March 1 Numbers 28, 29; Mark 8

**Announcement!** Jill Terry has been contributing here for about a year, and she will be taking a break from writing for a season. We love you so much, Jill!**

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Yeast of The Pharisees | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ When he heard this, he sighed deeply in his spirit and said, “Why do these people keep demanding a miraculous sign? I tell you the truth, I will not give this generation any such sign.”

As they were crossing the lake, Jesus warned them, “Watch out! Beware of the yeast of the Pharisees and of Herod. Mark 8:12, 15 (NLT)

O~  The Pharisees demanded that Jesus show them a miraculous sign to prove his authority (verse 11). This caused Jesus to sigh deeply. Jesus had performed many signs and miracles already but they wanted this on their terms.  When they wanted it.  He was already doing these things right in their midst but they refused to see it. In verse 15, Jesus warns us not to be like that: “beware of the yeast of the Pharisees and Herod” I think that’s where I would demand God to prove himself instead of acknowledging he is there and he is Lord. The study notes for Mark 8:15 : “Matthew says that the yeast of the Pharisees refers to their false teaching (Matthew 16:12). It could also refer to their unbelief and hardness of heart. The reference to Herod could refer to his unwillingness to accept what he knew to be truth.”

A&P~  Dear Jesus please break through any hard heartedness in me that refuses to see.  I’m sorry for the times I broke your heart and caused you to sigh deeply because of my unbelief.

Hello? | Kim Chipman

S~ Aware of their discussion, Jesus asked them: “Why are you talking about having no bread? Do you still not see or understand? Are your hearts hardened? Do you have eyes but fail to see, and ears but fail to hear? And don’t you remember? Mark 8:17-18 (NIV)

O~ This is Jesus speaking to the disciples. They had already seen Jesus feed thousand with just a few loaves of bread – TWICE. Jesus was warning them about the yeast of the Pharisees and Herod, but the disciples were focused on the bread. They were completely missing the point Jesus was making.

A~ I’m pretty sure I’m a slow learner just like the disciples. I have no doubt that You have this same response to me – what are you talking about? don’t you get it? don’t you remember?

I forget. I have the wrong focus. I miss the point. My vision is limited and my faith is growing but my trust is still incomplete. I know.

Today I will pause, slow down, remember. You have shown Yourself to me in powerful ways. You warn me and guide me – just like the disciples – but often I’m focused on the wrong stuff and I miss it.

P~ Lord, help me! John 16:13 says Your Spirit will guide me into all truth. Help me to hear the guidance! I love You!

A Two Step Healing | Joni Tyner

S~ Then Jesus placed his hands on the man’s eyes again, and his eyes were opened. His sight was completely restored, and he could see everything clearly. Mark 8:25 (NLT)

O~ There is a blind man in the town of Bethsaida and his friends bring him to Jesus to be healed.  Jesus spits on his eyes (8:23) and asks him if he can see.  He responds that he can, but not very clearly.  Then, in verse 25, Jesus touches the man’s eyes and this time his sight was completely restored.  (My Bible references that this is the same blind man in John 9:6 that the disciples asked why he was born blind and was it because of his own sin or the sin of his parents?)

A~ We’ve been reading about many of Jesus’s miracles in Mark.  I’m struck by the different circumstances that accompany each miracle.   In this miracle, Jesus actually healed the man in two steps instead of instantly.  Sometimes the people seek Him out—other times he simply notices a need and responds.

My thoughts/ application for this scripture is that I can’t put Jesus in a box and think this is how He answers prayer.  Just like He knows every single hair on my head, He knows all the details of my life, He will respond in a way that is best for me–and that may not  be the way I think it is.  I just need to have faith to trust Him when circumstances don’t always make sense.

P~ Dear Lord,  I’m sorry there have been SO MANY times I’ve basically told you how to take care of the messes in my life. That shows a terrible lack of trust on my part!! :O   I’m trying to live out what I say—trust You for all the details and the answers.  I know You work differently in everyone’s life and this is not a cookie-cutter faith—it personal and intimate and specifically designed for what it best for me.  Please help me live out the “trust You” part each day.

Being Comfortable With the Uncomfortable | Michelle Myers

S~ But when Jesus turned and looked at his disciples, he rebuked Peter, ‘Get behind me, Satan!’ he said.’  ‘You do not have in mind the things of God, but the things of men.’ Mark 8:33 (NIV)

O~ Jesus has just told the disciples that he must suffer.  He tells them that he will be rejected by high ranking people.  He predicts his death and resurrection.  Peter takes his aside and rebukes him.  Jesus responds to Peter, by addressing Satan directly.

A~ This scripture has confused me, since the first time I read it.  Isn’t what Peter said to Jesus,a common reaction to people and situations when they seem to be going down a road of negativity? Wasn’t Peter just trying to support and encourage Jesus?  Why was Jesus being so harsh and seemingly equating Peter’s support with the manipulation of Satan?

While at the gym, the day you told me to go, so I didn’t go down the road of negativity with my daughter, I got it.  I was feeling bad.  I was firm with her.  I was truthful with her.  I was frustrated.

She will be fifteen soon and wants a job.  She doesn’t like to be told what to do.  She can have a very crappy response when she is not in a good mood.  That is not going to get her very far in a job. She likes her fun and her down time (like everyone else).  Most first jobs aren’t that fun.  Actually, from time to time ALL jobs probably lose some of their excitement.  The fun will be what she makes of it.  She is trying to add something to her schedule.  This means she is going to have to sacrifice some of her down time.  These truths upset her.

At the gym, I was thinking, that maybe I should apologize for upsetting her and getting frustrated. You spoke to me very clearly, and asked, “Why should you apologize?  Did you get angry?  Did you sin in your anger?  Was anything you said, out of malice or were you merely speaking truth to her?” I hadn’t sinned.  I just don’t like seeing her upset.  I have protected, coddled, and given way too much.  I know that, and that is why we have some of the problems that we do in regards to both of our girls.

These are spiritual issues for both her and I.  God doesn’t promise warm and fuzzy, easy, and painless.  That is what our culture and world promises and strives for.  Yet, there is no growth, victory, or glorifying You in that .  What Jesus was saying wasn’t warm, fuzzy, easy, or painless; and that made Peter uncomfortable.  The enemy would like nothing more than for Jesus to abandon the hard and the yuk, so Your plan would be disrupted.  As a parent, I need to remember not to be a Peter in my kids’ lives and disrupt Your plan.

P~ Thank you God for Your wisdom.  I need Your help with being comfortable, when people (especially my girls), are uncomfortable.  Please help us all grow spiritually stronger and see the big picture of Satan’s schemes.

Cross carrying | Nikki Metzger

S~ If any of you wants to be My follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow Me.  If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it.  But if you give up your life for My sake and for the sake of the Good News, you will save it. Jesus in Mark 8:34, 35 (NLT)

O~ When I read these words of Jesus, I don’t see Him quantify the things I need to give up for Him.  My heart wants to start listing all the selfish things I’ve given up for Him.  Why?  Because the area of my life that He is asking me to give up for His sake is just too much for me to do.

A~ It’s my personal food choices.  How can me giving my food choices to Jesus further the Kingdom?  I don’t know.  But His words are pretty clear:  hang on to my life —> lose it.  Give up my life —> save it.

Maybe because mornings are great, the day is fresh with so many truths and promises.  Around lunch, lots has happened and His truth and promises are farther away (just in my thoughts and heart).  And dinner time, puh-lease!  I just want to eat away every stress and emotion I went through that day.  Or celebrate the day with food.  And Jesus is allowed no room in my head and heart about food then. Food, in and of itself, is not sinful.  It’s what my heart does with the food that makes it sinful. (Mark 7:18-23).  Jesus is still the King at dinner, but I’ve forgotten that.

P~ Father, I am so sorry for all the times You have taught me this in the morning, but by lunch, I put Your words out of my head and dropped my cross and did my own thing!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on March 1, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

