence and assurance in the Father’s will for Him that ini the midst of all that He remained silent.

I want that confident assurance in the midst of trial and mocking. Jesus knew exactly what He needed to do. He did know the end of the story, that He would rise victorious. And really I know the end of the story, too. You win.

P~ Lord, help me to hear Your voice and have confident assurance in Your will and plan. Help me know when to be silent in the midst and when to speak. I love You!

Looking | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Joseph of Arimathea took a risk and went to Pilate and asked for Jesus’ body. (Joseph was an honored member of the high council, and he was waiting for the Kingdom of God to come.) Mark 15:43 (NLT)

O~ Joseph was looking… and he was able to recognize Jesus.

A~ I need to stay connected to you and keep looking for your hand in my life, and I will see you.

P~ Thank you. I love you too. ❤

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 8, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

