February 25 Numbers 17-18; Psalm 29; Mark 4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

A Small Glimpse of His Power | Tara Wiley

S~ The voice of the Lord is over the waters; the God of glory thunders, the Lord thunders over the mighty waters. The voice of the Lord is powerful; the voice of the Lord is majestic. The voice of the Lord breaks the cedars; the Lord breaks in pieces the cedars of Lebanon… The Lord gives strength to His people; the Lord blesses His people with peace. Psalm 29:3-4, 11

O~ This God, so powerful we cannot fully comprehend Him, is also the God who brings strength and peace to His people.

A~ Yesterday, my friend Kim posted a picture of 60 foot waves off the shore of Oahu.

12779073_10153810044351023_806301895920861274_o

My first gut response to the image was a shudder. Water is so powerful, and these waves looked absolutely terrorizing. I could picture a six-foot-tall body tumbling like sand in the force of that undertow (Perhaps it is my own experience of getting caught in the undertow of a much smaller wave that induces that initial response. It was so very scary.). After that initial shock, though, came the wonder at the beauty and majesty of such a wave – when viewed from a safe distance! I could close my eyes and hear the roar, feel the concussion of such a pounding of ocean-on-rock-and-sand, smell the salt hurled into the air many feet away from shore.

Water is powerful. God’s voice is greater than the loudest, strongest, most majestic wave of water we can imagine. And yet, it is that same strength and power that offers us peace.

I see Him as that fierce Warrior and Protector in this Psalm. He is the One Who holds command over all Creation. The One who breaks down the barriers. The One Whose very voice causes life and death, and miracles. Knowing this Mighty One is also working on my behalf is incredibly comforting. Though this Psalm offers vivid imagery of a God who seems anything but peaceful, it is this very mighty nature of God that brings peace to my heart. He is stronger, mightier, greater than anything I can face. And I can rest in that!

P~ Lord, I praise You as the Mighty Warrior and Protector. You are so majestic. I cannot begin to comprehend just how huge and powerful You are. Help me catch a glimpse of it, Lord, so I can remember not to worry or fear, because You are in control. I can find absolute peace when I trust You, Mighty God.

God of Creation, God of My Heart | Kelley Deases

S ~ The voice of the Lord is over the waters; …

The voice of the Lord is powerful;

the voice of the Lord is majestic.

The voice of the Lord breaks the cedars, …

The voice of the Lord strikes with flashes of lightning.

The voice of the Lord shakes the desert; …

The voice of the Lord twists the oaks and strips the forests bare. …

The Lord sits enthroned over the flood; …

the Lord blesses his people with peace. Psalm 29:3-11 (NIV) (excerpted)

O ~ The other day, my son and I took advantage of an unusually warm day for the month of February in Nebraska and visited the zoo. We decided to watch a 3D IMAX documentary on the National Parks. We were blown away seeing the rich treasures found in our country’s protected parklands. From gushing geysers to deep canyons to mountain peaks to redwood trees, the creativity and majesty of our Maker was evident.

A ~ I have not had opportunity to travel much recently, so this was a great reminder of the vast and diverse world outside of my everyday paths in and around Bellevue, Nebraska. These breathtaking vistas and natural wonders tell of a Mighty Creator. David’s psalm acknowledges His presence, His voice in all these places, from the staggering heights to the plummeting depths, on the waters, on land, and in the air. Yet after he finds God in all those places, David circles back to His people, His crowning glory, to whom God gives strength, provides protection, and blesses with peace. What a wonder to know He can imagine and create such majestic beauty and still be concerned with my one tiny life.

P~  You are an amazing and creative God, as evidenced by the natural beauty all around us. Thank You for how You have made all things point to You — from the intricate details to the massive scale wonders. Hallelujah!

My next step | Nikki Metzger

S~ Other seed fell among thorns that grew up and choked out the tender plants so they produced no grain. Mark 4:7 (NLT)

O/A~ I’m strongly thinking about stepping into a new ministry role.  It’s a weekly commitment in the evening.  I’ve taken on this role before, loved it and at the same time, didn’t love it.

My fear can be summed up in this verse.  Me doing too many things —> good things, but too many.  And then there are all these thorns, so no grain (or fruit) is produced. That’s just unacceptable.  I don’t want to be so busy that I’m ineffective for the Kingdom.  Or my main three people feel like they are second to church activities.

But I’m good in this role.  God gifted me here.  And since I was in this role last time, I have learned SOOOOOO much about all people.

P~ Lord, I feel like this is where You would have me. Please protect my family from me taking on too much and give me holy wisdom to know and understand Chad, and my kids’ hearts.  God, my time, my heart, the gifts You have given me…they are all Yours.  I’m entering baseball season and I know that is a whole other ministry….Oh Lord, what is Your best for me?  I love You.  I want to share Jesus with everyone I know, for every conversation to be rooted in Christ.  I also need sleep 🙂

I Plant, You Sprout and Grow | Michelle Myers

S~ This is what the kingdom of God is like.  A man scatters seed on the ground night and day, whether he sleeps or gets up, the seed sprouts and grows, though he does not know how.  All by itself the soil produces grain—first the stalk, then the head, then the full kernel in the head. Mark 4:26-28 (NIV)

O~ My job is to continuously scatter seed, and not be concerned about how it sprouts and grows in other people.  That issue is between You and them.  For me, this is very much a trust issue with You and maybe a control issue within myself, in regards to other people.  If I invest time, money, energy, etc. into something, than I want to know that it matters, makes a difference, is valued, is being used wisely, etc.

A~ As our finances improve, and our children get more, there seems to be more of an ungrateful and entitled attitude sprouting up in them.  My husband and my oldest daughter, who will be fifteen in a few weeks, had a short yelling match the other day, and these issues of ungratefulness and entitlement were glaring him right in the face.  She had just asked the day before if we would consider letting her go on a missions trip to New Orleans this summer with her youth group.  At first, we were all about it.  However, after the incident with my husband, he wasn’t sure he wanted to sacrifice the few hundred dollars it was going to cost, for someone who has been given so much and wants to argue over completing small chores that would take her less than 10 minutes.

I know the day after, she was very humble and apologized many times.  I also sensed that she was feeling a great deal of shame for her behavior the night before.  We discussed shame, and how it is a tactic of the enemy.  My husband apologized to her for losing his cool and yelling back at her.  The issue was over, and we had moved on.  Yet, when she came to us a few days later with information about the trip, it resurfaced in my husband.  We both knew it was a good opportunity for her.  We talked with her about how it will be work.  It won’t always be fun or exciting.  We discussed it with each other as a couple.  Eventually, he got on the computer, got out his bank card, and registered her.

You want us to have boundaries and be wise about what we give, who we give to, etc.  You don’t want us to be taken advantage of.  Yet, you have also shown,especially with those people close to me, I have no idea how my seeds are going to sprout and grow in them.  The same goes for many of the seeds that were planted in me, from various people and experiences that I have come across in my life.  For my kids, just like with seeds that were planted in me, I don’t see the fruit of them right away.  It took me years, to understand why You had repeatedly given me alternative education experiences, a dysfunctional family, etc. and to see the fruits that resulted from them.  The same goes for my kids and my husband.  I had no idea that taking them to the library and pushing books when they were younger, would cultivate a love of reading in my oldest daughter.  That has not happened in my youngest. However, what she is supposed to do with the seeds that have been planted in her, is between You and her.  My part is just planting where You tell me to plant, and trust that You will work it out for good in Your timing.  My husband has never been a writer.  Processing his daily scripture with You in the form of writing, was something I never envisioned happening.  Yet, it is happening; and I am completely amazed at how much he is processing and writing.

P~ Thank you God for your wisdom and guidance.  When I am not looking for it, and trying to figure things out on my own, I am a mess.  Please help me just trust in You and the seeds that You tell me to plant.  The same goes with my husband.  Also, help us hear You   when you tell us that this isn’t the garden You are telling us to plant seed in.  Also, more than anything, please protect my daughter and the others going on this trip.  Please provide them with safe travels and experiences.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 25, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

