February 29th – Leap Year! Reader’s choice

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Various Rods | Michelle Myers

S~ The rod of correction imparts wisdom, but a child left to himself disgraces his mother.  Proverbs 29:15 (NIV)

O~ We all need discipline, but what makes discipline effective is when it is paired with consequences.  “A servant cannot be corrected by mere words; though he understands, he will not respond.”  Proverbs 29:19

A~ You have shown me that the “rod of correction” can be different things.  Sometimes, I want to use “rods” that You have shown me I should not use to correct my children, such as denying them a mission trip or time with friends.  Other times, You tell me what “rod” I should be using, such as their cell phones, some extra chores, loss of some extra activities, etc.

You do this to correct and consequent me.  Instead of losing my temper, going down a certain road that will only escalate into an endless abyss of negativity, You tell me what to do in the moment to discipline myself and bring about positive consequences.  The other day, when I was frustrated with my daughter for arguing, her sense of entitlement, and her selfishness, I wanted to lash out at her, lecture her until it sinks in, etc.  Instead, You told me to go to the gym and release some of that frustration.  I did, and it helped.

The next morning, You showed me how to use YOUR WORD as the rod of correction.  We sat and talked about some issues that were going on within her, some negative thoughts that she was struggling with, etc.  We used scripture to counter those lies with the truth.  You have shown me, that regardless of what I think, see, or feel; I have to stick with this bringing them back to YOU.  It can’t be forceful, with a punitive feeling.  I can’t change their habits, views, etc.  You have to do it. All I can do, is guide them toward You, model for them, and fess up (be humble) when I screw it up. Which, I do a lot.    Even if I think it isn’t making a difference.  I have to keep planting, and have faith that the harvest will come.

P~ Thank you God for my girls.  I love them so much.  Even though, I sometimes joke to my husband, when it is really rough and say,”I should have stuck with cats!”  I want them to know YOU.  I want them know who they are in YOU.  I need Your help and guidance in showing me, my moment to moment, day by day role in helping that happen.  Help me  endure the marathon of parenthood, when I am so frustrated because I have ran the same course again and again.

Trust in the Lord | Kim Chipman

I love reading Proverb of the day (31 days, 31 chapters!)  So much practical wisdom in the Proverbs!

S~ Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is kept safe. Proverbs 29:25 (NIV)

O~ Psalm 56:11 in God I trust and am not afraid. What can man do to me?

Galatians 1:10 Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.

A~ I know this is right and truth and best for me, but sometimes it is just really hard! I need the reminder to refocus.

What this looks like for me is following You and Your ways regardless of how the people around me respond (or not). Often I feel discouraged or misguided when I do what I know You ask me to do and I don’t get the results I hope for or expect. Then I question what You asked me to do.

As I read through the Bible there are SO many examples of complete obedience with confusing, negative, difficult outcomes. A snare is a trap. If I base my attitudes, thoughts and actions on the responses of people I will walk right into a trap. If I trust in You I will be kept safe. This world may not make much sense, but I will be kept safe. YOU need to be my Audience of One.

P~ I love You! Help me to choose trust today!

Just Me and You | Luisa Penaherrera

There was no specific reading for today, leap year, but I woke up thinking about how I compare myself so much with others and I looked up “what the bible say about comparing myself.”

S~ But let each one examine his own work, and then he will have rejoicing in himself alone and not in another.  Galatians 6:4 (NLT)

O~ I can look at my own work and ask God how I am doing instead of comparing myself to someone else.

A~ This is a HUGE problem area for me.  But this morning I woke up early than usual thinking about how I feel next to someone in my life that I admire so much.  This person has such admirable qualities and accomplishments I find myself feeling really bad about myself and I didn’t fully understand why it is that I don’t like myself too much when around this person and I realize that it’s because I’m comparing myself and putting their accomplishments against mine (not so many in my eyes). I would get confused because if I just put out what this person has accomplished next to what I feel I have accomplished, well, my side simply doesn’t measure up-but when I look to God, he reminds me that our lives are totally different-and he brings me back to me, to look at myself only and ask myself if I did the best I knew to do with what I faced. There’s a huge weight I feel comes off when I do that.  Now I can really focus on what’s important-what is in my sphere of life, my part to invest in for Christ.

P~ Father, thank you for your truth that speaks life into me. Thank you for loving me.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 29, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

