March 5 Deuteronomy 1, 2; Mark 12

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Not Confused and Frustrated Anymore! | Michelle Myers

S~ Do not be afraid of any man, for judgement belongs to God. Deuteronomy 1:17 (NIV)

O/A~ For many years, one of the enemies’ most effective attacks against me, was to have me so caught up in what people thought, that I couldn’t focus on anything and was afraid to take any risks. Then, I got to where I would take risks, find out what certain people thought (which weren’t always good, supportive thoughts in regards to what I was doing), and get side tracked by shame, guilt, and over obsessing about their opinion of me.  I made huge strides in these areas over the last couple of years.  I have become way more obedient, without worrying about other people and their perceptions.

After making excuses as to why I couldn’t give my testimony later this month in front of a group of people at Rejuvenating Women, (we move the next day, I won’t have time to prepare and it will just be babble, etc.) I knew You were prompting me and telling me to pretty much, “Shut up with the excuses, and act like You have the power to do anything through me.”  I have to admit one of the main reasons I was so reluctant is that my first night there, someone gave their testimony.  She was a newer Believer.  Afterwords, someone pointed out, that she needs to be aware and prepared for attacks coming her way, since she has spoken her story out loud.  Then, the other day when they were trying to decide who to have speak, one girl was mentioned, and they didn’t think she was ready to handle the attacks.  I knew I was opening myself up, once I volunteered.  Really, what sane person would do that?

Jesus did.  Steven Did.  The disciples did.  Many people have, but I know I have been attacked before when I have tried to do things for You.  It stinks!  You also don’t go away, when I try and reason (excuse) it away.  So, I have committed to sharing my story and being obedient to You.

I have found myself the last few days, starting to obsess again about what people are thinking.  I mean really stupid stuff, about people who aren’t even in my life anymore.  Yet, through those few warnings from others about the attacks, You have prepared me..  I now know what they are.  I know who they are from.  I know why I am getting them.  I know what I must do.  Without that warning and preparation from You, I would be confused, frustrated, and struggling.

P~ Thank you God from showing me, preparing me, and protecting me.  Please help me stay focused on the work You have given me to do.  Please help me stay connected to You, so that I can speak the words You want me to speak and use my story to glorify You.

Don’t be shocked | Nikki Metzger

S~ But I said to you, ‘Don’t be shocked or afraid of them! The Lord your God is going ahead of you.  He will fight for you, just as you saw Him do in Egypt.  And you saw how the Lord your God cared for you all along the way as you traveled through the wilderness, just as a father cares for his child.  Now He has brought you to this place.’ Deuteronomy 1:29-31 (NLT)

O~ Moses Is addressing the people, recapping the last 40 years of travel.

A~ I was shocked last week in regards to a friendship.  A friend, who loves the Lord, was behaving like a middle schooler.  Details don’t matter, but I was shocked.  Because of the behavior; I felt alone, isolated, and believed I was the only one battling for Jesus in our dark world.

Moses’ words are like a balm to my soul.  Don’t be shocked, Nikki, by the things you see or hear of, don’t be afraid either.  Even when the things or words or actions come from My people.  God is fighting for me, He is going ahead of me.  So when I felt all alone last week – that wasn’t the truth.  God had already gone ahead of me and was fighting for me.  And He cares for me as I’m walking through life, just like a dad who cares for his baby.

P~ Father, thank You for Your comfort!  I felt so alone in those moments, but I wasn’t really alone.  Thank You for fighting for me!

The Israelites and me | Kelley Deases

S~ The Lord your God has blessed you in all the work of your hands.  He has watched over your journey through this vast desert.  These forty years the Lord your God has been with you, and you have not lacked anything. Deuteronomy 2:7 (NIV)

O~ Moses is speaking to the Israelites, recapping the previous four decades and reminding them of the Lord’s blessing upon and provision for them, His Chosen People.

A~ These lines could just as well describe my life (all forty-something years of it!). God has guided me and blessed those things I have feebly striven for.  He gave me favor in my previous occupation and then gave me greater favor in allowing me to be home for my family, giving me an excellent provider in my husband.  God has multiplied blessing in my marriage, more even than I have sowed into it.  He has blessed our finances, somehow helping make ends meet on one salary rather than two for the past several years.  I have the assurance that He is with me and my family and He has seen to it that we have not lacked anything.

P~ Father, It is good to look back and see how Your hand has provided for me all my years.  I am truly grateful for this life and Your Presence in it.

Put In Everything | Kim Chipman

S~ Calling his disciples to him, Jesus said, “Truly I tell you, this poor widow has put more into the treasury than all the others. They all gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything—all she had to live on.” Mark 12:43-44 (NIV)

O~ A poor widow dropped 2 small copper coins into the temple treasury. It was all she had.

A~ Do I give out of my wealth or all I’ve got? I’m not thinking only money, but my time and talent as well. Am I giving my all or my convenient?

I know I don’t always give my all. I often give my convenient. UGH. I hate seeing that.

How can I give You my everything – my life? What do you want me to do…to sacrifice…to give? Show me, I want to know!

P~ Psalm 139:23-24 Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 5, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

