February 26 Numbers 19-20; Psalm 28; Mark 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

My Strength, My Shield | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Praise the Lord!
For he has heard my cry for mercy.
The Lord is my strength, my shield from every danger. I trust in him with all my heart.
He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy. I burst out in songs of thanksgiving.
Psalms 28:6,7 (NLT)

O~ This verse began with praising the Lord and ended with songs of thanksgiving.

A~ I was sitting here thinking about how I have faced some things that I thought were danger; my children have, my grand baby did and the thought crossed my mind that I have not been shielded since we faced these dangers. I expressed that to God, that even though this verse says you shield me from danger, I feel like I still faced danger. God showed me that when I became aware of it and turned to him with it, he became for me a shield, that even though I was affected by some of it, I didn’t feel the full extent of remaining in it as I would without him. Thank you, Lord!

P~ I praise you, Lord, for hearing my cry for mercy. Thank you for you ARE my strength and my shield from every danger. I trust you with all my heart. I love you, too.

Obedience Brings Peace | Michelle Myers

S~ The LORD gives strength to his people; the LORD blesses his people with peace. Psalm 29:11 (NIV)

O/A~ There is a lot that I don’t understand about You, and some of the things You tell me to do.  However, You do bless me with peace, if I am obedient, regardless of how a situation turns out.

I had an opportunity to take a free self defense class through an organization I volunteer for.  The instructor’s resume for experience in this area was over the top.  He was very passionate and intense, as his career had placed him in many situations where he had to defend his life.  Upon watching some video of him, I really didn’t want to do this thing.  I was scared of how sore I would be afterwards, hurting my back, unable to function at my full capacity, etc.  I just joined a gym, whose motto is “We’re not a gym.” for a reason.  How will my possible injuries interfere with me going to the gym, that is not a gym, and interfere with the moderate exercise plan I was trying to get accustomed to?  I didn’t know, but I decided to trust You.  I thought maybe I am not in as bad of shape as I think I am.  Maybe I am just a wimp and my back problems and pain are over exaggerated in my head.  Surely, You wouldn’t have me doing this thing if all my fears were going to come true?…Right?

Wrong!  I was in as bad as shape as I thought.  I was beyond sore.  I did hurt my back, and ended up in the chiropractor’s office the next day and getting an emergency massage from a great friend, with gifted hands.  All of this did interfere with my daily functioning as well as my new moderate exercise plan.  Even one of the people in one of my church groups pointed out, “It didn’t turn out to be a “free” class for me.”

For two days, I was confused and frustrated.  Maybe I heard You wrong?  Maybe I am a glutton for punishment.  And each time You brought me back to truth.  You did tell me to do this crazy thing.  I learned quite a bit from it, in regards to protecting myself.  I know that You have put me through things that I never thought I would need,didn’t understand, or thought were a bust.  Yet, they eventually ended up being very helpful experiences in the future.  Yet, most of all, You told me to have peace, because regardless of what I or anyone else believes or understands, I was obedient.  As many things, the outcome didn’t go as I wanted and was way more uncomfortable than I would have liked, but You gave me the strength to get through it.

P~ Thank you God for giving me this opportunity.  Thank you God for the wonderful people You have put in my life to help put me back together again.  I remember!  I remember the same confusion and frustration when I was obedient in quitting my job, only to have to leave my husband.  In the end and in Your timing, it worked out for good.  Please continue to heal me, because I am ready to get back to my non-gym again.  And, please continue to help me with the will and strength to get into better shape.

Depression | Nikki Metzger

S~ Day and night he wandered among the burial caves and in the hills, howling and cutting himself with sharp stones.  Mark 5:5 (NLT)

My observation and application are melded together, I’m sorry if that throws anyone off!

O/A~ How many of you have been here?  In the deep throws of depression like this man described in Mark 5:5?  Wandering around in your life, maybe going through the motions, but really not accomplishing anything?  Or just crying or not having the ability to control your emotions?  Or just not having any emotions at all?  Or maybe the emotional pain so immense that you only get relief when you physically cut your body?  Or maybe you are isolated or are isolating yourself?

Depression is real, depression hurts, depression can make you feel like you are in the pit of hell with no hope.  It’s dark in that pit, but Jesus sees you there and doesn’t want you to live there forever!  I LOVE this story……

Jesus and His crew sailed to this man, and Jesus knew this whole big trip was for this man and this man only!  Jesus rescued this man from the pit of depression!  Do you see that?  That man mattered to God, you matter to God!  He sees you and He loves you!

P~ Lord, you see all!  You see what goes on in our hearts, how sad and hopeless we can feel.  Rescue us Lord!  Shine the truth of Jesus onto our situation and give us hope for our future!  Bring people to walk beside us through this road and give us courage to seek help if we need to.  Lord, break down barriers for people talking about mental illness, remove negativity and bias that people have.  Lord let Your kids that struggle with mental illness feel Your love wash over them and release them from their chains.  I LOVE YOU!  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

A Desperate Act of Faith | Joni Tyner

S~ At once Jesus realized that power had gone out from him. He turned around in the crowd and asked, “Who touched my clothes?”  Mark 5:30 (NIV)

O~ Earlier in chapter 5, a synagogue ruler named Jairus came and pleaded with Jesus to come with him to lay hands on his 12 year old daughter who was very sick.  Jesus agrees and He and Jairus start for the house—except they aren’t alone—word has quickly spread that Jesus can heal and everyone wants a piece of the action!!!  People are getting crazy and pushing and shoving.  (I can almost see the disciples promoting themselves to security as them attempt to get order and “protect” Jesus from the crowd.)  Then, in the chaos, a woman reaches out and touches the hem of Jesus’s cloak.  She is desperate!!… she has been bleeding for 12 years and no doctor has been able to heal her.   But if she could just touch Jesus

A~ I don’t want to get side-tracked, but I’ve still got a few more observations I’m working through.

  1. Jesus was in route to help Jairus with his sick daughter. (if you read on in Mark 5, you know that the girl is dead by the time Jesus gets there.) He was on a “mission”.—yet right in the middle of it, an unexpected moment happens that literally stops Him in His tracks.  I think this is showing me that I need to remember I’ve got to stay in tune and be available for Divine Appointments while I’m “on my way” to the next life thing.  I need to be sensitive to the Holy Spirit’s nudging so I might feel the slight encounter in the midst of the chaos.
  2. Jesus was aware of the presence of one person in the big crowd. Jesus felt this specific woman reaching out for help.  She was probably an outcast, extremely weak from being anemic and likely depressed from 12 years of failed treatments. Yet, Jesus noticed her and responded.  Jesus came for people who need Him in a desperate way.  He sees the sick, the lonely, the depressed, in the crowd of  “healthy” people.

P~ Dear Lord,  I enjoyed reading Mark 5 this morning.  Please help me to live my life in a way that is available and sensitive to other people’s needs.  I pray for energy to be patient and loving and sincerely eager to help.  Lord, I pray I’m available when You have a Divine Appointment for me so that I can stop in my tracks, turn around and respond in a way that pleases You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 26, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

