February 16 Leviticus 26-27; Acts 23

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

You Are The Lord | Kim Chipman

S~ If you follow my decrees and are careful to obey my commands, Leviticus 26:3 (NIV)

But if you will not listen to me and carry out all these commands, Leviticus 26:14 (NIV)

O~ God is laying out the rewards for obedience and the punishment for sin. It strikes me fresh that from the very beginning and through all time You have given each of us the freedom to choose. You lay down the law, but we have to choose if we follow.

A~ Freedom to choose. I choose. Each moment of each day I choose. My thoughts, my attitudes, my focus…it becomes my choices, my actions, my words. Do my thoughts follow Your decrees and carefully obey Your commands? Do they? Each one?

2 Corinthians 10:5 “We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ.”

Scan for the lies and make EVERY thought obedient to You. Every. Single. One.

There are rewards for obedience and punishment for disobedience and it may not look like I think. Things as simple sounding as rain in season and plenty of crops are gifts from You. It’s easy to take this for granted. EVERYthing we need comes from You. No fear and safety from our enemies…comes from You. Protection. Provision. From You.

But I must choose…obedience from a place of humility and respect and love. You are the Lord! You are HOLY!

P~ Help me to remember how holy You are and how important each choice I make is. Each thought. Captive to obedience. For Your glory…and because You are holy. I love You!

The Lord Stood Near | Kelley Deases

S~ The following night the Lord stood near Paul and said, “Take courage!”  Acts 23:11 (NIV)

O~ As a result of Paul’s obedience to God’s call and his amazing courage to stand for truth before a hostile crowd, he was struck in the mouth, taken away by force, put into the barracks, … and visited by God Himself.  I would imagine that Paul is receiving a tremendous reward in heaven in return for all he gave to advance God’s Kingdom during his time on earth.

A~ I have never known this degree of adversity, to be sure, but I can testify that just about every time I have experienced God’s presence, it was when I have stepped outside of my comfort zone, my daily schedule, my own selfish desires, to respond to a need or to answer His call.

A few years ago, we attended a church as first-time visitors just to check it out.  My husband and I dropped off our toddler in the kid-care area and proceeded into the service.  During worship, I felt as though God was telling me to give the toddler room teacher $100.  How odd, really, as we did not know her, or anyone in that place, for that metter.  But the nudging persisted and, with my husband’s full agreement, we did as we felt the Lord was leading.  This lady was so humble and almost refused the money outright. The next week, we had to urge her to cash the as yet uncashed check we had given her.  Well, we never heard back how that gift met a need, or was used in some profound way.  However, I was never more eager and happy to part with our hard-earned money than that day.  Just because I felt He wanted me to and I desired to honor Him by obeying.

P~ As I come near to You, God, You promise to come near to me. (James 4:8)

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 16, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

