February 6 Leviticus 1-3; Acts 13

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Jesus’ Death; The High Cost of my Sin, The Way to Life | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ If your sacrifice for a whole burnt offering is from the herd, bring a bull with no physical defects to the entrance of the Tabernacle so it will be accepted by the Lord.  Leviticus 1:3 (NLT)

O~  The notes from my bible: “What did the sacrifices teach the people?

1) By requiring perfect animals and holy priests, they taught reverence for a holy God.

2) By demanding exact obedience, they taught total submission to God’s laws.

3) By requiring an animal of great value, they showed the high cost of sin and demonstrated the sincerity of their commitment to God.”

A~  How does all this apply to me today? I believe God still wants these things from me: 1) Reverence for him.  2) Total submission to his commandments.  3) For me to recognize the high price paid for my sin, Jesus, and to be sincere in my commitment. Jesus paid for my sins and made a way for me to live this way for God.  I need to trust and obey.

P~  Dear Jesus, thank you.  I choose to trust you and obey.

A Band of Brothers | Joni Tyner

S~ Among the prophets and teachers of the church at Antioch of Syria were Barnabas, Simeon, (called the black man),  Lucius (from Cyrene) Manaen, (the childhood companion of King Herod Antipas) and Saul.  One day as these men were worshiping the Lord and fasting, the Holy Spirit said, “Dedicate Barnabas and Saul for the special work to which I have called them. Acts 13:1-2 (NLT)

O~ As I began reading the Bible this morning, I immediately noticed this and had to stop and journal about it.  God called such a variety of men to be on His team for spreading the gospel.

  1. Barnabas: He was known as the encourager of the group.  My Bible has a feature page and calls him the “Son of Encouragement”, he was close friends with Paul and Mark and was a vital part of spreading the gospel—he used his gift to bring many unbelievers to the Lord. (“Barnabas was a good man, full of the Holy Spirit and strong in faith. And many people were brought to the Lord”- Acts 11:24)
  2. Simeon- the back man.  My internet search states this was likely Simeon from Cyrene, a country in North Africa and possibly the same Simeon that was forced by the Roman soldiers to carry Jesus’s cross. (Luke 23:26)
  3. Lucius, another believer from Cyrene, possibly a Jew.
  4. Manaen- the childhood friend of King Herod Antipas.  You may recall that King Herod Antpas was one of the people conspiring to execute Jesus.  I’m guessing if Manaen was a childhood friend of his, he was surrounded by affluence, arrogance and hatred.
  5. Saul- also known as Paul.  Before he met Jesus on the road to Damascus, his life mission was to persecute and murder the new Christians.

My last observation was that this team was close in communing with God. It says they were worshiping and fasting and being led by the Holy Spirit to fulfill their life purpose.

A~ This passage is reminding me that God chooses different people with different backgrounds to build his Kingdom. Barnabas, “the nice guy” was friends with Saul,  a new convert with strong convictions and went on to become a great disciple for Jesus.  They teamed up with Simeon and Lucius, foreigners from Cyrene that were likely black and had a different culture background.  And Manaen—a person who obviously was chosen by God despite his background and unlikely resume.  (wow!)  These men came together and found commonality in serving Jesus. They were close in their relationship and close to God.

P~ Dear Lord, this morning I think about different believers that I know and how different we all are.  You have chosen ALL OF US. You love the bold believers, you love those who quietly serve you through encouraging others and You all seek out those people who have unique testimonies because of their past.  I love this passage and I pray your modern day church embraces diversity and works together to build Your Kingdom and give You glory.

Don’t Want to Miss It | Robin Laney

S~ Brothers, children of Abraham, and you God-fearing Gentiles, it is to us that this message of salvation has been sent. Acts 13:26 (ESV)

O~ Paul has just reviewed the history of God’s people in a synagogue in Antioch. What must it have been like to be in that crowd, hearing out loud that the event that people had been looking forward to for so very long, the coming of the Messiah, had come on their watch and that they had fulfilled the prophecies by killing him? They didn’t kill him to fulfill the prophecies but because of their own blindness. It must have been at once a gut-wrenching, sinking feeling and an eye-opening, The savior has come and has risen! Prophecies have been fulfilled and salvation is here! moment. Paul then gives another prophecy from the past as a warning, “Look, you scoffers, wonder and perish, for I am going to do something in your days that you would never believe, even if someone told you.” I would think that the people left the synagogue that day thoughtful of where their hearts and minds were focused and having a new sense of urgency in their faith.

A~ “Your days” are our days. We are living, along with all those who have lived since the death and resurrection of Christ, in the last days. God has done great and mighty things in the last 2,000 years (and of course, before that) and He has great plans ahead. He has given us prophecies of what is to come and given us very clear directions as to what we are to do with our lives while we are here on earth. Just like the Jews of Jesus’ time, we don’t know the day and time when He will return. It could be today. It might not be in my lifetime. Will I be found faithful to the mission He has put before me? Am I obedient to Him in everything? Am I focused not on the circumstances of this world but on His purposes? Do I believe that He is coming back and that all will bow before Him and be held accountable? Does that knowledge make a difference in my life? I don’t want to miss a thing.

P~ Oh, Lord! You give us such an incredible picture of what is to come. There are parts I understand and many more I don’t. The parts I understand require action on my part. Lord, let me not be caught unaware. Open my eyes to Your hand all around me. Make me bold to share with others all of the wonderful things You have done, all of the promises You have made, and all of the warnings You have given. I don’t want to miss one thing! Thank You for the reminder today that I, like those in the past, can easily miss You if I am not fully focused on You every moment.

Without Jesus…YIKES! | Michelle Myers

S~ Therefore, my brothers, I want you to know that through Jesus the forgiveness of sins is proclaimed to you.  Through him everyone who believes is justified from everything you would not be justified from by the law of Moses.  Acts 13:38-39 (NIV)

O/A~ I wrote the other day, how thankful I was for Jesus, because I couldn’t do all you were telling Moses and Aaron to do in regards to building the alters, the ceremonies, etc.  I am also thankful for Jesus, because I can’t perfectly do what You ask me to do in regards to myself.

There are days that no matter how hard I try or how good my intentions are, I fail at a multitude of things…..loving others the way I should, being patient with my children, not giving into my flesh….the list goes on and on.  I need to remember the grace that I get from You. I need to remember the grace that I like to get from other people.  I need to remember how You expect me to give it freely to others.

P~ Thank you, God, for Jesus.  Without Him, I would spend my life making sin sacrifices for all of my own imperfections.  Please help me remember that I am made perfect through Him.  Please help remember that others are made perfect through Him also.  And, continue to help me love both myself and others, in spite of our never ending list of imperfections.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 6, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

