January 27 Exodus 17-20; Acts 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

It Takes a Village | Kim Chipman

S~ When Moses’ father-in-law saw all that Moses was doing for the people, he asked, “What are you really accomplishing here? Why are you trying to do all this alone while everyone stands around you from morning till evening?” Exodus 18:14 (NLT)

O~ Moses’ father in law was concerned that Moses was going to wear himself out doing everything all by himself – the burden was too great, and it was unnecessary. There were plenty of small things that other leaders could take care of.

A~ This is a good reminder for me. A perpetual thorn in my side, actually. I tend to be a do-er. As with everything, balance is key and I can get way out of whack if I’m not careful. A few years ago I started to have stress related illnesses that got my attention. I was doing way too much without proper refueling for my soul or for my body. I hit the wall at about 100 mph. It wasn’t good.

It is a battle I still fight. In my home there are plenty of things my kids can do besides sit around. In other areas like work and ministry I don’t need to do everything. I can develop people around me then give them responsibilities. Together we can get way more done anyway and everyone can use their gifts! I’m pretty sure You designed us to work best that way – connected and in relationship, bearing each other’s burdens, working towards common goals together.

P~ Lord, help me to remember to let go a little. I don’t need to do everything. I love You!

He has Never Failed | Joni Tyner

S~ But I lavish unfailing love for a thousand generations on those who love me and obey my commands. Exodus 20:6 (NLT)

O~ Unfailing love. God will not fail those who love and obey His commands.  “He has never failed and He won’t start now.”—this is a lyric from Oceans by Hillsong. That is so comforting.  I think back to God’s faithfulness with the whiny Israelites. They were selfish and would quickly forget how God provided for them. (remember the manna and water from the rock?) Yet, God continued to pursue and love them and call them His people.

A~ As God’s children, we need to stay in the Word to be reminded of His unfailing love throughout the generations.  The Old and New Testament are full of examples of people that didn’t deserve His forgiveness and mercy yet received it.   We need to persevere with our own children and grandchildren through everyday conversations, living a life of integrity and putting Jesus into our everyday life.  Our job is to build a strong foundation for them through planting and watering the seeds of faith.  I love this scripture in Corinthians because it reminds me that it is a process.  Many people may contribute to it, but it is God who ultimately makes it grow.   1 Corinthians 3:6   “ I planted the seed in your hearts, and Apollos watered it, but it is God who made it grow.

P~ Jesus, thank you, thank you!!! For your unfailing love to me and the generations that are to come.  I pray for guidance as I strive to pass my faith on to my kids.  Thank you for your faithfulness when I’m not very faithful to You.  I love You!

One Can Be Enough | Michelle Myers

S~ Now, brothers, I know that you acted in ignorance, as did your leaders.  Acts 3:17 (NIV)

O~ Peter is talking to the crowd about their unbelief and how they killed Jesus.

A~ I used to feel at a disadvantage, because I didn’t grow up “in the church”.  I didn’t feel that I had good “leaders” growing up, when it came to spiritual matters.  Yet, You have reminded me that when it came to my worldly family, I was always different.  There was a spiritual struggle that I can remember having, even as a little girl.  At the time, I didn’t understand it; but knew it made me different and out of place in my family.

I often have felt that if I had better spiritual leaders growing up, some of the ignorant things I did before, I wouldn’t have done.  I now know that isn’t necessarily true.  I hear of people who got it all their lives, and still struggle with sin.  Heck, there are things that You have shown me, that I still struggle with.  We are all sinners, and we will always be sinners.

As I listen to struggling women give their stories, often I hear of one Believer in their family that impacted their life.  Amongst all the non-Believers, it has taken them awhile to sift through the truths, and find You; but they are getting there.  For me, I remember my great grandmother on my dad’s side being a strong Believer and reading her Bible regularly.  She is the only family member I saw reading the Bible on either side of my family.  I only saw her once or twice a year.  Yet, I believe that is because of her relationship with You, that I am where I am today in regards to my relationship with You.

P~ Thank you God for giving me one family member who went beyond the worldly law, to have a true and authentic relationship with You.  I hope someday, when I see my great grandma again, she can be proud of me, and my relationship with You.

I Keep Missing It! | Robin Laney

S~ And all the prophets who have spoken, from Samuel and those who came after him, also proclaimed these days. Acts 3:24 (ESV)

O~ Peter is speaking to all who gathered at Solomon’s Portico and witnessed the miraculous healing of a lame man. He deflects their awe of him and gives glory to God and then proceeds to tell them that they missed the Messiah. That in their ignorance, they had killed him but that there was still hope for them if only they would open their eyes, consider what the prophets of God had been telling them for centuries, and repent.

A~ As I have read the story of Exodus the past few days and now in Acts, I have noticed this pattern of God’s. He sees a need in His people, he sends a prophet with a warning or an assurance, gives instructions, and then shows up just the way He promises. I also see a pattern in the people’s responses. They wallow in disobedience or cry out in desperation, they kill the prophet or follow him depending on their disposition, they don’t follow his instructions and then whine about the consequences, and even though they have experienced God’s faithfulness and power over and over, they doubt Him when things get tough.

Man, do I see myself in there! I have a book full of examples of testimonies, lessons, prophecies, promises, faithfulness, Truth, and power and yet I find myself forgetting what He is done not only in the lives those in the Bible but the testimonies of so many others and even my own. I receive an instruction through His Spirit or His Word and I ignore it or even directly disobey it. I complain about provision that doesn’t match my desires, showing myself ungrateful. And, even though I know His power and faithfulness, I reduce Him to my human understanding and doubt Him. There is nothing new under the sun. We are all in the same boat and fortunately for all of us, He is a gracious and merciful Father Who gets us and loves us in spite of our shortcomings. When I shake my head at the people in the stories of the Bible who just didn’t get it, I am reminded of all we have in common and I am humbled and hopeful.

P~ Father, please forgive me. I miss things You lay right in front of me. I choose to ignore or disobey Your nudges through the Spirit. I find myself wanting when I have all I need. I doubt Your power and faithfulness even when I have experienced it over and over again in my life. Thank You for the Hope of Your salvation, Your patience with me, Your mercies new every day, and Your amazing Grace!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 27, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Thanks, Susan. I often think of her, when I am deceived into believing that my prayers for my kids are not making any difference. I am becoming much more aware of how the state of things today, in my marriage, with my kids, and in regards to what I am praying for, can impact future generations and the legacy I want to leave for them.

  2. Michelle, I guarantee you your great-grandmother was praying for you! That gave me goosebumps. Our prayers are heard and answered. We have to have faith even if we don’t see it in our lifetime.

Leave a Reply

