January 28 Exodus 21, 22; Psalm 12; Acts 4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Deceptive, Flattering Lips | Michelle Myers

S~ Everyone lies to his neighbor; their flattering lips speak with deception. Psalm 12:2 (NIV)

O~ It is an election year, and I feel like this whenever I see a political commercial or hear a politician speak.

A~ I’m not good at politics at all.  I don’t want to waste my time flattering anyone with junk that, for whatever reason, is not true, isn’t going to happen, or sugar coat something just for the sake of someone liking me.  I much rather just tell it straight up, with no hidden agendas or false gum drops and lollipops scenarios.

We live in a broken world.  It will NEVER be perfect.  Nobody will EVER have all the answers. Instead of pretending that we will fix things, so junk doesn’t happen or dwelling on how it shouldn’t; I have come to the realization that as someone who is not good with the political side of things, You have called me to really be there to help people when the inevitable brokenness of this world has left them hurt, damaged, and hopeless.  Helping them in this way, will always consist of me dealing with them in a compassionate way, giving my testimony, and pointing them toward You.  That is where their hope should come from.

P~ I am so thankful for Your truth and faithfulness.  It is what keeps me going in this broken world. As I start this new journey of my life, working with these women, who most politicians could never have any true idea of what they have really been through, I pray that You guide me and help me getting them to see You and the hope that You provide.  I pray for Julie.  She is tired and frustrated, as she looks for donors to help her with the financial side of this non-profit organization, that you put on her heart to start, in order to help these women heal and get to know You.

Flawless Words | Kelley Deases

S~ And the words of the Lord are flawless, like silver refined in a furnace of clay, purified seven times.  Psalm 12:6 (NIV)

O~ To say God’s Word/words are flawless implies our words are flawed.  Why is that so?  Because our perceptions are limited. Our motives are impure. We are ignorant of all the facts. We seek to advance our own agendas. By contrast, “[e]very word of God is flawless.”  Proverbs 30:5.  See also 2 Samuel 22:31. He knows everything and He cannot lie, so such a statement would stand to reason. So why, then, do we doubt what He says?

A~ One of the women in my Bible study expressed such doubt when we met last week. We were discussing the principle belying Romans 8:28: “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” My friend cannot fully embrace this truth, having seen her sister be stricken with cancer as a young mother.  Despite all the fervent prayers for her healing, she died after only three months’ time, leaving behind an overwhelmed husband who turned to alcohol in his grief, and two little boys essentially orphaned and now very much gone astray.  Where is the good in that?  We could all sympathize with her pain and bitterness.  But as a few of shared our “shadow of the valley” times, we were able to speak on how we cried out to God and He met us in our despair. My friend was able to admit that in her grief and anger at God, she neither called on His Name nor looked to see His hand at work.

There are no easy answers as we grapple with God’s perfect truth held up against our messy circumstances, but I have lived long enough to know that God is true and true to His words.  That is one of the unshakeable bulwarks I can cling to in an ever changing world.

P~ Father, Even all these years and tears later, reveal Yourself afresh to my friend, that she might see a glimpse of Your greater glory and a peace in knowing You are sovereign over all, even those things where the good is hard to find.

In His Name, In His Strength | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ They brought in the two disciples and demanded, “By what power, or in whose name have you done this?” Acts 4:7 (NLT)

O~ The disciples healed a man who had been lame for over forty years!

A~ As a child of God I have power in Jesus’ name to do what he calls me to do.  Yesterday my daughter shared with me some things that her now “ex” fiancé posted on Facebook, and some things he is saying to her.  My mama bear was threatening to come out…I wanted to go on Facebook and leave a few comments myself.  I felt like I needed to do something!  Lots of thoughts went through my mind of what to say to him in her defense.  But I felt a tug- “no, that’s probably not a good idea…”   Today I see a little clearer that I was emotionally wrapped up and I need your wisdom and guidance in how to help my daughter through this.

P~ Dear Jesus, we need you.  Help me encourage my daughter with truths.  Thank you for helping me yesterday not make a bad situation worse.  I trust you. Please help my daughter through this.  Please help her ex through this.

Glow of Jesus | Kim Chipman

S~ When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus. Acts 4:13 (NIV)

O~ Peter and John were speaking to people about Jesus and His resurrection from the dead. The religious leaders threw them in jail and the next day they went before the high priest and his family. Peter told them all about Jesus.

A/P~ Their response to Peter is my prayer – they took note that these men had been with Jesus. I’m pretty ordinary, just like they were, but I pray that others see You in me and through me. I pray Your presence would be obvious. I pray I would have courage to speak boldly as Peter did. A warrior is courageous and that’s my word for the year – warrior. I pray that I would be diligent and disciplined to spend time with You each morning. No one can take note that I’ve been with You unless I actually make the time and DO IT! I pray my life would draw people to You and You would be glorified! I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 28, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

