February 4 Exodus 37, 38; Psalm 19, Acts 11

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Creation Proclaims His Glory | Joni Tyner

S~ The heavens proclaim the glory of God.

The skies display his craftsmanship.

Day after day they continue to speak:

Night after night they make Him known.

They speak without a sound or word:

And their voice is never heard.

Yet their message has gone throughout the earth,

And their words to all the world. Psalms 19:1-4 (NLT)

O~ David, the author of this psalm, is proclaiming  God’s presence in creation.  Through the Master’s hand, the skies speak and reach out in a powerful way those who may not listen or read God’s Word.

A~ I have often heard comments from others about a beautiful sunrise or sunset.  Perhaps someone posted a sunrise picture from their car on the way to work or they plan to picnic and watch a stunning sunset.  Creation shouts God’s majesty in such a powerful way. It personally moves me to tears when I think that the God who created all that beauty also created and loved me in the same fashion.  The same God who paints in brilliant pinks and purples, guides my steps, making my life a beautiful canvas as well.

I would like to share the website of a local photographer who matches up Scripture with the beauty of creation. Enjoy these stunning pictures.

 

Praise the Lord

wraps light

And, check out his website HERE or linked in the sidebar for many, many more amazing pictures of God’s creation!

P~ Dear Lord thank you for giving us the gift of a  beautiful earth to live in.  I enjoy it so much and look forward to continuing to see all that You have made.

Your Word | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ The law of the Lord is perfect, reviving the soul.  (Revive my soul with your law) The decrees of the Lord are trustworthy, making wise the simple. (Thank you for your decrees that make me wise)

The commandments of the Lord are right bringing joy to the heart.  (Let my heart find joy in your commandments)

The commands of the Lord are clear, giving insight to life.  (Your commands give me insight)

Reverence for the Lord is pure, lasting forever. (My reverence for you lasts forever, may it be found pure, not diluted or watered down)

The laws of the Lord are true; each one is fair. (Thank you for truth, fairness found in your laws)

They are more desirable than gold, even the finest gold. (May I desire them above anything else)

They are sweeter than honey, even honey dripping from the comb. (May they sweet as honey to me)

They are a warning to those who hear them; there is great reward for those who obey them. (Thank you for warning me, help me obey)    Psalms 19:7-11 (NLT)

(The words in parenthesis are my Observation, Application, and Prayer)

My heart | Nikki Metzger

S~ May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to You, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer.  ~ Psalm 19:14 (NLT)

O~ This is how Psalm 19 closes.  Psalm 19 reads like a praise/prayer to me and some of the author’s thoughts end up as themes in the writings of Paul.  It’s pretty cool to see the New Testament inspiration come from this psalm.

A~ But no matter how many truths are in the psalm, it ends up with my heart.  May my heart be pure.  Not my actions or work or anything like that.  May my words and my thoughts (that no one knows about) be pleasing to You.

Last night my words (and thoughts) weren’t pleasing to You.  I was trying to impress people, trying to get them to like me.  So I said some sarcastic remarks about someone that I don’t know.  And people laughed. But maybe, probably, actually, yes….it wasn’t said to be pleasing to You, I said it trying to make others laugh, trying to make myself look wise and witty.

P~ Father, why do I do that?  Am I not secure in who I really am?  May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to You, O Lord, my Rock and my Redeemer!

Pleasing You, With My Treatment of Others | Michelle Myers

S~ May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, O LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer. Psalm 19:14 (NIV)

O~ Life can be unpredictable and chaotic.  During those times, I want my words to still be kind and gentle.  I want my heart to still be in alignment with You.  What I say, how I treat people, and the condition of my heart is more important to You, than any situation or circumstance that is going on in my life.

A~ Yesterday, I was very blessed to be able to spend the day with my husband taking care of a family matter.  I had to rearrange my schedule to do so, and he sacrificed a vacation day to join me. We were in it together, and that felt great.  The matter we were dealing with, put me in the uncomfortable position of not knowing where we would be living a few months from now.  The not knowing is not comfortable for me.  However, I knew that You had it under control and where ever we ended up would be for our good.  It may take me awhile to see it, but I knew in the end, I would.

It was along day, and I handled the unknown well, much better than I would have in the past. Then I read Psalm 19:14; and was thinking about how well I did.  Then You reminded me of when I got a little snippy with my husband, because I was tired.

My words were not pleasing to You and my heart was not right.  You had convicted me in the van, and I should have apologized then; but I didn’t.  So, this morning You brought it back up, and I went and apologized.  I told him that I realized, that if he had responded to me that way, I probably would have been hurt.  Then, I sat back down to type, and You told me to get back up and tell him how much I appreciate him not taking offense to my snippy attitude, letting it go, and not letting it snow ball into a bigger issue.

I got up, and told him that.  And I meant it.  When we are both listening to, following, and obeying You; and paying attention to ourselves, and how we are personally aligning our mouths and hearts with You; our marriage functions and flows so much more smoothly.  Plus, we are a much better example for our girls.

P~ Thank you God for my husband.  Thank you God for working things out the way You did yesterday.  It wasn’t a 100% the way I wanted it, but it wasn’t a 100% the way I didn’t either. Either way, I trust that You are doing what is best for me and my family.  Please help me remember to stay connected to You, and help me have victory over my flesh when my I am tired and worn out.

Don’t Jump!| Robin Laney

S~ So when Peter went up to Jerusalem, the circumcision party criticized him, saying… Acts 11:2 (ESV)

O~ Peter had an encounter with God and was obedient to His instructions and when he returned to his fellow believers, they criticized him without even hearing the story.

A~ Ugh! I am an assumptionist (my word!) I am so bad about jumping to conclusions and having an accusatory tone instead of asking questions and waiting for explanations. I know the saying about what assuming does and I have been laughed at and laughed enough at myself to know better but it seems an automatic response. It is truly a terrible habit and makes messes that don’t need to be made.

P~ Lord, help me to relax, slow down, ask questions, and wait for answers before I jump to conclusions. I’m sure it will give my heart a rest and save me and those around me a lot of stress. It will also keep me from looking quite silly. 🙂

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on February 4, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

