February 28 Numbers 24-27; 1 Corinthians 13

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

God’s Reward | Michelle Myers

S~ Now leave at once and go home!  I said I would reward you handsomely, but the LORD has kept you from being rewarded.  Numbers 24:11 (NIV)

O~ Balak wanted Balaam to curse the people of Israel.  God told Balaam to say only what He tells him to say.  Balamm ends up blessing the people of Israel multiple times.  This makes Balak angry.

Balaam’s response to him is, “Even if Balak gave me his palace filled with silver and gold, I could not do anything of my own accord, good or bad, to go beyond the command of the LORD–and I must say only what the LORD says.”  Numbers 24:13

A~ I have had many Balak’s in my life.  People who wanted me to do what they wanted me to do, regardless of what You were telling me to do.  When I followed You, and not them, they weren’t understanding, supportive, or even kind in some cases.  The common denominator in all these people, is that they wanted me to do what they wanted, because in some way, shape, or form; they benefited from it.  The impact on me, my marriage, or my family; did not matter to them.

We live in a world, full of worldly people; and like Balak, they promise many worldly rewards. What he failed to see is that YOU didn’t keep Balaam from being rewarded.  The rewards You give are often not the worldly kind, such as silver and gold.  They are far more valuable.

I thought that staying at home would mean that I wouldn’t be so busy.  I thought my house would be spotless.  I thought there wouldn’t be this mad, disorganized rush to get out the door on time. Wrong!  My schedule can still get pretty busy, my home still can get pretty cluttered, and on any given day, any one of us can be moving pretty slow in the morning.

Yet, the busyness consists of helping people, doing more for You, and spending more time with You.  It is spending more time with my kids.  It is attending a dance competition my youngest daughter was in for her PE class.  It is taking her to my gym on her 13th Birthday to work out with me, now that she is of “legal age” to be my gym guest, and watching a movie together on Netflix.  When working and busy, I would shell out lots of money to find some sort of exciting entertainment for her and her friends.  It is making her what she wanted for dinner, instead of me taking her out to eat somewhere, and spending a weeks worth of groceries on one meal.  It is helping my husband, when he is sick and running late to a meeting, by taking our oldest daughter to school for him.  The mess can still get out of control sometimes, and therefore, require me to live outside of my comfort zone for a period.  Yet, because I have flexibility in my schedule, it doesn’t linger until the next long break I have.

You didn’t keep Balaam from being rewarded.  You will reward him for his obedience, just like you have with me.  What I have gotten, and what I get to do, is way more valuable than silver and gold.

P~ Thank you God for giving me eyes to see clearly and ears that hear You.  You gave this to Balaam, through the mouth of a donkey.  Please keep doing what needs to be done, to get through to me, so I can continue to see and hear.

Clarity | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Why should the name of our father disappear just because he had no sons?  Give us property along with the rest of our relatives.  Numbers 27:4 (NLT)

O~ I admire these women’s boldness.  They spoke up when they saw a problem and they were clear with their request.

A~ Sometimes it feels like something’s not right but I don’t always know why I feel like I do or what the problem is. I need to process with God and ask him for help.

P~ Dear Father, I notice I get all wrapped up and lost in my emotions when I sense there’s a problem.  Help me to be clear minded and ask for guidance in what to do about it instead. Thank you.

LOVE | Kim Chipman

S~ If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 1 Corinthians 13:1 (NIV)

O~ The love chapter. Such a great reminder of what my life should be aimed at. Without love I am nothing.

A~ With a house full of teens/tweens I’m finding this season of parenting challenging in new ways. I love my kids so much, and I want what is best for them. The thing is that their brains aren’t done yet and their hormones are making them annoyed and irritable. They are kind of selfish and egocentric. I find myself falling into a place of lecturing and correcting and frustration!

Without love – resounding gong, clanging cymbal. I know You want me to teach and train and lead and guide IN LOVE.

P~ Help! I need You! This parenting thing is not easy. I need YOUR fruit of love and patience and kindness and gentleness. Especially when emotions and egos run high around here! Help me to live and love like Jesus would. I want to do this well, for Your glory. I love You!

Most looked at Scripture | Nikki Metzger

S~ Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged.  It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance. ~ 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 (NLT)

O~ Love is the greatest and will last forever!  So in the grand scheme of things, this matters!  And it probably matters the most!

A~ This is my most read scripture in my bible.  It’s probably because I need reminders of it.  I know the definition of love, but living this out is such a struggle for me!  I always need to go back to this verse because I have to check my heart.

P~ Lord, let me love like You have designed love!

What is Love? | Robin Laney

S~ Love endures with patience and serenity, love is kind and thoughtful, and is not jealous or envious; love does not brag and is not proud or arrogant. It is not rude; it is not self-seeking, it is not provoked [nor overly sensitive and easily angered]; it does not take into account a wrong endured. It does not rejoice at injustice, but rejoices with the truth [when right and truth prevail]. Love bears all things [regardless of what comes], believes all things [looking for the best in each one], hopes all things [remaining steadfast during difficult times], endures all things [without weakening]. 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 (AMP)

O~ Jesus said they will know us by our love. Our fruit, that which other people see, feel, and taste from us, is an indication of the condition of our hearts. I can say I love Jesus and seek to follow Him but if my words and actions and attitudes don’t match God’s definition of love then others have cause to question whether or not I am who I claim to be. It is only through the power of Christ in me that I can show love.

A~ My heart is heavy for our country. This election cycle feels like a huge wave pushing us all along, too powerful to fight against. Everyone has ideas about what our country needs; fiscal responsibility, firm borders, strong defense, better trade policies, more welfare, less welfare. It’s really very overwhelming trying to sort it all out and find a candidate who would best serve in the office of President. For me, I can hear a candidate promise all kinds of things but if there is no substance behind the promises, I can’t believe that they will be followed through on. If someone professes strongly to follow Christ but their fruit is mushy or rotten, it gives me pause. These verses really screamed to me today to hold my choice of presidential candidate up against these standards. I truly believe that our country needs a leader whose character is strong above all else. If the character is strong and the foundation is firm, all else will stand up.

P~ Father, we need You to intervene. Our country is at a crossroads and our choices for good leadership are limited. You know what we need and You are sovereign. Will You guide our hearts as we vote? Will You press upon us, as a people, the urgency to get this right? Will You shine light on what is hidden? Will You give us Wisdom as we choose the future of our country? Thank You Father that You are above all and that we have Hope even when things appear hopeless.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 28, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

