February 20 Numbers 7; Psalm 23; Acts 27

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Here Again! | Michelle Myers

S~ But Moses did not give any to the Kohathites, because they were to carry on their shoulders the holy things, for which they were responsible. Numbers 7:9 (NIV)

O~ God has instructed Moses to give Levites different things, “according to what their work required”. The Kohathites were not given any carts or oxen, because they were not required for their work.

A~ Right now, I feel overwhelmed and pulled in a million different directions.  I wish I could say that it was ALL due to being sick all of last week, the up coming move, or my husband doing taxes part time; but it is not.  Those things definitely can make things a little more hectic; but a majority of it has been me.  I am not good at firm boundaries when it comes to my children.

In one of my groups, I listened as another lady talked about how her and her husband were so unhealthily enmeshed with one another.  She said she finally had to make some changes and start constructing and living her own life.  This last month my time and focus has gotten off track, because my girls didn’t take ownership in the things for which they were responsible.  When given tools or help “according to what their work required” they wanted different help, more help, or someone to just plain do it for them.  And, being the fool that I am without YOU, I catered to them. In the moment, I don’t even realize what I was doing.

It can start off innocent and small, with me just wanting to help or give; and do it from a place where my heart is right.  Before I know it, a little get together with a friend has turned into a sleepover.  My focus is diverted by the plethora of texts that follow trying to arrange everything.   I am driving kids around to get clothes. I am now planning on cooking, when before it was a left over or “you’re on your own tonight” meal.  It is these types of situations that end up preventing me from taking care of me. They result in me getting frustrated and overwhelmed.  I end up acting the exact opposite of the way You or I want me to act.

P~ Thank you God for your wisdom and guidance.  Without it, I would be a much bigger mess than I am now.  It would be a perpetual, never ending cycle, because I don’t see a lot of this on my own. Help me remain on guard, when it comes to my kids.  Help me remember that I need clear boundaries. Continue to show me where I am carrying the loads that they are responsible for, and the result is enabling them.

The LORD is My Shepherd | Joni Tyner

S/O/A~ LORD is my shepherd, I have all that I need.

A shepherd protects his sheep, they are secure in his presence.

He lets me rest in green meadows, He leads me beside peaceful streams.

When I stay close to Him, when I obey His commands, I will have the benefit of peace and rest.

He guides me along right paths, bringing honor to His name.

When I allow God to guide my ways , I will experience contentment (and peace and rest) as I know living for Him pleases Him and gives honor to His name.

Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me. Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me.

“Even when”, this means I will!!! I will have His presence during the darkest, most terrible moments in my life. This scripture is reminding me He will be there with me.  I am so comforted by that.

You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies.  You honor me by anointing my head with oil.

God will not only comfort and support me when I am in the presence of my enemies, but He prepares a feast for me,  He anoints me with oil.  I think that he does this because He loves me, He values me, and He is proud of me.

My cup overflows with blessings, surely Your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life.   And I will live in the house of the LORD forever.

God is reminding me when I stay close to Him, when I allow Him to be my Sheppard, my life will overflow with blessings and I will be assured of living with Him, in His House, forever.

P~ Dear Lord, this morning, in wanted to take a very familiar psalm that many know and make it personal to me.  It is Your love letter to me.  I can rest assured that when I choose to abide in You and stay close to Your heart, I will have peace, reset and blessings that I don’t even know exist. Thank you for this psalm of love and encouragement.

You Are My More | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ The Lord is my shepherd; I have everything I need.  Psalms 23:1 (NLT)

O~ A shepherd watches over the sheep; protects them; stays with them; takes them to safe places to drink water and to rest; keeps track of them and chases after those that stray.

A~ The Lord watches over me, provides for me, promises to never leave me…I have everything I need. (Let that sink in) I have everything I need.  My sin is that I think I need more—I look to be more; have more accomplishments; be more like the strength I see in someone else less like the weaknesses I see in me.

P~ Father, you are all the “more” I need.  Please forgive me for looking for more and not being content with how you made me. Help me rest in you, abide in you and embrace all that I am and have in you. I love you, too.

Quiet Waters | Kelley Deases

S~ … he leads me beside quiet waters, …  Psalm 23:2 (NIV)

O~ I love the images conjured up by this familiar psalm: green pastures, still waters, being guided by a gentle shepherd. This reminds me how God is a God of peace, not chaos; clarity, not confusion; purity, not corruption.

A~ When I sit with Jesus in the mornings (or whenever I make time to sit!) it is in a chair in our living room right next to the 55-gallon fish tank. The water circulating through the filters helps provide the “white noise” to drown out other sounds in the house. And watching the little fish swim around their habitat is a soothing visual as I am reading, thinking, and praying.  It provides a perfect setting for experiencing God’s presence — calming, unhurried, unburdened, tranquil. Quiet waters.

P~ Jesus, Thank You for these sweet moments when You meet with me here. The water in my aquarium speaks of Your creation, Your beauty, Your peace.

Deeper trust | Nikki Metzger

S~ But the officer in charge of the prisoners listened more to the ship’s captain and the owner than to Paul. Acts 27:11 (NLT)

O~ Paul wants to stop traveling via ship for a season because he thinks if the ship travels there will be a wreck.  But the person in charge doesn’t listen and moves forward with traveling.  The thing is:  Paul is right, the decision maker is wrong about traveling.  Yet Paul still has to be on the ship that he thinks is going to be wrecked, he really has no say about going or staying.

A~ I struggle so much with this authority and decision making process.  I can be right about something, share my thoughts, but ultimately  ‘be stuck’ with the decision that is made. I’m sure Paul was frustrated that the ship was going to travel, even after he warned the decision makers about the the wreck.  But he had to stay on that ship and go through the consequences of the decision to keep traveling.  In fact, all the sailors had to walk through those consequences of that decision to keep traveling.  It just doesn’t seem fair to me, especially because Paul spoke up before they left.

It’s not fair, actually.

But God isn’t so concerned with fair, He is more focused on holy, on bringing people to Heaven, on shining the light on His Glory! God knew His Kingdom would be advanced further due to the upcoming shipwreck then everyone staying at the port, like Paul wanted to do.  So God let Paul’s warning to not travel be dismissed.  And God let Paul go through a lot of stuff because the decision makers didn’t listen to him.

Hindsight is always 20/20, but there is a lesson in here for me.  Many times I feel like Paul in this situation.  I speak truth, my words are dismissed, and I’m frustrated that when all is said and done, I turn out to be right.

It’s not fair.  Nikki, God is more concerned with holiness and His glory than fairness.  I can trust God to go with me as I ‘get onto my future shipwrecked ship’.  He has plans for me – to prosper me and give me a future and a hope.  And He will work everything out for my good and His glory.  Heck, He might even use my ship situation to bring others into His family!!  I really CAN trust Him like Paul trusted Him when they set sail.

P~ Father, You take me deeper still!  My heart has been stuck here for awhile.  Thank You for Your Word!!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 20, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

