March 6 Deuteronomy 3, 4; Psalm 36; Mark 13

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

No Tweaking | Kim Chipman

S~ Do not add to what I command you and do not subtract from it, but keep the commands of the Lord your God that I give you. Deuteronomy 4:2 (NIV)

O~ This is Moses speaking to the Israelites. They are on their way to the Promised Land. Moses can’t go. He is giving God’s instructions to them.

A~ I’m pretty sure god would tell me the same thing. Kim, do what I’m asking you. Don’t add to what I command or subtract from it. You do that often, we both know it. You tweak what I’m asking you to do, Kim. Please stop. Just obey. Keep the commands I give you.

P~ Lord help! Be my strength. My flesh is weak but my spirit is willing. In Your power I know I have all I need. I love You!

Look to You and Stand | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ For what great nation has a god as near to them as the Lord our God is near to us whenever we call on him?  Deuteronomy 4:7 (NLT)

But when you are arrested and stand trial, don’t worry in advance about what to say.  Just say what God tells you at the time, for it is not you who will be speaking, but the Holy Spirit. Mark 13:11 (NLT)

And everyone will hate you because you are my followers.  But the one who endures to the end will be saved.  Mark 13:13 (NLT)

O & A~ These verses remind me that 1) you are there and always will be 2) your ways are fair, but this world is not 3) I don’t need to worry about what to say because you will tell me 4) I will be hated for following you but I can endure because you are with me and will be with me to the end.

P~ Father, these verses scare me and at the same time they assure me.  When I face those really tough times please remind me to look to you and when I’ve done all, to stand.

Am I ready ? | Nikki Metzger

S~ When these things begin to happen, watch out! You will be handed over to the local councils and beaten in the synagogues.  You will stand trail before governors and kings because you are My followers.  But this will be your opportunity to tell them about Me. Mark 13:9 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is speaking to the disciples and talking about now.  Nations are fighting nations, earthquakes and famine are happening all over the world.

A~ My pastor asked us to pray: God, I surrender! and God, I’m willing!  But after praying those prayers the last couple of days, I’ve encountered tension in some of my relationships.  As I hit these moments of tension, I’m feeling like I have the choice of following what everyone else is doing or I can be the one person who doesn’t follow along.  This particular moment of tension was how I was going to spend one of my weekend nights, and when I chose to not follow, it was sure lonely that evening.

So here I am, feeling sorry for myself because I missed out on what everyone was doing, because I chose to follow a different path.  Jesus promises me that believers (me included), will be handed over to the government, beaten, and will stand trail in front of governors and presidents because we are His followers.  (You don’t see that promise hanging on my living room wall).  I can honestly say that my faith and resolve would probably not withstand an arrest, a beating, or a trial based on what happened when I chose one time to do the right thing.

P~ Father, thank You!  Prepare me for whatever advances Your Kingdom.  Fill me with wisdom and confidence to choose You, even when what the world offers looks better.  Father, I surrender!  Father, I’m willing!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 6, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

