March 3 Numbers 32, 33; Mark 10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Wholeheartedly | Michelle Myers

S~ Because they have not followed me wholeheartedly, not one of the men twenty years old or more who came up out of Egypt will see the land I promised on oath to Abraham, Isaac and Jacob—not one except Caleb son of Jephunneh the Kenizzite and Joshua son of Nun, for they followed the LORD wholeheartedly. Numbers 32:11-12 (NIV)

O~ The condition of my heart is way more important to You than anything else.

A~ I can easily be a task master.  I can easily think that my doing is going to get me somewhere in heaven.  My husband, who is the boss where he works, once told me that I would be every bosses dream.  I do what I am told.  They wouldn’t have to worry about me getting my job done.

It took me awhile to learn that my attitude while getting something done, is way more important than the task.  I don’t always like what I have to do, but I have to do it with a good attitude.  I have to trust that if it is something that You have given me to do, I will be able to do it.  It isn’t going to be as easy as I would like.  There will be hiccups.  The hiccups help grow in my faith and reliance on You.  I may not always like the people I have to do the task with, but my attitude toward them and how I treat them is way more important to You.  Especially, when they aren’t being that easy to like, love, or work with.  I have to trust that You see me.  You see my words, attitude, and actions; and that regardless of what their heart is like, You will have my back.

P~ Thank you God for giving me the strength, courage, grace, and growth to do what You have given me to do.  There is no way, I could do anything without You.  When I try, that is when I fail, and when my attitude and treatment of difficult people isn’t glorifying to You.  Please just keep me moving along in Your direction, and help me see where my heart is off track.

Destroy and Drive Out | Kim Chipman

S~ drive out all the inhabitants of the land before you. Destroy all their carved images and their cast idols, and demolish all their high places…But if you do not drive out the inhabitants of the land, those you allow to remain will become barbs in your eyes and thorns in your sides. They will give you trouble in the land where you will live. Numbers 33:52, 55 (NIV)

O~ To me this speaks to God’s character. He hates sin. Hates. He is a jealous God – He wants my whole heart, not divided. The Israelites were to destroy ALL idols. Everything. Destroy it. The reason? They will give you trouble if you don’t, and God wants what is best for us. For me. He loves us!

A~ So, what are idols in my life – things that tempt me and vie for my affections, my attention – that should be completely destroyed? Why allow tempting things to remain? I see how the Israelites may not have thought that complete destruction of the idols and the poles and the high places was a big deal. Remembering that You love me and want what is best for me should be all the understanding I need…but I’m SUCH an Israelite.

Alcohol is one of these things for me. It’s not a big deal, it’s not like I get drunk, I enjoy some wine on the weekends. I can justify it easily, not a big deal, I’ve got this. But You have told my heart no, so why do I go there? Why don’t I trust Your best for me? Why do I think I know better? Seriously? Those are the deceptive, manipulative whispers of the EVIL ONE.

And I buy it. Hook line and sinker. One justified compromise at a time.

Today, I’m destroying that idol and tearing down the high place one more time. (I swear some little minions rebuild when I’m not looking!) I have choices. You live in me and You are greater! Feed the flesh or feed the Spirit? As I sit here right now it feels so very clear. What I put in my body can be nourishment. When I feed my pleasure, my desires, that’s feeding the flesh and that does NOT end well! I know this full well.

P~ Lord, I forget, drift and disobey. I know You hate sin and I’m destroying the idol and tearing down the high place AGAIN. I’m choosing You. I know obedience matters. I know it is important because You love me and want what is best for me! I’m reminded of Genesis and the hissing serpent…”did God really say?…” YES! Yes You did really say. And I’m choosing You! Please help me! I love You!

Splinters and Thorns | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But if you fail to drive out the people who live in the land, those who remain will be like splinters in your eyes and thorns in your sides.  They will harass you in the land where you live. Numbers 33:55 (NLT)

O~ The people were given instruction in verse 52 to drive out all the people living in the land as they enter the promised land God gave to them.

A~ As I’m learning about boundaries, what’s mine, what belongs to others, where I begin and they end, I feel this verse sheds light into that…this land (me) God has given to me.  I’m responsible for it, my reactions, what I allow to come in, what I am doing with it (my time, my thoughts, my actions). The sin that I allow to stay in the land will be like thorns and splinters in my life.  So I don’t want to continue in sin, I want to drive it out with God’s help.

P~ Dear Jesus, sin entangles and keeps me from your best.  Help me to drive it out and live in and by your truth.

Following Jesus’ Example | Tara Wiley

S~ Then he took the children in his arms and placed his hands on their heads and blessed them. Mark 10:16 (NLT)

O~ Jesus took time to bless children with time, touch, and words.

A~ Mo and I have been talking recently about our kids’ love languages. It is so obvious that our daughter holds on to words like treasures. When we gave her a Valentine’s Day card, Mo wrote a one line note, referring to her as his sweetheart. You would have thought it was an elaborate poem for the worth she placed on that one statement. She has brought it up in conversation multiple times – “I’m Daddy’s sweetheart.” “Daddy, remember you called me sweetheart on my Valentine’s Day card?” It’s not like he doesn’t affirm her at other times! But these words that she could go back and re-read meant so much to her.

If Jesus took time to affirm and bless children, so should we. As parents, we are our kids’ first model of God’s love. So Mo and I have determined to make a greater effort to fill this particular need of our daughter’s by buying a notebook in which we can leave her little notes throughout the week. I’m going to place a hook outside of her door to keep the notebook on so we see it often as a reminder, and so she can refer to it often (and not lose it! Oh, this scatter brained daughter of mine. Don’t know where she gets it from 😉

P~ Lord, thank You for valuing children, and for modeling for us the importance of touch, time, and words of blessing. Help us set this new habit into place so our children feel our love – and can greater understand Your love for them. Thank You for Your love letter to us, Your Word, that we can constantly go back and refer to. Thank You for Your words of blessing. Thank You for equipping us for each mission You place in front of us, including parenting our kids.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 3, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. How blessed I am to have this blog on my journey. I take in deeply the words shared for more times than I can count one of you has stolen them from my own heart as I have cried out to our Jesus for my own forgiveness, praise or understanding. We are so different yet so alike but above all we are so loved by our Father. Thank you, Father God, for the tool of this blog and your servants who share what you open their spirits to receive. I love hearing the sounds of their footsteps beside mine, beside Yours each day!

Leave a Reply

