February 15 Leviticus 25; Psalm 25-26; Acts 22

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Not My Way, But Yours | Kelley Deases

S~ Show me your ways, O Lord, teach me your paths; guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are my God and my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long. Psalm 25:4-5 (NIV)

O~ This is a psalm of David. Wasn’t he the guy known as a “man after God’s own heart” but also known for his transgressions with Bathsheba and her husband, Uriah? Here, he pleads for God’s wisdom and guidance. Clearly, though, he did not always do that which pleased God. Isn’t that all our stories, really, as our best selves desire to walk uprightly before the Lord, but, darnit, our cranky, selfish, hungry, tired, short-tempered selves are eager to lead the way on that wide and inviting “path of least resistance.” Or, at least, that’s my life more often than I like to admit.

A~ Pretty sure I blew it (again!) in the area of being a loving and respectful wife to my husband. He took my wedding ring in for repair after a diamond fell out of the setting. This is the second time in our ten years of marriage this has happened. In his mind, it was better to avoid this perpetual problem and start fresh with a new ring. Upon having the foreign object placed on my finger, my response was less than gracious, to say the least. I really loved my original ring and had no idea he was going to leave it at the jeweler’s in favor of a new and entirely different one. If he was going to start over, I would have liked some input on that decision to do so and in what the new ring would be.  After all, I am the one who will wear it. Well, as I reflected on my tone and attitude overnight, I realized how ungrateful and bratty I had sounded. How disdainful of the kind gift he tried to give me. I certainly could have shared my concerns with A LOT more of a gracious tone.

P~ Lord, Show me and teach me Your ways.  Mine are clearly not “best practices,” as I have observed time and again.

Humble | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ He leads the humble in what is right, teaching them his way.  Psalms 25:9 (NLT)

O~  You are ready to lead me in what is right and ready to teach me your way, but I need to be humble before you in order to hear you and accept it.

Humble—having or showing a low estimate of one’s importance

Synonyms: meek, deferential, respectful, submissive, unassertive

A~ I need to be humble because I need God’s help.

P~ Dear Jesus, you walked on this earth in humility.  Help me be humble.

Fear or Truth? | Kim Chipman

S~ The commander wanted to find out exactly why Paul was being accused by the Jews. So the next day he released him and ordered the chief priests and all the members of the Sanhedrin to assemble. Then he brought Paul and had him stand before them. Acts 22:30 (NIV)

O~ Paul has been arrested, he spoke to the crowd, and he was about to be flogged until they realized he was a Roman citizen so they released him to the Sanhedrin – the ruling body of the Jews.

This reminds me of Jesus in ways. The masses wanted Him crucified but the officials couldn’t find a reason to do so. They kept handing Him off to a different ruling body even though no one could really find a reason to crucify Him – except the demands of the crowd.

It all seems fueled by fear. And crowd mentality. Not truth.

A~ Do I act out of fear and the crowd? Or from truth? I want to base my life and my responses on truth. Help me to see when I am acting from fear. I want to follow hard after You, not be afraid – trust!

P~ I love You! Help me see so I can choose well!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 15, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

