February 19 Numbers 5-6; Psalm 22; Acts 26

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Blessing | Nikki Metzger

S ~ May the Lord bless you and protect you.  May the Lord smile on you and be gracious to you.  May the Lord show you His favor and give you His peace. Numbers 6:24-26 (NLT)

O~ The Lord told Moses to have Aaron bless the people with this special blessing.  And when Aaron blessed the people, God would really bless them!

A~ This blessing was said every time I went to church growing up.  It was part of the liturgy we spoke during service I think.  As a kid and teen, everything in the service went over my head.  My eyes and ears were not open to Truth at that point, so I didn’t ever understand ‘church’. But this blessing has sweet memories for me.  Maybe it was because the pastor always said it at the end of services?  Maybe because God’s Word NEVER comes back void.  God was working in my unbelieving heart, already putting Scripture inside of me?

I like to believe the second.  God was starting to shape my heart and my thoughts about Him.  Over all those years, I was told that God blessed me, protected me, smiled on me, was gracious to me, I had His favor, and His peace. And it’s interesting, for all those young years in church, I thought none of it clicked, but here I am 20+ years later, remembering this blessing.

P~ God, You are a good, good Father!  Thank You!  Even when I was so far away from You, You were right by me.  Your LOVE is overwhelming!

His Name, on Me | Tara Wiley

S~ Tell Aaron and his sons, “This is the way you are to bless the Israelites. Say to them, ‘The Lord bless you and protect you; the Lord make his face to shine upon you, and be gracious to you; the Lord lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.’ So they will put my name on the Israelites and I will bless them.”

O~ This prayer of blessing was to be spoken over the Israelites as a way to put God’s name on them. I love that. His name is put upon them as gifts of:

  • Blessing
  • Protection
  • The shining of His face
  • Grace
  • A lifting of God’s own countenance on them
  • Peace

A~ This prayer has a precious spot in my heart because it is the words of a favorite lullaby I sang over my daughter every night of her baby years (I still should! Why did I stop?!).

The words and melody still come to me in the night. But I had forgotten that singing/speaking these words is a way of putting God’s name on the recipient. What a powerful picture, for His name is so powerful.

P~ Lord, I love that You WANT to put YOUR name on me. I think of the powerful moment in a wedding ceremony when the bride turns around and is introduced with her husband’s name, now her own. What a beautiful thing, that You not only share Your name with me, but Your power, Your character, Your presence, Your grace, Your protection, Your peace. I love it. I need it! Thank You, Lord, for the reminder today, that I can receive Your name over my harried mind and heart, and find all I need there. I receive it today, and like that moment in my wedding when I turned to walk back down that aisle a new woman full of hope for my future, I will walk into the rest of my day with confident hope for all You will accomplish in and through me! I love You, Lord. You are so good to me.

My Children–>Our God | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Future generations will also serve him.  Our children will hear about the wonders of the Lord.  Psalms 22:30 (NLT)

O/A~ How will my children and our future generations hear about the wonders of the Lord?  Do I share as much about my Lord, my Savior and what he has done for me with my children? I am quick to share about Ihop’s free pancake day and other deals; we share about another child’s accomplishments or our own.  I need to share more about what God is doing for me. For them.

P~ Dear Father, thank you for who you are. I want my children and our future generations to know you, to love you, to serve you.  Please provide opportunities for me to share your love with my children that it may impact their faith and draw them to you.  May they grow in love and faith and pass on their faith to their children that all our future generations may serve you. ❤

Witness | Kim Chipman

S~ Now get up and stand on your feet. I have appeared to you to appoint you as a servant and as a witness of what you have seen and will see of me. Acts 26:16 (NIV)

O~ This is Jesus speaking to Paul. Paul is recounting his encounter with Jesus on the road to Damascus. Paul is speaking to King Agrippa. The Jews want Paul killed. His case keeps getting handed off because no one can find him guilty of anything, but Paul just keeps telling the story of how he encountered Jesus.

A~ The assignment to Paul from you is the same for me. You have revealed Yourself to me so I can serve You and be a witness of what I have seen and will see of You.

Do I do that well? Looking at my life – does it bear witness of what I have seen of You? I know I fall into frustrated complaining sometimes. Especially with my kids. I love them but they are all teens/tweens and sometimes their brains fall out. I know their brains aren’t even done wiring up yet, so I need to chill and show extra grace. Teach. Train. Guide. Provide boundaries. But grace. I don’t do this all the time, in fact not often enough.

Today I’m going to focus on giving grace even to people who do not deserve it. This would bear witness to the amazing grace You continually show ME…and I certainly do NOT deserve it! Today, let them see You in me.

P~ Lord, help me to remember! I forget so quickly. I’m easily distracted. Help me to remember Your amazing grace so I share it freely and bear witness to what I have seen and will see of You. My story is important. Sharing it is equally as important! I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 19, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

