February 8 Leviticus 7-9; Acts 15

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Seeing God’s Glory, When I Don’t Deserve To | Michelle Myers

S~ Then Moses said, ‘This is what the LORD has commanded you to do, so that the glory of the LORD may appear to you.’ Leviticus 9:6 (NIV)

O/A~ I often see You when I am doing what You have commanded me to do.  Yet, I also realized, I see You and the sacrifice that Jesus made on the cross for me, when I am not doing what You commanded me to do, and yet You are graceful, merciful, and forgiving.  It is during these times, when I am confronted with my own fleshly, sinful self, that I recognize and understand Your character, how much I don’t deserve what Jesus did for me, and how I will never measure up on my own.

P~ Thank you God for Your character.  Thank you Jesus for Your sacrifice.  Please just help me be more like You.

Grace | Jill Terry

S~ But we believe that we are saved through the grace of the Lord Jesus, in the same way as they also are. Acts 15:11 (NAS)

O~  Circumcision and the law were being discussed just prior to this verse. But Peter responds with the answer of Jesus washed everyone clean. No circumcision, no legalism, no works… just the blood of Jesus. Sufficient for all.

A~ Grace – what an amazing concept. What an amazing gift, so utterly and completely undeserved. I am so unworthy of the gift of grace. I just feel like the utter beauty of the sacrifice Jesus gave to us all is bubbling up inside of me and I want everyone to know, believe and accept Jesus too.

I know God is leading me somewhere this year, to do something amazing for Him. I’m not exactly sure what it looks like yet, but I am absolutely giddy about the potential and the promise of something bigger than me and having a purpose from God. I am learning to trust boldly and follow His lead while (not so patiently waiting) to find out what exactly God wants me to do.

P~ I love you Jesus! Show me, guide me, lead me exactly where You want me. Please grant me the wisdom to know it is from you alone. Amen

Divide and Multiply | Kim Chipman

S~ They had such a sharp disagreement that they parted company. Barnabas took Mark and sailed for Cyprus, but Paul chose Silas and left, commended by the believers to the grace of the Lord. Acts 15:39-40(NIV)

O~ I’ve never noticed this disagreement and parting ways before. Often, I feel like believers are expected to always get along (or at least put on the appearance that there is never conflict), but this was not the case here. They disagreed enough to part ways. My study Bible says: “This disagreement caused the two great preachers to form 2 teams, opening up 2 missionary endeavors instead of one. God works even through conflict and disagreements. Later, Mark became vital to Paul’s ministry (Col 4:10). Christians do not always agree, but problems can be solved by agreeing to disagree and letting God work His will.”

A~ This is refreshing! God can use even conflict for His good and His glory. Even though Paul and Barnabas parted ways, they still both did God’s work and very well may have reached more people with God’s message since they divided!

Sometimes I feel like I’m failing when I don’t agree or see things the same way, but this frees me to follow God wherever He leads ME. It is often difficult for me to express my feelings and needs. Maybe I don’t want conflict? Help me understand this, Lord, as I ponder it today.

P~ Thank You for Your Word. Thank You for recording real people walking through life and faith and conflict and service to You. You use it all. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 8, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

