February 17 Numbers 1-2; Acts 24

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Your Promises | Kim Chipman

S~ These were the men counted by Moses and Aaron and the twelve leaders of Israel, each one representing his family. The total number was 603,550. Numbers 1:44-46 (NIV)

O~ God instructed Moses to take a census of the whole Israelite community. This was a count of men 20 years old or more and able to serve in the army. Imagining women and children the total number of Israelites had to be over 2 million I would think. God’s promise to Abraham was “descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky” and this is clearly evidence of that promise fulfilled.

So, what are some of Your promises to me?

Romans 10:9 If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.

John 8:36 So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

Romans 8:1-2 Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death.

1 Corinthians 10:13  No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.

James 4:7 Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.

John 8:31-32  To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching,you are really my disciples.  Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

You will never leave me Deut 31:6, Deut 31:8, Joshua 1:5, 1 Kings 8:57, Hebrews 13:5

Psalm 103:17 But from everlasting to everlasting, the Lord’s love is with those who fear him, and his righteousness with their children’s children—

Matthew 11:28 Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

Philippians 4:19 And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Romans 6:23 For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

A~ I know You keep Your promises. Reading through how many descendants of Abraham there were, just like You promised, is such a powerful reminder of who You are. Your promises are true. Your ways are right and bring peace.

P~ I am in awe of You! Thank You for who You are!

What A Comical Mess I Am, Without You! | Michelle Myers

S~ So I strive always to keep my conscience clear before God and man. Acts 24:16 (NIV)

O~ Paul is accused of being a trouble maker, and is seized.  He is then brought before the governor, who motions to Paul to speak for himself in regards to the charges brought against him.

A~ Lately You have been speaking to me in my dreams at night.  Some of it has been to affirm some past decisions that I have made, that have been brought back up and my mind is struggling with. Some of it has been to show me where my conscience isn’t clear before You and my family.

I have not been feeling well the last few weeks, and this week it all came to a head in the form of a nasty cold.  I have been more than a little impatient with my girls at times.  If you happened to be in the Walmart in our town on Friday afternoon and saw a crazy lady in the shampoo isle, struggle not to lose it on her daughter, that was probably me.  As I was crouched down, looking at something, my oldest daughter went to reach for an item on the top shelf.  It fell out of her hand, and landed right on me.  This happened after a barrage of requests, not listening, impatient attitudes, etc. on their part.  So, the whole dropping something on me, was the nail in the coffin.  The next day, we were in another store and I jumped all over my daughter, when she went off on her own and I couldn’t find her, nor did she answer her cell phone right away.  In another store, while I am trying to concentrate and I am being bombarded again, I take a deep breath and say, with my hands up and making a circular motion, “This is my mommy space.  Do not invade my mommy space!”

NOT VERY LOVING!  NOT REALLY A CLEAR CONSCIENCE IN FRONT OF YOU OR MY KIDS!  I have had to do a lot of repenting and apologizing.

You convicted me of my motives and my overstepping in regards to a conversation I had with my husband about his second job.  My motives again, were to get him to see my point, suck it up and deal with some junk.  My overstepping came when I inched toward showing him, where his attitude in regards to the situation may not be right.  That is YOUR job.  He handled it well, but I could tell he was annoyed and that I had just added to the frustration of what he was already dealing with. Then I got the conviction from You, to LET IT GO.

One of the great things about my family, is that when things have calmed down and I apologize, we can all laugh about about my craziness.  My daughter laughs as she mimics me in an irritated. psycho mom voice, “This is my mommy space.  DO NOT invaded my mommy space!” My husband and I are the same way.  Eventually, we laugh with each other at our own failures, and give glory to You.

P~ Thank you God for loving me, in spite of me.  Thank you God for my family loving me, when I am not so lovable.  Thank you God for Jesus, because no matter how hard I try to keep my conscience clear before God and man, I fail.  I need Jesus, because on my own, I am a mess. Please continue to remind me of that, and continue to work on me, in regards to my heart and conscience.  Please continue to convict me of things that I don’t “get” on my own.

Sharing my Faith | Joni Tyner

S~ Sending for Paul, they listened as he told them about faith in Jesus Christ. Acts 24:24b (NLT)

O~ Paul was witnessing to Felix—and he seemed interested enough that he went and got his wife and brought her back so that she might hear about Jesus. Paul was witnessing to them about righteousness  and self-control. Felix became frightened and said, “go away for now.”  I’m guessing that Paul hit a few nerves and Felix was uncomfortable with having his sin exposed. Still, later (verse 26) it says that “sent for him quite often and talked with him”.  This tells me he wanted to know more about Jesus and the faith Paul was talking about. He initially told Paul to go away yet called him back for more information.   According to verse 27, this went on for two years. Then Felix turned on Paul. “and because Felix wanted to gain favor with the Jewish people, he left Paul in prison.”  What? Really?  After two years of Paul establishing a relationship with him, he decided to turn his back on him and leave him in jail.  The Bible continues to give us examples of people who act so much like people in the 21st century. People often don’t do what we want them to do.  We absolutely CAN NOT control the responses of other people.

A~ As I thought about all of this, I thought about all the different people I come into contact with in my life. Some people are close friends with mutual faith and others are far from God.  I desire to have discernment from the Holy Spirit as to my role in each relationship.  Being a witness for Christ looks different with different people. Some people like talking about details and the Bible and historical facts; others may be turned off by too much church talk and need to first see my life as a genuine Christ-follower.  These people will likely respond better by first being a genuine friend. My role is to be obedient, like Paul was, and to share my life with others.  It is the Holy Spirit’s job  to convict those and develop their faith.

P~ Dear Lord, sometimes it gets discouraging when I invest in someone and they seem receptive then, boom, they, at least to my eyes, seem to lose interest and walk away.  Give me wisdom to respond accordingly.  Continue to bring other believers into my path that will be encouraging to me. Give me patience when I don’t understand the timing that often occurs.  Thank you for these Divine appointments,  please help me to be faithful with what You’ve called me to do.

Surrender | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ As he reasoned with them about righteousness and self-control and the judgment to come, Felix was terrified.  Acts 24:25 (NLT)

O~ Felix became terrified when Paul talked to him about self control and judgment to come.  These are that him home for him, the ones that convicted his heart, but it frightened him and sent Paul away.

A~ For me, complete surrender is the one that hits home.  Do I trust you when I don’t like or understand what’s going on? Or do I walk away with my will over yours?

P~ Dear God, help me in this. Help me make one choice at a time closer to you.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 17, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

