March 7 Deuteronomy 5, 6; Psalm 43; Mark 14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

You Want My Heart | Kim Chipman

S~ Oh, that their hearts would be inclined to fear me and keep all my commands always, so that it might go well with them and their children forever! Deuteronomy 5:29 (NIV)

O~ Moses is reminding the Israelites of the Lord’s commands as they enter the Promised Land. This reminds ME of God’s heart towards us. A part of His character. He wants all to go well for us! He shows us how to get there we just need to honor, respect, and fear God and keep His commands. It warms my heart to think of God’s thoughts being…Oh, that your heart would follow me so all might go well with you and your children forever! Your heart’s desire is for my good!

A~ I can’t trust the desires of my flesh. My flesh is selfish, prideful…it wants comfort, convenience and instant gratification.

But fearing You looks different in my heart. It’s like a big filter everything needs to go through. Not every choice I make is going to be laid out word for word in the Bible, but when my heart is inclined to fear (respect) and obey You I know what YOU want ME to do thanks to the Holy Spirit. It gets messy and confusing when my motives are not pure. Am I walking in reverent honor of You? Or am I looking for the path of least resistance and comfort and convenience?

I’ve been struggling with fodus/distraction lately. Often when I feel this way I need to remember to do what I KNOW  You have already told me during a time of connection and focus and clarity. Even if I’m not sure what to say in a situation I can be kind. Even if I’m unclear on the next big decision I can do what I know in the small decisions in the meantime – keep eating healthy, get plenty of rest, exercise, stay in the Word, pray.

dark-light

Confusion is not from You. I can do what I know is from You until I feel clarity again. Really, you want my heart! You want my heart to fear You and follow You and I can do that. There is always a way if I choose it.

P~ Thank You for loving me and showing me the path to Your best! I love You!

Teach our Kids! | Joni Tyner

S~ And you must commit yourselves wholeheartedly to these commands that I am giving you today. Repeat them again and again to your children. Talk about them when you are at home and when you are on the road, when you are going to bed and when you are getting up.  Write them on the doorpost of your house and on your gates. Deuteronomy 6:6-7, 9 (NLT)

O~ In chapter 5, Moses brings the ten commandments to the Israelites, now he is urging the people to embrace their faith and make it a part of their daily lives.

A~ I love this scripture, I have a lump in my throat and tears forming in my eyes as I write this out.  Being a parent is hard, hard work and it is a marathon—not a hobby or passing interest.  I absolutely believe that it is crucial that our kids see us living out our faith—we need to be talking about it throughout our day.  When we see something beautiful in creation, give God glory.  When things are going well, praise the Lord and acknowledge His blessings.  When life is hard, use the opportunity to choose humility in turning to God, to have hope for the future.

We are quickly approaching a new season of life when our kids are no longer living with us and I’ve been reflecting on the past. This verse reminds me that we did in give our kids a strong foundation of faith for them to build on.  We certainly haven’t been perfect with all of our parenting, but the Holy Spirit has filled in our gaps and will help them complete the good work that was planted.  I am also reminded of 1 Corinthians 3:10-11.

“because of God’s grace to me, I have laid the foundation like an expert builder. Now, others are building on it. But whoever is building on this foundation must be very careful. For no one can lay any foundation other than the one we already have—Jesus Christ.”

P~ Dear Lord, please pursue our kids as they move away from us and into their own lives.  I pray they will have daily reminders of their faith and of You wherever they may go.  Woo their hearts to have a hunger for the things of God.  Thank you for giving me the gift of being their mom, I pray I will continue to have energy and wisdom to give guidance as they seek my opinions and self-discipline to keep my mouth shut when it clearly isn’t about me.

p.s.  Here is a picture of us this past weekend—thought I’d share a happy family moment. 🙂

Tyners

Genuine Love | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ While he was eating, a woman came in with a beautiful alabaster jar of expensive perfume made from the essence of nard.  She broke open the jar and poured the perfume over his head. Mark 14:3b (NLT)

O~ This woman did this without thought of what others might think or might say.  She poured out her love just as the perfume poured out of her jar.

A~ Sometimes I hold back to do something. I think too much about it, especially after being in a few relationships where I thought I was offering help and things turned really sour…

P~ Father, help me in this area, help me to love genuinely.  Refresh love in me for others.

Keep watch and pray | Nikki Metzger

S~ Keep watch and pray, so that you will not give in to temptation.  For the spirit is willing, but the body is weak.  ~ Jesus in Mark 14:38 (NLT)

O~ Jesus and His disciples are praying in the garden of Gethsemane on the night of Jesus’ betrayal.  The disciples keep falling asleep when they are supposed to be praying.

A~ Gaining control of my food choices has always been hard for me, actually impossible.  I really believe this is a spiritual matter instead of a weight loss matter.  These next couple of days are where I usually gain confidence in my healthy eating habits, say, ‘I got this eating thing down’ and then I eat something I’m addicted to and my healthy food pattern tumbles down the drain.

My spirit is willing, but my body is so weak in this area.  Jesus says to keep watch and pray, so I don’t give in to temptation.  Keep watch comes from the Hebrew word shamar (according to the internet site I looked at).  These are some other descriptions of shamar or to keep watch; to hedge about, guard, to protect, attend to, take heed (to self), look narrowly, observe, preserve, regard, reserve, save (self), wait (for), and watch (man).

So to keep watch, to not give in to temptation is an active thing; always looking and looking specifically.  Normally, I just go with the flow about food and whatever comes up through the day.  Going with the flow is not helpful in avoiding temptation.  In fact, going with the flow might get me into temptation.

P~ Father, help me to keep watch and pray so that I will not give into temptation.  My spirit is willing, but my body is weak!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 7, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

