January 25 Exodus 12,13; Psalm 21; Acts 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

What’s a rabble? | Nikki Metzger

S~ A rabble of non-Israelites went with them, along with great flocks and herds of livestock.  Exodus 12:38 (NLT)

O~ Rabble: Ordinary or common people who do not have a lot of money, power or social status; disorganized crowd of people; the lowest class of people.

A~ I never read this before!  The common people, ones with no social status, the lowest group of Egypt went with God’s people.  Wow!

The rabble is who followed You out of captivity.  Even though the rest of Egypt saw Your power, and lost a firstborn in their family.  They stayed.  Maybe because of personal beliefs, their culture, comfort, wealth or fear. But the rabble were bold!  They left their ordinary life behind to follow a God of miracles, freedom, and a different future.  That’s who You pursue – ordinary people, just like me!

P ~ You always have let the ordinary, low, weak into Your family.  I love You!

Reminders | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ This annual festival will be a visible reminder to you, like a mark  branded on your hands or your forehead.  Let it remind you always to keep the Lord’s instructions in your mind and on your lips.  After all, it was the Lord who rescued you from Egypt with great power.  Exodus 13:9 (NLT)

O~ Passover was an annual festival that God wanted the people to do as a reminder of what he did for them and to remind them to keep his instructions.

A~ This made me think of traditions.   I stayed away from traditions; I felt like I would get caught up in them and lose sight of why I do these things.  But I’m thinking of starting some because it’s a way I can share my faith with my family an a way to remember and acknowledge what Jesus means to me.

P~  Dear Father, thank you for Jesus.  Thank you for redeeming me. Help these traditions be a way to remember what you did for me, and a way to share my faith with others.

Familiar and Comfortable Bondage | Kim Chipman

S~ When Pharaoh let the people go, God did not lead them on the road through the Philistine country, though that was shorter. For God said, “If they face war, they might change their minds and return to Egypt.” Exodus 13:17 (NIV)

O~ Pharaoh finally let the Israelites go to worship the Lord after 430 years of enslavement. He didn’t send them directly to the promised land, however.

A~ Oh, my, how many times I’ve been frustrated with how LONG of a process things can be! I’m such an impatient person. You know our hearts so intimately, though. You know what I need to be truly free and not go back to bondage just because it’s familiar and comfortable.

In the movie “God’s Not Dead” an older lady with dementia has a moment of clarity and says: “Sometimes the devil allows people to live a life free of trouble because he doesn’t want them turning to God. Sin is like a jail cell except it is nice and comfy and there doesn’t seem to be any need to leave. The door is wide open. Until one day it slams shut and you realize it is too late.” Sometimes sin is familiar and comfortable. Sometimes bondage is familiar and comfortable, too. The Israelites would have gone back to bondage if things got too difficult and You knew that. I’m no different. I’ll go back to familiar and comfortable even if it’s not Your best for me and You don’t want that for me. Even if the path to healing my broken places is a very indirect (and usually LONG) route, it is worth it! I know it is custom designed for me so I don’t go back to the familiar – albeit unhealthy – bondage. You’re so awesome. You know just what I need much better than I do.

P~ I love You! Thank You! I’ll try not to be such a whiny Israelite when I’m in the wilderness. This is a great reminder to trust You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on January 25, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Nikki, thanks for pointing that out, great insight. I was thinking that they had the absence of pride which allowed them to see God’s power–and experience freedom in a whole new way.

Leave a Reply

