February 23 Numbers 12-13; Psalm 90; Mark 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Wisdom for Each Day | Tara Wiley

S~ Teach us to number our days carefully so that we may develop wisdom in our hearts.

Satisfy us in the morning with Your faithful love so that we may shout with joy and be glad all our days.

Let the favor of the Lord our God be on us; establish for us the work of our  hands – establish the work of our hands!

Psalm 90:12,14,17

O~  Moses experienced so many extremes in his life. I wonder just when he wrote this Psalm, and what season he was in. Our reading plan sets it against the backdrop of Miriam and Aaron’s secret sin being exposed, which dovetails with Ps. 90:8, and Moses was certainly in a season of dealing with sinful people when the Israelites were wandering in the wilderness. At the same time, he was anticipating the move into the Promised Land, another huge responsibility.

To say that Moses’ daily responsibilities were overwhelming would be an understatement. But God called him, equipped him, and consistently answered him in those moments when the weight of it all felt like more than he could handle.

So Moses could come confidently to ask for wisdom – God had given it before!  He knew where to turn when his frustrations with people overwhelmed him, and when his responsibilities weighed heavily on him.

He turned to God with these requests (among others):

*teach me to number my days

*satisfy me with Your faithful love

*bring Your favor, and establish the work of my hands

A~ When people and life and responsibilities overwhelm me, I can turn, as Moses did, to the God of the universe and ask for help from the One who has all power and authority, who gives freely to His children.

P~ Lord, I give to You my stress. I feel maxed out, but when I sit down and look at the actual numbers of hours per week that each responsibility requires of me, I realize that it’s all totally doable. That means I am not using my time wisely. I need Your help. So, without needing to add any of my own words, I simply echo Moses’ prayer (I need to memorize it!). Lord, teach me to number my days carefully so I may develop wisdom in my heart. Satisfy  me in the morning with Your faithful love so I may shout with joy and be glad all my days. Let the favor of the Lord my God be on me; establish for me the work of my hands – yes, establish the work of my hands! 

REST | Kim Chipman

S~ Then he said to them, “The Sabbath was made for man, not man for the Sabbath. Mark 2:27 (NIV)

O~ My study Bible says, “Jewish tradition had so multiplied the requirements and restrictions for keeping the Sabbath that the burden had become intolerable. Jesus cut across these traditions and emphasized the God-given purpose of the Sabbath – a day intended for the benefit of people (for spiritual, mental and physical restoration).”

The Pharisees were more focused on the rules than on the heart of the purpose of the Sabbath. The Sabbath is a gift from God – rest – to commune with God and restore our body and soul.

In a small group this week we talked about Sabbath rest. One of our gals just returned from a weekend away with her husband for Sabbath. We got talking about how God’s plan really IS best for our body and soul! Sabbath is a gift!

A~ So yesterday I journaled on the concept of radical engagement and radical withdrawal…perfectly modeled by Jesus in His life. Today? Sabbath rest. Both subjects discussed in small groups this week and reinforced in my reading. I think You are trying to tell me something! I’m listening. I really want to live this thing out well. I really do. If Jesus needed time with You away, alone in prayer and Jesus observed the Sabbath then for me to live and love more like Him I need to follow His example.

P~ Lord, thank You for Your Word and for sending Jesus. Help me to live more like Him each day. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 23, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

