February 7 Leviticus 4-6; Acts 14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Rash | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Or if they make a rash vow of any kind, whether its purpose is for good or bad, they will be considered guilty even if they were not fully aware of what they were doing at the time. Leviticus 5:4  (NLT)

O~  A rash vow of any kind—good or bad!

Rash—displaying or proceeding from a lack of careful consideration of the possible consequences of an action.

Synonyms: reckless, impulsive, impetuous, hasty, foolhardy, incautious, precipitate, careless, headless, thoughtless, imprudent, foolish, ill advised, injudicious, ill judged, misguided, harebrained, trigger-happy

This points out that making a rash vow is a sin.

A~ I make rash choices and here it points out that the rash part is what’s wrong.  I need to think before I act or speak or make decisions.  I need God’s help in recognizing when I’m being rash and I need forgiveness.

P~ Dear Jesus I am guilty of this. Thank you for making me aware of that it isn’t “the good or bad part” only but the “rash” part of my choices.  Help me to give thought before I act or speak. Thank you. Also please show me where I have made rash silent vows to myself about life that affects how I do things.

Keep the Fire Burning | Tara Wiley

S~ Meanwhile, the fire on the altar must be kept burning; it must never go out. Each morning the priest will add fresh wood to the fire and arrange the burnt offering on it. He will then burn the fat of the peace offerings on it. Remember, the fire must be kept burning on the altar at all times. It must never go out. Leviticus 6:12-13

O~ We are reading through the very specific instructions given regarding sacrifices and the Levite’s responsibilities. In this passage, God makes it clear that the fire used for the sin and peace offerings must always be attended – stoked each morning.

A~ When I determine to begin each morning with God and His Word, I am in a very real sense, fulfilling this Levitical duty.

“…You are His holy priests. Through the mediation of Jesus Christ, you offer spiritual sacrifices that please God.” I Peter 2:5

I do not have to offer a sin and peace offering each morning to get right with God; Jesus did that (that was his ‘mediation’ above) once and for all, through the perfect sacrifice of His own life. Now, my role is to offer my own life as a living sacrifice, as a spiritual act of worship (Romans 12:1). I’m also called to build up my faith with discipline and perseverance. Just as the Levitical priest was never to allow that fire to burn out, I need to tend to my faith and allow the Spirit to stoke the fire in my heart, so I can continually grow closer to God and become more fruitful for Him.

P~ Lord, the constant distractions of this world so often lure me away from what matters most. I want to be found faithful! When I take the time to stoke the fire of my faith through quiet moments each morning with You and Your Word, the reward is so high. I can feel Your presence. I can sense Your direction. I can discover new ways of knowing You and living for You. I walk away feeling refreshed and refocused, ready for the rest of my day. But oh! The enemy knows all of that happens, and my flesh is weak, and all too often I let other distractions creep in before I pause with You. Help me in this battle of the flesh, to remember, and to daily tend to our relationship. Thank You that You are always near, always ready, always faithful.

Faith to be healed | Nikki Metzger

S~ Looking straight at him, Paul realized he had faith to be healed. Acts 14:9b (NLT)

O~ Paul is preaching the Good News and sees a man with crippled feet in the crowd.  Paul saw that the crippled man had faith to be healed, so he called out to him to stand up.  The man jumped to his feet and started walking!

A~ Faith to be healed.  Faith to be healed.  I want to be healed from my addiction to food!  I’m slowly learning there is a faith component to this healing.

As God grows my faith in Him that I can be free of this addiction, I’m learning about my emotions, my temptations, my heart.  And also as my faith grows, it seems I learn through wrestlings better than life going great.  Last night I was over trying to eat healthy and just wanted to be done.  I ran through it all in my head and decided that being unhealthy was just better.

Today, as I think about yesterday, I realize I was stressed out and not feeling well.  I didn’t make a healthy decision last night, but now I know that when I’m stressed or not feeling well, my thinking isn’t always right.  So next week, or later today, when I’m stressed, I can know to do something different or plan better. Boom!  Faith muscle growing!  I CAN BE HEALED!!

P~ Father, thank You!!  I LOVE YOU!

Don’t Be Fooled, Michelle! | Michelle Myers

S~ Yet he has not left himself without testimony:  He has shown kindness by giving you rain from heaven and crops in their seasons; he provides you with plenty of food and fills your hearts with joy. Acts 14:17 (NIV)

O~ Paul and Barnabas were preaching to a crowd.  Paul performs a miracle by telling a crippled man to stand, and he did.  The crowd responds by saying “The gods have come down to us in human form!” (Acts 14:11) They say that Paul is Zeus and Barnabas is Hermes.They then bring bulls and wreaths to the city gates, because they want to offer sacrifices to them.  Paul and Barnabas try and set them straight.  They tell them to turn from these things to the living God. He points out that unlike their other idols, THIS GOD has done good things for them.

A~ I was thinking about how rain, crops, food, and joy wouldn’t be enough in our over indulgent, materialistic society.  I thought about my own kids, who just got new cell phones a few months ago, and were asking for newer ones last night, when I went to pick up my new one.  I got a new one because my other one wasn’t always working properly and they had a good promotion going on now. I started to focus on others, and their idols.  My husband is a huge Bronco fan, and his idolization of them has just grown since they made it to the Super Bowl.

I reminded myself, that I need to focus on myself.  So, I sat and thought about my attitude towards “things” and my indulgent, materialistic self.  I actually started to think that I had grown a lot and really don’t have any issues with this.  Then you gave me a reality check, and BAM!  You showed me some of my reactions and responses to some of the apartments we went and looked at.

Having a roof over my head and a warm place to sleep wasn’t enough.  You providing us with the finances and opportunity to move wasn’t enough.  As we pulled up to a few places, I made comments like, “This doesn’t look that nice.”  “Is there even a pool?”  “What amenities does this one come with?”  Apparently, I have not grown in this area as much as I thought.

I can easily become blind to my own junk, when I am comparing it to my family’s or the world’s junk.  I tell myself, “I don’t need fancy.”  “I don’t want fancy.”  Yet, I am also not happy just settling with what YOU provide.  Some of my comments don’t even make a lot of sense.  I went to our pool here….ONCE….. last summer.  I don’t like the heat.  I try and not spend a lot of time in the sun, as my body already has a plethora of moles on it. I guess I am not so different from my husband or kids.

P~ Thank you God for opening my eyes.  Now, please work on my heart and help me accept, appreciate, and value what You have provided for me.  I know I am no more deserving than anyone else.  I know that You have given me so much more than some others, and You expect me to use it to glorify You.

Yesterday, you lead me and my husband on a circular journey.  We ended up where we started, and got an apt. in the complex we wanted and originally planned on.  I thought it was just to test my patience.  I appreciated spending the time with my husband, yet it made absolutely no sense to me.  Now I realize that one of the many reasons, was to show me how I am not as far along or as different as I thought, in regards to my own idols, materialistic selfishness, and sense of entitlement.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 7, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

