March 2 Numbers 30, 31; Mark 9

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Beware the Rash Promise | Kelley Deases

S~ But if her husband forbids her when he hears about it, he nullifies the vow that obligates her or the rash promise by which she obligates herself, and the Lord will release her. Numbers 30:8 (NIV)

O~ My study Bible provides some context in saying that the Israelites at this time were attempting to show their devotion to God by making vows (a promise to do something) and pledges (a promise to abstain from doing something) above and beyond what God actually required. God here sets forth standards for honoring your word and keeping your promises. But He also allows some grace where ill-advised or rash promises may have been uttered.

A~ I recently learned about an opening at a non-profit organization that I originally thought might be a good fit for me in terms of a part-time job. I quickly set up a meeting with the person I knew who just vacated that position to both learn more about it and ask for a good recommendation should I pursue the opportunity. Before that meeting even took place, I sat down with my husband and held up the pros and cons against our family situation and soon determined this was, in fact, not the right fit at the right time.

P~ Father, Thank You for my godly husband who regularly offers me godly counsel. And for this word today which takes into account how we (how I!) can be hasty and rash sometimes when I need to be slow and prayerful.

Transfiguration | Michelle Myers

S~ After six days Jesus took Peter, James, and John with him and led them up a high mountain, where they were all alone.  There he was transfigured before them. Mark 9:2 (NIV)

O~ According to Merriam Webster on-line dictionary, the word transfigure means, “to give a new and typically exalted or spiritual appearance to; transform outwardly and usually for the better”.  Another definition I ran into on-line said, “transform into something more beautiful or elevated”.

A~ I know that You have transfigured for me.  I really didn’t know You for many years.  For many years, I didn’t trust You, Your word, etc.  It was going through some really hard junk, and experiencing Your faithfulness and seeing You work it out for good, that helped really grow my faith. Before, I would read scripture and either try and “do it all right” and fail; or I would be doing it “right” and things still didn’t appear, in the worldly sense, to be working out that well.  It was very confusing.

I can still get confused, if I allow myself to go down the road of trying to figure it all out, listen to what the world is saying, or foolishly think I have the answer.  The transformation of You goes way beyond anything I can just experience from completing a Bible study plan or attending church. It occurs when I humble myself to accept the work You are doing in me and in my life.  Even though it didn’t go as planned, it worked out for good and grew my faith.

I am currently watching my husband go through this process.  As he talks about the Yuk, feels worn down by the constant battles of managing time, finances, and daily tasks, while still having more and more to manage, all I could say was, “Yep, I get it.  Been there, done that.  That is how God humbles You and grows Your faith in Him.”  Saying it or reading about it, is one thing.  But it is through actually having to live it, where You start to transfigure into something more “beautiful and elevated” in the lives of Believers.

P~ As much as I disliked it when I was going through it, I appreciate You giving me the opportunity to see Your transfiguration.  It is has brought me so much closer to You, and has allowed me to feel like I have more than just words or “text book” knowledge when I speak about You and how great You are.  I want to support my husband during this time, but not interfere with Your work; so please guide me.

Doubt | Joni Tyner

S~ The father instantly cried out, “I do believe, but help me overcome my unbelief!” Mark 9:24 (NLT)

O~ Jesus has just been approached by the father of a boy would has been demon possessed.  It sounds like he has a neurological disorder that involved seizures and possibly autism. He asked the disciples (before Jesus got there) to try to heal him, but they were unable to.   In verse 22 the father says, “Have mercy on us and help us, if you can.”  Jesus responds, “what do you mean, “if I can?”.  “Anything is possible if a person believes.”

A~ I can totally relate to this dad.  I would have probably done the same thing.  I would have first tried to get the disciples to help me so I wouldn’t have to “bother” Jesus.  I tend to have a “plan B” if things don’t work out.  I could see myself saying, “Have mercy and help us, if you can.”  I think , for me,  this statement would have came more from my insecurity than from actually doubting Jesus’s power.  Then, I would have said the exact same thing, “I do believe, but help me overcome my disbelief.”

How does God answer that prayer?  My study Bible reminds us that growing in faith is a constant, daily process that we will never completely achieve.  Whew…  More of my insecurity.  I thought it was just me that struggled with doubt—turns out lots of people probably would say a similar response to Jesus.

“I do believe, but help me overcome my unbelief.”

P~ Dear Lord,  thank you for pursuing my heart.  I see you want me to be closer to You and to continue to grow in this faith journey.  Please fill me with a hunger to consistently read Your Word so that my faith grows.  I want to have faith triumph over doubt  every.single.time.   Thank you for your provision when I was such a doubter.  Please help me overcome the insecurities I have and let me be a bold, grace-giving witness for You.  I love You Jesus!!

PRAY! | Kim Chipman

S~ He replied, “This kind can come out only by prayer.” Mark 9:29 (NLT)

O~ A man brought his son to Jesus to be healed. He had a spirit possessing him. The disciples tried to drive out the spirit, but could not. Jesus did and when the disciples asked why they couldn’t this was Jesus’ reply.

My study Bible says: “this kind. Seems to suggest that there are different kinds of demons. only by prayer. The disciples apparently had taken for granted the power given to them or had come to believe that it was inherent in them. Lack of prayer indicated they had forgotten that their power over the demonic spirits came from trusting in Jesus and His power.”

A~ You have been showing/reminding me lately about the importance, significance, and power of prayer. At church we are in a sermon series about it, and it just seems to come up everywhere I turn.

About a week ago a friend shared how Jesus modeled radical engagement and radical withdrawal in His life. He served, preached, healed, taught, performed miracles and walked among the MASSES during His ministry. Radical engagement. Jesus also went away all alone to a solitary place on a regular basis. Radical withdrawal.

You reminded me a few days later that He went off to a solitary place to PRAY. (Mark 1:35)

I pray, but I don’t take it as seriously as You are reminding me I should.

There are difficult things – struggles – in my life that I face over and over again. I’m thinking these would fall into “this kind”. I need to intently, fervently PRAY and stop trying to fix or discipline my way to a resolution.

This kind can come out only by prayer.

P~ Lord, I believe but help my unbelief! Your power is my strength. Help me to grow in my prayer life. Give me the desire and passion (and the straight up discipline when I’m not feelin’ it!). I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 2, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

